Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will buy again!
Result: Flat but tasty cider at a strength of 4-5%, ice does indeed improve the drinking experience but you can also just transfer the cider to 2L coke bottles and store in fridge. As the yeast is not filtered out ( ie in most conventional cider breweries) it helps to reduce the hangover and give you miniscule quantities of vitamins which is a bonus!
Published 4 months ago by Jack Steiner

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for novelty, and if you don't want to buy demijohns and other brewing kit
They need to sharpen up the instructions. I didn't overfill, but nonetheless some liquid came out the valve at the top, and weakened the box. Also, you've got to open the box to get the last few pints out, probably the same with any bog in a box drink.
The flavour was nice, until the last couple of pints. The texture changed from dark cloudy (ok), to densely cloudy...
Published 5 months ago by Kevin Mc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for novelty, and if you don't want to buy demijohns and other brewing kit, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
They need to sharpen up the instructions. I didn't overfill, but nonetheless some liquid came out the valve at the top, and weakened the box. Also, you've got to open the box to get the last few pints out, probably the same with any bog in a box drink.
The flavour was nice, until the last couple of pints. The texture changed from dark cloudy (ok), to densely cloudy and pale - quite a difference. Overall, if you're looking for novelty and convenience, consider it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will buy again!, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
Result: Flat but tasty cider at a strength of 4-5%, ice does indeed improve the drinking experience but you can also just transfer the cider to 2L coke bottles and store in fridge. As the yeast is not filtered out ( ie in most conventional cider breweries) it helps to reduce the hangover and give you miniscule quantities of vitamins which is a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Makes a lot of easy-drinking cider with minimal effort, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
I've been considering dabbling in home brewing for a little, but I wasn't sure if my kitchen was a good environment for fermentation. This kit seemed like a good low-risk, low-effort way to get started and it proved to be very straightforward indeed, and the results aren't bad at all.

It's very simple to use - all you need to do is pull out the tap from the side of the box, unscrew the lid, pour in the water and supplied yeast using the waxed-cardboard funnel, and screw the lid back down. The box can sit in the corner of your kitchen for ten days and then it's ready to drink. My kitchen's a perfectly comfortable room temperature and the process gave me no problems at all, apart from at the end. I'd skipped the step where I pull out the tap, and it was a pain to try and weedle it out the side of the box when the bag was already full of liquid. This is an easy step to overlook on the instructions, so I'd like to emphasise it. Assuming you get that bit right, all you have to do is take the foil seal off the tap, make sure it's pointing downwards, and press the button to pour.

The results at the ten-day mark are very nice indeed. The cider's reasonably alcoholic but still quite sweet and very easy to drink. Rather than serve it over ice, we decanted it a litre at a time into a large swing-top bottle and put it in the fridge. It was also particularly well-suited to making mulled cider at this point. Over time the cider lost sweetness and became stronger as the yeast did its work, and about 20 days later (30 days' total fermenting) the booziness was overwhelming the taste. With that in mind I'd recommend pouring and storing the cider once it's at the strength and flavour you prefer, and getting rid of the box. Alternatively, this would be a great way to lay on cider for a party - set it fermenting about 15-20 days beforehand, then set up the box and a bucket of ice for your guests.

All in all, it's a lot of straightforward drink made in a straightforward way. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tasted good, good apple taste, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
tasted good, good apple taste, but is cloudy cider and is not my preference , but that is a personal thing, would recommend to anyone who likes that type of cider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
Easy to do and very nice to drink thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not working for me!!! :(, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
I am No stranger to brewing! So this one isn't fermenting on 2nd day!
Warm RO water added and supplied yeast! But nothing happening!
Unless someone can tell me this ferments without bubbles and froth! This one isn't doing its stuff! Does not mean it is bad! Maybe just a bad yeast batch or something! Will go to CS first and then review once I have got this resolved and working and tasted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice drink but not very strong, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
Its OK, nice drink but not very strong, more of a nice drink. Very easy to make on the plus side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
Great product so easy to set up and after 10 days bingo, fill your boots with great cider! !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy way to home brew, 20 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
A great way to 'brew your own' without having to invest in tons of specialist equipment and to be honest it makes a nice drop of cider !! Admittedly Cider purists will probably scoff and turn their noses up at the idea of brewing in a box but don't knock it unless you've tried it , I was pleasantly surprised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good I have already bought another!, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit (Grocery)
Brewed exactly as the instructions directed and ended up with a delicious, slightly cloudy cider with a lovely apple taste. Not too strong and not too sweet. I really enjoyed this product, so much so that I have just bought another one ready for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Victor's Drinks Apple Cider 20 Pint Kit
£21.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews