Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a Cold War Warrior
Very nostalgic for an 'Old, Cold War Warrior'.
For anyone serving in the RAF during the Cold War this programme shows what a wonderful aviation industry the UK had until the powers that be destroyed it.
If you are interested in our history then this is a very interesting programme which we have come to expect from the BBC.
It is nice to see that due to...
Published 16 months ago by DK

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show - No Blu-ray & Vastly Overpriced DVD
A well made TV show devoted to the aerial technology of the Cold War and Britain's technological superiority of the time, featuring lots of unseen (to me anyway) high quality footage of the RAF aircraft of the time, interspersed with newsreel footage and newly filmed HD content.

Sadly despite the programme being well filmed in HD there appears to be no Blu-ray...
Published 16 months ago by billyh42


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show - No Blu-ray & Vastly Overpriced DVD, 17 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
A well made TV show devoted to the aerial technology of the Cold War and Britain's technological superiority of the time, featuring lots of unseen (to me anyway) high quality footage of the RAF aircraft of the time, interspersed with newsreel footage and newly filmed HD content.

Sadly despite the programme being well filmed in HD there appears to be no Blu-ray release to do it justice, only an unbelievably overpriced DVD @ £20.59. Most people now have HD televisions so why only release the product in low resolution? With the HD material already available on the torrent sites, this is the sort of stupid pricing/marketing that forces potential customers to download rather than buy.

Great show, shame about the blinkered marketing of the product.

Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why no Blu-Ray?, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
P. White (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
This is indeed an excellent 2 part series but it was broadcast in HD so a lone dvd is an unacceptable compromise. Had a Blu-Ray been available I'd have purchased it at once! Also, this is stupidly overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a Cold War Warrior, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
Very nostalgic for an 'Old, Cold War Warrior'.
For anyone serving in the RAF during the Cold War this programme shows what a wonderful aviation industry the UK had until the powers that be destroyed it.
If you are interested in our history then this is a very interesting programme which we have come to expect from the BBC.
It is nice to see that due to programmes like this, that the Cold War will not be forgotten. Most people did not realise what the Cold War was about, or even if it existed.
How close we came to not having a country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save Your Pennies, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent programme but BEWARE it is edited from the BBC broadcast.

Total running time of the two episodes per the BBC broadcast, Amazon and the OUW website is approx 120 minutes but each episode on this DVD version is only 50 minutes.

What makes it worse is the packaging has a running time of 180 minutes so at first I thought there might be a bonus feature.

Just be warned before forking out a hefty amount. Legitimate HD versions of the full episodes can be found easily enough online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate Program, 10 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
I complained about this program to the BBC

The BBC admitted that the program was inaccurate and biased when they said

"The Committee agreed that the level of accuracy and impartiality required for a programme of this nature was not as high as that required for e.g. a news bulletin or a current affairs programme."

Now the Open University are selling this material as part of a History course. But the BBC admit that a program "of this nature" has a lower required level of accuracy and impartiality than the News or a current affairs program. Go figure

So there you go expect a 'History" based on propaganda sources and a quick scan of Wikipedia. Expect misinformation and a general level of ignorance here. Don't expect any criticism of weapons manufactures they apparently should be given unlimited resourses to produce not fit for purpose products.

The presenter fetishises his subject - I characterise his approach as a Clarksonesque Wankfest.

But hey don't let me put you off! Over priced un deconstructed propaganda. :)

Oh and I forgot to mention USA = Good, UK = Best and USSR = Evil, technically backward and generally not civilised. BTW that's officially endorsed by the BBC! Bit too simplistic the Manichean view IMO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Brian McGovern "present seeker" (Kenilworth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
Very informative, must have for anyone remotely interested in jet powered craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reminder of our lost aviation industry, 24 Dec. 2013
By 
I. I. L. Surridge (Amersham, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great, if slightly overpriced, record of the great aviation industry that Britain once had before successive governments dismantled it bit by bit.
There is plenty of great footage of long lost aircraft including perhaps the saddest loss of all the TSR-2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The DVD, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
MTH Patrick (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
I had already seen the program on the TV but I wanted my own copy, it is Interesting but expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A memory jogger!, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
As a gift to someone based at RAF Scampton at that time, it brought back memories and filled in historical background for the family as well. A great success and so historically interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] (DVD)
A present for one of my brothers. Just the job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD]
Cold War: Hot Jets [DVD] by James Holland (DVD - 2013)
£21.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews