Customer Reviews


372 Reviews
5 star:
 (212)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, but be warned, deeply disturbing!
Two young girls are abducted after a Thanksgiving meal where their two families are celebrating in the home of one of them. The girls have wandered outside to play and go unnoticed for some time while the families enjoy one another's company. Eventually, people begin to notice their absence and then, very quickly, panic sets in and the two fathers (Hugh Jackman and...
Published 10 months ago by still searching

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JINGLE BELLS, BATMAN SMELLS,
Keller Dover (Hugh Jackman) hunts deer the first day of hunting season. In Pennsylvania, that is Thanksgiving. His family walks over to the Grovers to celebrate the Holiday. While there, Franklin Grover (Terrence Howard) decides to entertain with his trumpet and the next thing you know their young daughters are missing. The son recalls a van nearby that the girls wanted...
Published 12 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 112 13 1438 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real family pain movie, 15 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Prisoners (Amazon Instant Video)
Tense and gripping...

For me - very realistic...
In the next block of flats in the place where I grew up was a boy, who lured in, killed and raped a girl. The order of his actions that afternoon better to be capt unknown. The young killer and the victim wore both in their teens( so was I ), maybe that's why for me this movie felt so real... Brought all the memories of all neighbourhood, town looking for her in the nearby woods... Nasty kreepy m/f he was, can't imagine him out of prison/mental hospital and living casually among the general public again...THAT'S WHY FATHERS MOTIVATION WILL BE UNDERSTANDABLE YET NEVER JUSTIFIED, NEVER JUSTIFIED!!! There are sins which can't be punished by few years in prison... Thousands of children go missing every day.

Here are some "how real is real" numbers:

Missing People Worldwide every year:
- 800,00 under 18 a years of age

2,000 a day

58,000 abducted by non family members

- 115 victims to stereotypical kidnappings that result in ransom demands and death or the kidnapper indents to keep the child.
France reported 13 adults and 3 small children found dead. Some of them had been shot, all were burned and they were laid out in a star burst pattern. This shows that there are cult related reasons for people going missing. Missing people reports show that 39,000 children go missing in France, 50,000 missing children in Germany,, 8,400 in Spain, 1,100 in Italy and 500 in Greece. Brazil is said to report up to 40,000 missing children a year. There were 4,802 in the UK alone reported missing. 88.5 reports per day go to the Metropolitan police. Greater Manchester takes 30.1 and 4.1 are received by Cambridgeshire. Those numbers are per day. This report was made in 1997. The problem has increased since then. Don't forget, there are more than this but not all are reported.

Enough, just watch the movie and please don't be careless and watch after your children more thoroughly, because no matter how small the chance is, I still hope you're the only people who is watching them...

As a brother to 12 year old, as an uncle to a 4 year old, as a godfather of a 5 year old - this movie pierced my hear like a bow...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tense and gripping, will stay with you long after the credits roll, 1 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Prisoners [DVD] (DVD)
Prisoners was a film of which I heard great things about from friends and critics, these are entirely justified as the film has so many positives, immaculately edited to help further add to the tension that increased from scene to scene, fantastic performances all round; Hugh Jackman is sure to receive a lot of praise as a father who will stop at nothing to see his daughter again, the beginning where we see him as a kind and loving parent makes his descent into darkness and the acts he commits all the more believable but I think Jake Gyllenhaal to me was the standout performance as detective Loki whose character actually had a twitch in the movie, sometimes this can be distracting but I bought into his character so much that it didn't bother me and ended up adding to this flawed but persistent person with real subtlety, I've thought Jake Gyllenhaal is one of the most overlooked actors ever since I saw Donnie Darko but if he keeps turning in performances like he did in this and End of Watch I think he'll get the recognition he deserves.

At around 2 and a half hours I thought in plot Prisoners might run out of steam in certain places or run out of ideas but the film never does, you'll find yourself so involved in these characters and the world around them that the run time will fly by in no time. The inevitable third act twist reveal was extremely unexpected and as far as I could seemed to add up leading to a last 20 minutes of excruciating tension. I think the movie is well worth your time and the reason I can't give it 5 stars is a spoiler I can't reveal where a certain character's actions have no consequence and the conclusion left a key plot point unfinished, it's the only gripe I have. Essential viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie for crime/thriller fans., 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoners [DVD] (DVD)
This movie was exciting and absorbing to watch with good performances even thou the 'tool' was to drag the story line on to the end to get the last grip of the action. Enjoyed it would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good when it finally arrived, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoners [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was a gift for my brother and it arrived over 2 months after ordering and 6 weeks after he expected delivery date.when it did arrive it was in good condition and he seemed to enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What would you do?, 22 April 2014
This review is from: Prisoners (DVD)
One of the best slow burn thrillers i've seen in a while.This is every perants worst possible nightmare,the film very much concentrates on the human side rather than an action packed wild goose chase & shows how different people react or cope with the situation.At two & a half hours it is a bit of a marathon but manages to hold your attention really well,relying on acting rather than hiding behind action scenes.
Two young girls are kidnapped on thanks giving only yards from thier own home & even closer to the friends house were they were,a camper van parked in the road earlier disapears but is later tracked down by police.One suspect driving the van is arrested & questioned,held for 48 hours,then released.
The film shows how the two families cope,one takes matters into his own hands relying on some reluctant help,one of the mums cracks while the other shows she is stronger than her husband who is much more emotional.
This does pose a question,can you justify a fathers actions or does it make him as bad as the offenders/offender,but at the same time you can understand his fustration.
And that plays a huge part in this film & keeps things pretty tense,particarly between Mr Dover & the officer in charge of the investigation,who really bump up against each other.

Great film with some good performances all round,but it's Hugh Jackman who stands out as the extremely fustrated Mr Dover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoners [DVD] (DVD)
Was recommended this by a colleague and was not disappointed. I love this film. It is gripping from start to finish and has you asking questions all the way through. Great storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a letdown, 3 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Prisoners (DVD)
Rented this because the trailer looked amazing, unfortunately I should have learned by now that sometimes the trailer shows all the best bits! I love Hugh Jackman, but not in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - Must see film, 30 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Prisoners (Amazon Instant Video)
Wow, what an awesome film-and I use the word "awesome" very rarely. It twists and turns like a twisty turny thing. The acting is second to none. It deserves 10 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 15 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Prisoners (Blu-ray)
Pretty good. Story is good and slightly different. Acting is universally good - Jackman excellent. A little long - could have lost a few bits. But intelligent and worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual 'prisoners'!, 29 Sept. 2014
By 
Jac Knight (Bucks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prisoners (Amazon Instant Video)
It's different; gives a new meaning of prisoners. Well written and directed. Peformances from both leading actors are impressive. Just too long, 2 hours should be sufficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1438 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prisoners [DVD]
Prisoners [DVD] by Denis Villeneuve (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews