Customer Reviews


1,055 Reviews
5 star:
 (692)
4 star:
 (196)
3 star:
 (78)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


147 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, but still Discworld
The majority of the negative reviews on here - in particular the WONDERFUL review by A Nailor - kudos to you, that is the best review I've read on Amazon - aren't entirely wrong. I can completely understand why people are saying that the language, the characterisation, the plotting are all slightly... well, off. This has been true to a greater or lesser extent of all his...
Published 13 months ago by Steve Gardiner

versus
395 of 462 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book will break your heart...
... And not really in the good way. On the quite unlikely chance that Terry ever reads this, I don't blame him and I'm not even mad. I am very happy for him to have my £10; he deserves it and more. I wish him only the best, and would have happily given him the £10 if he asked for it, without particularly wanting or needing to finish the book.

I finished the...
Published 13 months ago by E.U. Glass


‹ Previous | 170 71 72106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Read it!, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant as ever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I feel that with some of the collaborations Terry has had have meant that a certain something has been lost from the narrative in the books compared to the earlier discworld novels, this one did not fail to please. I know that with his illness, as well as just with the passing of time, Terry's writing style would have probably changed anyway but I felt this returned to the more fun side of his story telling that some of his novels have missed. Will always be a Terry fan though so keep em coming Mr Pratchett and thank you for many, many years of reading material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very, very poor :(, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not, very definitely not, the Terry Pratchett whose books I've religiously followed since first reading book #1 all those years ago. It is very, very poor - so poor I had to learn the pronunciation of a new word ('execrable') to describe it properly to my friends.

At best it might just qualify as an example of self-published fan-fiction.

That the editors and publishers took the decision to print, market and distribute this book says as much about their greed as it does about the unfortunate Pratchett's illness. The book needs at least six months more editing and revision before it could be considered ready to be sold.

I so very much wish that I hadn't decided to give Pratchett the benefit of the doubt after the appalling mess that was 'Snuff'. But I did - a triumph of hope over experience if ever there was one. I can't recommend anyone else to take that chance with their memories of just how good Pratchett was in his day.

One for the fans to avoid! :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
By 
I. Anderson "Ian" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 not out, 17 Mar 2014
It's ,Disc World, it'S Terry Pratchett, what do you expect? Alzheimer's or not, Terry Pratchett still writes a story with a smooth flow and an occasionally anarchic turn of phrase that makes you glow just to read it - the turn of phrase still tickles your fancy (always assuming you can remember where you left it). The forays into lunacy are well developed to the point where they drag you along without the need for kicking and screaming. As always, compulsive reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Industrialisation of Discworld, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Possibly one of his best so far as Prachett continues to modernise & Industrialise Discworld (ie Printing, Comunication, Stamps)
Anyone with any knowledge of the railways will love it as there are so many subtle references to the birth and expansion of the railways in the UK also Anyone who loves Discworld & Moist Von Lipwig will love it to.
Lucky me I can enjoy it on all counts
I am now looking forward to recieving and reading my Bradshaws
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christmas Gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 170 71 72106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews