Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sci-fi book in a long time
This book was given to me as a present whilst in bed with flu.
I didn't know anything about the author.I don't read this type of book normally,BUT I'm really glad I did.
I couldn't put the book down,the story was very good and really believable.
Not many books these days take me away from life problems but you really feel for the people in the book and...
Published 19 months ago by D. Fitzgerald

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good idea which doesn't quite work.
It is taken for granted that in Sci Fi novels and similar genres a certain suspension of belief is required to fully enjoy the underlying story. I'm always prepared to do this however this story had so many holes in the plot that it became a distraction the to basic idea of the novel. The premise of the plot that Earth had become a minor even insignificant adjunct of a...
Published 16 months ago by Michael Liddell

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sci-fi book in a long time, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
D. Fitzgerald (coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was given to me as a present whilst in bed with flu.
I didn't know anything about the author.I don't read this type of book normally,BUT I'm really glad I did.
I couldn't put the book down,the story was very good and really believable.
Not many books these days take me away from life problems but you really feel for the people in the book and couldn't wait to see what happened to them.
I do hope another book is in the pipe line as it deserves to be a series of say 4-5 books.
The best read this year and A new author added to my Xmas list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Strength of Flesh, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First things first, this is NOT a "new" Starship Troopers". That insults both the original and Larson's novel. It is a rite of passage of a spoiled brat growing up under fire to become on of Humanity's greatest warriors for the Terran Legions.

There are similarities to "Starship Troopers", Full Metal Jacket" and any other story which follows the life of a new recruit from training, through baptism of fire to becoming an experienced soldier. Larson has added something special to the mix. Although the legionnaires can die, due to alien technology they can be reborn minutes later ready to go back into the breach. It is the alien races that make this book a cut above many others.

The Galactics, races from the core systems, control the newer race. They consider Humans to be barely sentient and ripe for genocide except for the one thing they have which few other races can offer. At their best Humans are fighters, the most vicious and most tenacious soldiers available.

Written in the first person "Steel World" is the planet where James McGill finds his role in life as one of the Human Legions under contract to fight the lizard rebels of Cancri-9, also known as the Steel World because of the super abundance of heavy metals and rare earths which make up the crust of this very hot planet. The fighting is brutal, the pace is sometimes breath taking and the characters interesting and varied. Larson is destined to become a "great" in my opinion and I will soon be reading more of his books. I just hope Steel World is not a one-off as I would like to read more about McGill and the mercenary legions. Very highly recommended if you like action novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great squad based romp, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reminded me of steamship troopers and the forever war but with a nice turn on use of tech.
Decent characters, good dialogue, plenty of action and an interesting overarching political structure.
I'd love to see a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining., 15 Nov. 2013
I'm not usually entertained by stories with a military theme, but this book was less about warfare and more lighthearted, character entertainment, with lots of action.
I couldn't help but feel fond of the main character and enjoyed the flow and no nonsense, fast pace of the story. There were in fact a few characters that were well described and enjoyable, without the boring, story interrupting process of writing pages and pages of backstory for each of them.
There was a good bit of humour in the story, and it kept me interested until the end.
I'm very much looking forward to reading the next adventure these characters have, if there is one.
It's not a masterpiece of writing or storytelling, it isn't meant to be, but it is a thoroughly amusing story to read. Anything could happen when you have a story and characters like these ones, and that kept me turning the pages.
Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick and twisted fun, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read some of the authors previous work, but this was definitely one of the best books written by BV Larson.

It's sickening in parts, full of horrible violence, and great fun. It leaves questions: It makes you think "What happens when someone dies?" "Is the new copy of them a soul transfer?" but feeds you enough information without directly saying it that No, you die when killed. A copy of you is made with your memories, but you are dead. (At least that's what I got from it, it might be visited in another book)

It's also a handy mechanism for this (hopefully) new series of books by an author who usually has a stupidly high death. Now, you can get know the characters and watch them die over and over and over again.

A must buy for scifi fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starship troopers in a parrallel universe - classic mifi., 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I stumbled on this book through my amazon recommendations. I'd seen it a few times, but didn't like the description. As is often the way, I'd run out of things to read and thought I'd give it a shot.

I found out very quickly that the description really didn't do the book justice.

Replace the 'bugs' from starship troopers with dinosaurs and mix in a machine that revives you when you die and you've pretty much got an overview of the story. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old style sf, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
John Monteith (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rollicking good read, very enjoyable.
Classic science fiction. Can't wait till the next one.
I'll have to have a look at the authors other work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good idea which doesn't quite work., 30 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is taken for granted that in Sci Fi novels and similar genres a certain suspension of belief is required to fully enjoy the underlying story. I'm always prepared to do this however this story had so many holes in the plot that it became a distraction the to basic idea of the novel. The premise of the plot that Earth had become a minor even insignificant adjunct of a vastly superior and ancient alien culture is an interesting idea. The story that was hung on that idea is not strong enough. I think the author himself realised this or received editorial advice because he tried to plug some of the inconsistencies later in the book. Too late to save it for me. By all means read the book buying it won't break the bank. It can be entertaining spotting the inconsistencies if nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, workmanlike sci-fi., 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable, well written space opera.
Good characterisation , decent plot line and well thought out physics and physiology. I would certainly my pay to read more in this series, and will now seek out more B V Larson books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and easy to read even if predictable, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is the first in trilogy or rather, to be accurate, three volumes have been published so far about the adventures of James McGill, the narrator of the story enlisted in one of Humanity’s mercenary legions. Depending on what you are looking for and on your personal tastes, you will either very much like this book or find it “content-light” and not exactly original.

There are similarities with more than a few military novels, whether of the science variety or not. One well-trodden path is that of the new recruit who discovers what a military life means in one of toughest human military outfits. Of course, our blue-eyed boy will become an outstanding hero: again, no surprise here. Another typical ingredient of this kind of book is that it is “fast-paced” and “action-packed” (it really is, by the way). It is a page turner, to use yet another conventional expression. You also need to note that this book, unlike quite a few others of its kind, is largely free of typos, which is also something that makes it more readable.

The context of the story is interesting. By the middle of the 21st century, Humans have been contacted by “the Galactics” and integrated into their Empire as a fringe and vassal race. They have also been largely confined to their planet by this lose federation of alien races from the core of the galaxy, all of which are vastly more advanced than Humans and all of which (or at least the two species we come across in this volume) consider the Humans are barely sentient and half savages whose main talent is to wage war.

In an interesting twist which does not exactly present Humans in a flattering light, each species is required to specialise in one area. It uses this one expertise for which it has some kind of monopoly to obtain the “galactic credits” that will allow it to acquire technologies and use the services of other races. The Human speciality is that they make good mercenary soldiers, and our hero becomes one of them. Unfortunately for the Humans, one of the alien races decides it wants to add an extra competence to its portfolio of skills, up to now specialised in mining. This of course leads to a some very brutal contests that take place under the eyes of the Galactics who act as referees to ensure that the pre-determined rules of engagement are respected by both sides.

An additional twist is that these alien technologies are integrated in human military outfits. Space ships are built and run by one species, including all Legion troop transports. Rifles and made by another for all other alien species. A third race builds machines that replicate sentient beings and can replace them as soon as they die. The point here is that whole Legions can be “wiped” (meaning be wiped out) and yet survive to fight another day, sometimes the very next day.

There are perhaps a few weaknesses. I found that the book lacked a bit of context and depth. I wanted, for instance, to learn quite a bit more about the structure of government of Earth and the contact with the Galactics that lead to it. Another point is that the “resurrection machines” that can replicate both bodies and minds like some kind of tri-dimensional super-photocopier seemed a bit too good to be true. In particular, the side-effects of these “re-growths” – feeling wobbly and a bit of dis-orientation but no other side-effect or major psychological trauma than some nightmares - did not entirely convince and sounded a bit “too easy”. Moreover, the long-term effects of getting oneself killed time and time again must be rather damaging, although this theme might be covered in further episodes since this is our hero’s very first campaign.

This is a good title and a good read, despite a few weak points. If you like military science fiction, you will probably enjoy this one (and the following two episodes), even if it is not entirely original. Four stars, after some hesitations and because I liked it, despite everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Dust World: Undying Mercenaries, Book 2 (Unabridged)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52)   
Click for more info
Available for immediate download

Tech World: Undying Mercenaries, Book 3 (Unabridged)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35)   
Click for more info
Available for immediate download

The Lost Starship (Unabridged)
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (263)   
Click for more info
Available for immediate download