Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So good, it's bad!
When I first viewed this film with a bunch of delinquent friends in 1981, we rewound the video so many times to see again the silly violence, the old top-loader broke down relentlessly. The story is good but the script is absolutely appalling which gives this film such an appealing quality. Sometimes you just don't know whether to laugh or cringe. The central...
Published on 5 Dec 2005 by T A Vidamour

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL BLU RAY OF A GREAT CHEEZY FUN FILM
How Raro have got away with this I don't know ... Arrow apparently are putting it out here in Britain ... Hopefully in a new transfer ... Raro have thrown this up and it sis so obvious that they haven't even done a hi def transfer and used whatever they used for the dvd ... THE PICTURE QUALITY ON THIS THING IS NOWHERE NEAR AS GOOD AS A GOOD MODERN DVD AND IS ONLY...
Published 7 months ago by Thomas B. Walters


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So good, it's bad!, 5 Dec 2005
This review is from: Nightmare City [DVD] (DVD)
When I first viewed this film with a bunch of delinquent friends in 1981, we rewound the video so many times to see again the silly violence, the old top-loader broke down relentlessly. The story is good but the script is absolutely appalling which gives this film such an appealing quality. Sometimes you just don't know whether to laugh or cringe. The central character clearly bullies his wife, this is obvious when he desperately tries to reach her at the hospital where she works and she fobs him off by saying she's busy. When he does eventually meet her, he constanty puts her in danger by using her as a shield. Firstly he makes her run to the ambulance ahead of him. From that moment onwards any sympathy towards his character goes straight down the bog. The gore is certainly well over the top in places (it is Italian after all) but more often than not, the blood looks just like liquid gloss, which merely adds to some of the many comic touches throughout. One of the violent highlights is the eye gouging scene which is somewhat of a trademark in Italian 'nasties' of the era, but the ultimate silliness of the whole production keeps the viewer rooted to the spot. There's almost as many inconsistencies as there are brutal killings in this gore fest of a movie, but don't let this put you off. This seems so different from the previous Umberto Lenzi classic 'Ferox' with overblown sound effects very 'spaghetti western-style' but it's a great little film nevertheless, despite the endless flaws - the music is broodingly atmospheric too. I read some time ago that Rambo 3 held the record for the largest body count in film history........whoever wrote the review obviously hasn't heard of this cheesy piece of film making. Either that or they had their heads up their ignorant backsides - it's impossible to keep a body count in this movie, much as it is similar with the Japanese classic 'The Shogun Assassin'. I don't even think Lenzi would be able to count the amount of deaths in his own film. If he'd stood up for himself (against the producer) like the dynamic director that he is, then this great movie without a doubt, could've been a hell of a lot better - God, so much of it will remind you of a modern day computer game because it's so much fun...buy it now...while stocks last!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL BLU RAY OF A GREAT CHEEZY FUN FILM, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How Raro have got away with this I don't know ... Arrow apparently are putting it out here in Britain ... Hopefully in a new transfer ... Raro have thrown this up and it sis so obvious that they haven't even done a hi def transfer and used whatever they used for the dvd ... THE PICTURE QUALITY ON THIS THING IS NOWHERE NEAR AS GOOD AS A GOOD MODERN DVD AND IS ONLY FRACTIONALLY BETTER THAN THE OLD DVD ... A total waste of money ... If Arrow do it I would advise making sure they have done a new transfer before even considering ordering it ... As for this its a complete waste of time ... Get the old dvd if you haven't got the film as its just as good quality
RARO YOU ARE A DISGRACE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lenzi Frenzy!!, 23 Sep 2004
By 
Robert Henry (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
I don't know anyone who's seen this film who doesn't love it! (well, zombie film fans anyway)
Admittedly there's a distinct lack of plot - basically a military cargo plane lands with zombies in it (without explanation) and from there on it's just a blood thirsty zombie-geddon - but the sheer non-stop brutality of it will keep all zombie fans in awe! From the very beginning to the very end it's wave after wave of irreverant characters being slaughtered! These aren't your slow cumbersome 'Romero' type zombies either, they're fast and rather intelligent with plenty of weapons at their disposal!
Day of the Dead this most certainly is not, but then it doesn't pretend to be. It's simply an enjoyable blood thirsty undead romp!
Trust me, if you like zombie films (and I most certainly do) then you really should love this! Just don't expect a plot! Oh, and look out for the live tv dancing scene!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lenzi's best horror, 8 Feb 2012
I stumbled across Nightmare City a few years back, i've always been a fan of Umberto Lenzi's work ( particularly his euro crime films) but had never heard of this. I must say i was pleasantly surprised by just how good this movie was!

Far better than Lenzi's more well known horror films "Cannibal Ferox" and "Eaten Alive", "Nightmare City" pre-dates Danny Boyle's "28 days later" by some 20 years or so, like 28 days,these aren't zombies per-see but infected humans who go on a bloody rampage! they shoot weapons, they bite and eat people and still have some intelligence making them far harder to kill and elude.

Mexican actor Hugo Stiglitz (who makes for a pretty bland lead) is a reporter covering the events as they unfold whilst trying to reunite with his wife who works at the local hospital, meanwhile American actor Mel Ferrer (Eaten Alive) plays an Army General who is planning a major air strike in the city to kill all the infected human's - It's up to the reporter to find his wife and escape the city before the strike happens..but as with all these situations, things don't always go to plan!

There's not much more plot to speak off but the movie zips by in such a lightning pace you'll certainly never get bored and the next kill or scare is just around the corner! There's also not as much gore as in Lenzi's other horor's but there are several scenes where things do get pretty gory and bloody, just don't expect the carnage factor of Ferox.

Someone here mentioned the dubbing is atrocious, it isn't that bad, i'v heard far worse on many italian movies of all genre's, for the most part the dubbing is pretty acceptable and both the leading actors - Hugo Stiglitz and Mel Ferrer dub their own voices anyway.

Lenzi was unfairly thought of in some quarters as a "hack" director because his horror movie's played second fiddle to Lucio Fulci's horror films around the same period of time, but most of Lenzi's horror's were actually pretty good and if you've seen any of his classic "Polizioteschi" Italian crime movies from the 70's, you'll know the guy can direct!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars summary, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i thought the film was very good and the delivery i would recomend this it is one to have for your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best picture quality Iv seen so far! Some people disagre but I'm not a fan of film grain. The human skin tone does look a bit to fleshy at times but it gives it that retro look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1 of your 5-a-day, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Golly these people really don't like womens breasts. No opportunity is missed to stab them with a pointy stick. I wonder what Lenzi's mum makes of it all.
Speaking of Lenzi, in the 13 minute interview included on the Blue Underground release, the director claims he was not involved in the writing of Nightmare City and admits that narritively, it's a dogs dinner. He's not wrong either. It wants to be a horror movie like Dawn of the Dead and an eco-disaster movie like The Swarm. As a result, one negates the other and its all (im sorry to say) a bit unsatisfying. Boo hoo!
That said, the movie is not without its moments. There is no shortage of gore and it also contains one or two quite eerie bits (a lawnmower trundling across an otherwise empty backyard is more unsettling than you may think). But in all honesty the most terrifying thing in this romp is the hero, a man with the deranged look of someone at the wrong end of a PCP frenzy. And he's not even wearing make-up. Unlike the villains, who frankly look like homicidal broccoli. (David Cronenberg had running 'blood-demons' in Rabid. They weren't zombies and neither are these.)
If Nightmare City was a great movie, you would have already seen it. But it's still a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mindless Mayhem! I Loved It., 28 Aug 2013
Think Italian, think the 80s, think bad dubbed over voices and think thick oozy gore. There's just something about these type of films that bored me silly as a teenager, but as an adult I can't explain my love for this mindless mayhem, and Nightmare City is just that.

What we have is zombie beings that think, run and are intelligent wiping out a city.
Now I don't like my zombies too run and I did find this a little upsetting. However the way the random acts are carried out are quite entertaining.

If you like breasts you won't be disappointed- there are plenty of them swinging around the movie. Though rarely are they for your enjoyment. These zombies like to stab at them, mutilate and rip em' off. Oh what a joy to have the uncut version of a film that was chopped to bits under its UK title of City of the Walking Dead.

So why has this movie either been forgotten about or simply smirked at as inferior in the zombie genre?
Well you have to remember that Nightmare City came in between classics such as Dawn of the Dead and the Beyond. Indeed when unleashed onto the public the zombie film had never been so popular. My thinking is that this is second rate compared to mentioned titles, however Nightmare City just like say for example Demons has that tongue in cheek quality to it- It's a fun movie.

True the dubbing isn't too good- and the dialogue is a bit stale. Though one has to remember that the original Italian diaglogue is most probably superior to translation than what we have ended up with.
The make up apart from a coupe of zombies near the end is dreadful. In truth the humans look like they have covered themselves in chocolate or paint.

But the story is good enough, and like I say if you can stomach the mindless violence and gore this film is a winner. The plane scene is gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars running zombies, 6 Jan 2013
By 
T. A. J. Leahy "tommygun" (croydon.surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nightmare City [DVD] (DVD)
umberto lenzis nightmare city is one of the best zombie films to come out of italy.although i still think lucio fulcis zombie films were better overall.but what i liked about this film is its very different from your average zombie films.this has running zombies who can use machine guns.yes its totally ridiculous but it only adds to the fun.this film has got everything,over the top dubbing.dreadful acting,poor to brilliant special make up effects.and zombies with lumps of play doh on there head and faces.but its all good fun.the initial story is good but has its flaws because the film has 3 different writers and is a italian/spanish/american production.but like i said its is very enjoyable and there some very gory scenes which were cut out of all the vhs prints but restored in all the dvd prints.overall cheesy/gory/ridiculous entertainment not to be missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nightmare City, 2 Jun 2012
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
News reporter Dean Miller arrives at a airport to do a interview but when a unidentified army plane lands on the runway and all those on board have been transformed into zombie like creatures who have the knowledge to use weapons such as guns, knifes etc. He tries to warn the public but when army stop him from spreading the news, everyone in the city is unaware of the horror that is about to fall upon them.

Umberto Lenzi directs this action packed and violent zombie movie which was the first film not to have its zombies as mindless flesh eating killers, here they have the use of weapons, can run, and have the thirst for blood (a little like vampires).

I read that both Franco Nero and Fabio Testi were considered for the lead role but Hugo Stiglitz was cast instead and lets face it he lacks the stature both Nero and Testi have to carry a film. Mel Ferrer has a good supporting role as a Army General and Spaghetti Western bad guy Eduardo Fajardo has a small cameo as doctor.

The film isn't over-ally gory like most of the genre but there is a few violent deaths such as a woman has her breast cut off before it's eaten and another woman has her eye gouged out with a iron bar.

Overall a enjoyable film well worth watching for zombie fans which is only let down by a silly ending.

Great DVD Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightmare City [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
11.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews