Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Dead
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars31
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2014
Ok, so this is a review not written by one of their mates, and hopefully that makes some sense...

I love this album and, like others have said elsewhere, it kind of defies genre - though the influences are clear enough. Rap, dance, hip-hop, but tweaked into something unique. The beats are driving, the voices - either cutting across one another or singing the same tune together - are impassioned. But it's the synth stuff going on that is often so weird and disturbing. Discordant, slightly out of key, scratchy like old records, or those synthesizers of the seventies that wouldn't stay in tune. And the whole lot works together like a dream.

No Way - the first track, is a blistering opener. Fast, loud, menacing, with a hard thumping chorus. Get Up is amazingly dancy. This is War, Hangman, Low are quieter, but no less disturbing - and not least because of the lyrics which are dark and weird and oddly memorable. 'The guide dog walking behind ya, Still on a leash.' 'Don't shoot the messenger, shoot the messenger's mother'...

I just saw them at Latitude. I wasn't sure they could equal the sound of the album live. They bettered it. For my money, the best act of the weekend - though sadly just about everyone under 20 seemed to prefer Lily Allen and the imo over-rated George Ezra. It suggests that Young Fathers might be a bit too hard niche to go huge. Odd thing, taste.
33 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
these guys are writing and producing a brave new style of music, a fusion of hip hop/African and synth music.
buy it!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Awesome album doing something innovative and different, like public enemy crossed with captain beef heart with some soul thrown in for good measure.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
There's a few haters here isn't there? What do they actually want?

If, like me, you're after innovation in hip hop then look no further. As some of rap's biggest names get lost in the studio, Young Fathers have produced something vital and forward-looking. The words, the delivery, the counterpoint melodies, the mix, it's all top notch. This is one of the best albums of 2014.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
This album has got a lot of bad comments due to the attention drawn to it by the Mercury prize it won; all publicity is good publicity, they say, but when people who wanted Royal Blood or Bombay Bicycle Club to win the Mercury Prize listen to the utterly mind-bending album that won it instead, those people may well dislike it.

This album is extremely good; bent out of shape neo-soul, ragged African percussion, immense Gary Numan synth drones, psychedelised raps, battering Def Jux beats, grime aggression and classical scope are all present within its running time. It is very very strange, and it's not for everyone, and that's fine, but it is definitely for me, and other less awful people. Yet even with its artistic merits and innovatory nature, this album is also club and party ready (with the exception of a couple of particularly abrasive numbers), with massive, stone cold bangers like 'No Way', 'Get Up' and 'Just Another Bullet'. Young Fathers sound like no one else, and this is my favourite album of 2014.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Thought provoking tracks that you want to listen to again and again, great variance. Scottish hip hop at it best . Young Fathers have strongly found their way from their first album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
I recently saw Young Fathers live and they were fantastic. Bought the CD because of that performance. It feels very tame and unexciting. Too nice for me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Love it! It is pure genius. So unique, personally I haven't heard anything quite like it before. They definitely deserve all the praise they're getting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
It is a very raw trip hop. Tribal at times and retro intimate at others. Very genuine and original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I can't stop listening to this. It's been years since I heard anything so perfect. Young Father's deserve to be huge.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)