Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Spear of Destiny review
This was a very exciting story. The Doctor is very strong and all the other characters come across really well. A must read blog for all Jon Pertwee fans
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor
Not very good at all. After a superb offering with the second Doctor this is a real step backward. The characterization of the Doctor, Jo and the Brigadier are off. Jo was so annoying, failing to grasp the simplest of plot elements. The story of the spear is very basic and childish and not at all gripping or exciting.

Skip this one to save your money.
Published 16 months ago by Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 29 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not very good at all. After a superb offering with the second Doctor this is a real step backward. The characterization of the Doctor, Jo and the Brigadier are off. Jo was so annoying, failing to grasp the simplest of plot elements. The story of the spear is very basic and childish and not at all gripping or exciting.

Skip this one to save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Norse, a Norse..., 4 Dec 2013
Started a bit slow, but I really like this one. I felt it captured a good flavour of Pertwee's Doctor and also had an interesting tie-in with Norse Mythology. Like a lot of the other stories in the 50th Anniversary collection, it suffers from being strictly limited in length. This could easily have been expanded to a novel. The ending is a little bit `iffy'. It was lucky for the Doctor that the TARDIS' Temporal Grace Field seemed to be working that week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Dandy Returns, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fine romp for the third Doctor and companion Jo Grant in search of the Spear of Destiny.
I was a little surprised to see that Sedgwick chose Jo for the companion rather than Sarah Jane but the story leaps along at a good pace and is written in such a way that it filled my mind with memories of Saturday tea-times in the '70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good short story, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good DW story. Nice to see the old enemy of the third Doctor return for this story. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good but these are just a little to short, 29 Sep 2013
By 
S. Donohue (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whist a good story you have no sooner got into it and the action begun that nits over just a little too simplistic for my tastes. I know they are supposed to be for younger readers but I read A LOT of young adult books as I prefer them and these just don't feel like you've read something. You feel a little cheated at the end. Good idea for a story though would have been good to be a full length story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining short story, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an entertaining short story which sees The Doctor and Jo break into a museum and travel back in time to the birth to Viking mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spear of Destiny review, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very exciting story. The Doctor is very strong and all the other characters come across really well. A must read blog for all Jon Pertwee fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved these new short stories, a must read for any doctor who fan. If you like the old books you will love this series. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loving these novellas nice to use my memories of the doctors of my youth to bring the words to life.
well written and good fun go and read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice short Story, 13 May 2013
By 
Andrew Eaton (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this to be an enjoyable read, in keeping with the televised version of the programme that it was set in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews