Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things can only get better
The first book in this series, "A big hand for the Doctor" didn't quite cut the mustard, but this one is an improvement. In this, a good deed by Jamie sends he an the Doctor to the far reaches of the galaxy, where a sinister plot is at hand to use the TARDIS to control time. A believable and human story which allows Jamie his moment of glory.
Published on 4 May 2013 by Punk Snail

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another interesting attempt for the anniversary
Colfer's first Doctor story was a fast and simple affair. There is something grander at work here. A wider scope and a brave attempt to segway Lovecraft-esque creatures into the world of Troughton's Doctor. It's not a stunningly great story but it's entertaining and makes you long for more adventures of the first slightly daft timelord to wear a dickie bow. It'll be...
Published on 13 Mar. 2013 by Christopher Long


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic novella, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A vast improvement on the previous offering for this part of the fiftieth anniversary celebration, `The Nameless City' is a fast paced, action adventure that manages to include plenty of ideas and concepts to contemplate and speculate on. It is a substantial achievement to be able to do this within such a small word count.

The author has successfully grasped many aspects that define the Second Doctor. It feels very much as if Patrick Troughton had performed this. The more determined and fiercely loyal side to Jamie, as opposed to some of the more comical aspects of the character, is also captured perfectly. This is Jamie at his best as a companion and it is a very strong story for this character; no doubt benefitting from the fact that it is a rare occurrence for an adventure to feature only Jamie and the Doctor.

The Archons prove to be quite interesting villains and their home convincingly portrayed. They are a species and a home world that would never have been able to be satisfactorily reproduced within the program during Trougton's tenure. As something similar in background to the Racnoss or the Vampires, there is definitely scope for the Archons to be used again and in greater detail.

*SPOILERS*
It is also a novel idea and an enjoyable fan indulgence to have the Master appear in a Second Doctor story. His manipulation of Jamie is sublime and worthy of Roger Delgado.

To achieve so much, so well in such a short story is a quite a success and it is a promising outlook for the next nine adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable romp, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this! A surprise appearances an old foe and some adversaries make this a special tale. Doesn't quite capture the feeling of the series at the time, but enjoyable none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superior second story, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
J. Aggas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After Colfer's disappointing first Doctor story, I didn't have high hopes for this one. However, I'm glad to say that Michael Scott's offering is a far more enjoyable read, at times feeling like a genuine 2nd Doctor story with nice nods to Lovecraft. It gets the 2nd Doctor exactly right, and there's a decent story that doesn't feel rushed or too thin, with a nice layer of atmospheric horror to boot that doesn't forget its main audience is for children, however it's written well enough that adult fans should enjoy it too. Especially since there are nice, subtle references to a certain classic villain...

In short, a very enjoyable light read that gives me hope for future stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
Kevin (Rotherham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Felt Michael Scott got The Doctor and Jamie right with there interaction and reaction to the situation they got themselves and good original story a much improved story from the previous one by Colfer which to be honest we all could improve on!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good yarn, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable tale of the second doctor including some surprises about the nature of the TARDIS... Looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Doc Story, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story for the 2nd Doc. I enjoyed it very much indeed.Definitely worth the purchase. Now looking forward to the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will make you go 'Oooooooooo' with delight., 10 Mar. 2013
By 
Bluedragonfly "Blue" (Stourport on Severn, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scott captures the voice and mannerisms of the Second Doctor, and of Jamie, perfectly. Maybe thats only because he's filched them from various episodes, but who cares, after the terrible start to this series this book is a little gem, its a pleasure, it will make you go 'Oooooooooooo' and put a smile on your face not once but several times. The plot is fine, a nice little romp, and the 'surpise cameo guest villian appearance' is as cheeky a bit of wish-fulfilment as I've ever come across, thrown into the enjoyable mix just to make that little bit sweeter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is more like it, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
Michael - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the slightly disappointing first book in the series, this is a vast improvement. The relationship between Jamie and the Second Doctor is captured perfectly, and the nods to Who's history (especially Thascalos) work really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now we're off, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Zachary "Zachary" (Maidstone, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is so much better than the first book; actually, this is where the 50th anniversary celebrations start. Michael Scott delves us into a rich plot where the Doctor is sent to the beginning of time, to a place where the Time Lords were not the race that we know and the Doctor is lulled in by the Necromonicon.
He paints a wonderful character of the Second Doctor and his assistant Jamie. This Doctor is quirky, eccentric, quick and clumsy. It is easy to picture Patrick Troughton as the tale spins along at a great pace.
This is far more like one of the new tv productions. It whips along and takes you on a great ride. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab story, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked this story, it pulled me in and kept me interested right to the end. I'm looking forward to the Dr Who book 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews