Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spore - it has culture
About the Author:

You'll find more on Alex on my Blog ([...] I write about what I like so the same writers do tend to come up. I found out about Alex because I read his brother's books. Alex and Simon share a website & Forum. So I come to this book as a Alex Scarrow fan and a Doctor Who fan.

Alex is the author of the Young Adult series TimeRiders...
Published 11 months ago by Chiropterarex

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grisly X-Files Fun
Some of the best Doctor Who stories of the year have turned up in this series of slim novellas aimed at the same audience as the TV Show. This is the best, but it's a neat tale with an X-Files feel that follows on nicely from the Eighth Doctor's sole television outing. A small town has been wiped out by a virus that will threaten all life on Earth if a certain time...
Published 11 months ago by Richard Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spore - it has culture, 24 Aug 2013
About the Author:

You'll find more on Alex on my Blog ([...] I write about what I like so the same writers do tend to come up. I found out about Alex because I read his brother's books. Alex and Simon share a website & Forum. So I come to this book as a Alex Scarrow fan and a Doctor Who fan.

Alex is the author of the Young Adult series TimeRiders. I'm a huge fan of the series, who cares if I'm not a YA, I'm 45. Anyone that likes Dr Who would probably find Time Riders very entertaining. You can read more in the articles TimeRiders Series So far (books 1-6), TimeRiders Book 7 and Interview with Alex Scarrow. Book 8 in the series TimeRiders: Mayan Prophecy is out now.

Spore:

Set in the present day, the Doctor sets down in the desert a few hundred metres off the Highway, near one of those one-diner kind of towns that are near nowhere. Though I guess we aren't too far from Roswell... as the Doctor recollects,

Something is here and the Doctor knows it is here. Something he has prior knowledge of, something that will destroy all life on Earth because it is here 50 years too early...

This is the Eighth Doctor, travelling alone. Though he does pick up a friend along the way, as he is prone to do. So there is less random energy one might expect from Doctors Ten or Eleven. Less seriousness, interspersed with glee that you might find with Doctor Nine.

The Doctor is more matter of fact and open, similar to how he was in the film when talking to Grace. He doesn't pull the psychic paper and there is no sonic screwdriver saving the day,

It is a short story, but fully formed with the traditional pattern of a Doctor Who Story - the Doctor arrives, encounters the issue and makes himself known, he investigates and a solution is found. That might seem obvious but some short stories don't always feel complete; this story does.

It would be interesting to see what Alex came up with for a full length Doctor Who novel. Though he is perhaps a little too busy with TimeRiders and his other YA series Ellie Quin.

As this is a Puffin book it is appropriate for a wide age range, including children. There are an earlier 7 books in this series by other authors and 3 more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grisly X-Files Fun, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of the best Doctor Who stories of the year have turned up in this series of slim novellas aimed at the same audience as the TV Show. This is the best, but it's a neat tale with an X-Files feel that follows on nicely from the Eighth Doctor's sole television outing. A small town has been wiped out by a virus that will threaten all life on Earth if a certain time traveller doesn't intervene. It's grisly in places, but to excellent effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Every B-movie you've ever seen, 4 Dec 2013
I just felt this story was too familiar. The small American town where `something bad' had happened, the cardboard military personnel who immediately trust some stranger without asking for his ID, etc. Add to that a temporary `companion' who doesn't do anything and the fact that the Doctor himself is never really threatened and you're left with some kind of B-Movie plot like "Outbreak of the Andromeda Strain Body Snatchers Thing" Given the limited amount of broadcast material with Paul McGann as the Doctor, there was a lot of scope for 'inventing' him - but sadly it didn't happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor Goes to Roswell, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Eighth Doctor goes to Roswell to defeat an alien terraforming spore. In all the stories featuring the Eighth Doctor he seems to exude a knowing melancholy and I have to give Alex Scarrow credit for capturing this facet of the Doctor's personality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Spore, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cracking read which leaves you wondering what could Scarrow do with a full length Dr Who book? I think it would be a stunning read.
This moves along at a cracking pace and is a very enjoyable little read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reminds me of..., 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...when Doctor Who literature was truly excellent and ground breaking in its own way. Very emotive of the eighth doctor in both the novels and his tv appearance. It is, definitely, a very short story. I think it took me about ten minutes to read. Granted I read fast, but just as I was enjoying it, it finished. Can see how it would work longer and would sit so easily alongside the EDAs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor, 8 Sep 2013
Quite a good story this time and brings the 8th doctor to the fore and has his character to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another great novella in this series featuring a doctor that had only one visual adventure,very well written good characters and leaves you asking will dr chan meet the doctor again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Big story, short book, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
None of this series of books would get many stars if they were judged alone.
They all have the same problem, in that they are far too short and the stories tend not to take this into account.

There is often a very good set up, with lots of clever ideas, but then no time to explore them and the ending seems perfunctory.

If you only have 40ish pages then the story shouldn't have ambitions to be a novel and it should work better within it's limits.

So the rating I'm giving are just a comparison within this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Short Story, 4 Sep 2013
By 
DR Burden "Horatio" (northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of the other reviews have complained that the Doctor seems a bit uniform and bland here, however, I very disagree. As someone who has listened to all of the 8th Doctor audio adventures from Big Finish, I could completely hear his voice when reading this. But I can also appreciate how others who aren't as familiar with the 8th might not get this.

Also, quite gory in places!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews