Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BONUS EXTRAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Just received my steel book copy from amazon today i am pleased to report to any fans of the film that this UK edition has all the extras from the USA edition- Directors commentary with Ron Howard,5 featurettes, trailers,tv spots.Picture quality superb,5.1 DTS sound great also i confirm the run time is 117 mins NOT 107 mins as on box Oh sorry to nit pick as already...
Published 14 months ago by cinemascope

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality
I loved the film when it came out and decided to buy it. the value was good but while watching it the picture keeps going and coming back almost like a shutter on a camera would do.very annoying although it did improve after about 20 minutes.
Published 12 months ago by Mrs. P. J. Dudley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BONUS EXTRAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cocoon - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just received my steel book copy from amazon today i am pleased to report to any fans of the film that this UK edition has all the extras from the USA edition- Directors commentary with Ron Howard,5 featurettes, trailers,tv spots.Picture quality superb,5.1 DTS sound great also i confirm the run time is 117 mins NOT 107 mins as on box Oh sorry to nit pick as already spotted by a reviewer major cock up by FOX unbelievable this the credits printed on the back of the steel book are for the sequel COCOON THE RETURN!!!!!!!!!!! it beggars belief how these people keep their jobs what about quality control never mind False advertising,i will still keep hold of my steel book copy might make it very collectible in years to come. Hope this helps you with your purchase of this great movie enjoy.
Mark, Wallasey, Merseyside. 6/3/14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fountain of youth, 12 Jan. 2002
By 
Gordon (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cocoon [VHS] [1985] (VHS Tape)
Too many stars to mention in this almost two hour gem. Senior citizens rule in this film with great material from Ron Howard (Director). It's a sunny film with lots of laughs and a plot to keep you interested to the end. Don Ameche won best supporting actor for this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallow In Pure Fantesy And Keep A Hankychef Handy!!!, 23 Jan. 2005
By 
Mr. R. S. Clancy "deejayclancy" (GUERNSEY CHANNEL ISLANDS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Both these movies are pure escapeism,well acted and very emotional in places.They don't make movies like these any more,the movie makers of today have lost the plot i'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two wonderful films in one!, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
J. Osborne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I waited a long time for 'Cocoon' to be released on DVD and to get both the original and the sequel was a real bonus. Cocoon is packed with wonder-ful moments and the CGG effects in some places are truly amazing. A film for the whole family, especially perhaps the old and the quite young. A story of gentle evolved alien visitors and a group of elderly men and women who become involved with each other, with the humans finding that age is no barrier to helping friends. Also the interaction between the female alien and a human man has some beautiful special effects - the restaurant scene in particular is quite spectacular. A joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm and cosy, 1 Aug. 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cocoon [DVD] (DVD)
On of the first Ron Howard films, and as with Splash, Coccoon exhibits a 'niceness' that permeates a lot of the director's earlier works(and indeed some latter). Today (2012) it might not hold up quite so well with a younger audience but I have fond memories of this blockbuster of sorts back when it was released. The effects at the time were some of the best, but alas the cgi playing field has changed dramatically in those 20+ years.

As a film and a story in its own right it still works however. All the actors are top notch. Guttenburg is sufficiently 'Guttenburgy' and no doubt put a few bums on seats but it is the older cast that shine and are the heart of this film. Jessica Tandy, Don Ameche and Wilford Brimble all excel in very understated but touching roles. But it is Jack Gilford as Bernie who steals the show as the unexpected soul of the piece. His humanity and humility and honesty leads to a more touching ending than simply a boat-load of septogenarians riding off into the sunset to live forever. And Brian Dennehy is always worth the price tag!

Modest, moving and emotional. With aliens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One from my childhood..., 15 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cocoon [DVD] (DVD)
If you don't want to read the following review - Here's the short version -
Cocoon is great!
- for those of you that do, read on...
Cocoon is so well known that I think it's pointless to recount the plot, although what there is of it is faintly nonsensical (involving OAP's, aliens and Steve Guttenburg). What makes this film great however, is the wonderfully warm and enthusiastic interplay between the old cronies - Hume Cronyn, Wilford Brimley, Jessica Tandy and Don Ameche all turning in excellent performances.
Ron Howard's sci-fi tale is engaging, sweet and funny leaving you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classical movies, 24 July 2013
By 
DK-BUYER (LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought these because I loved the movie way back when.....

The movie can still motivate me like it did in the old days. It tells the story of residents at an elderly home, who find a pool with cocoons in it. When they swim in the pool they're rejuvenated and they suddenly meet the aliens, who are there to collect the cocoons, which actually have aliens inside who were left behind thousands of years ago. They promise not to tell anyone, but of course things go bad between the team and one of the members.
At the end the group from the pool is offered to join the aliens when they go back and they agree.

In number two the collection continues where the first one left off. The elderly group returns because they have to find the remaining cocoons and they decide one by one to stay on earth because they miss their family......
One cocoon is found by scientists, who, like in most movies, do their studying of the alien even when they can see he/she is dying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars there here again, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
at the height of eighties film making both cocoon films were brought out,in the first a pennyless hungry fishy boat skipper has a group hire his boat for 27 days ,in the meantime at a nearby test home three old friends keep trespassing to use the pool ,when the cocoons are brought in they revitalise the o.a.p.s with drastic implication that the aliens who are in the cocoons waiting to be taken home now have to be put back into the sea.a really good family film
in cocoon 2 they come back to earth with the oaps to regain there friends in the ocean ,but as one of the aops dies one of the couples decide to stay on earth with their daughter and grandson,the other couple one prefnant in her 70s decide to go back with the aliens and jack the fisherman is shown by one of the aliens a premonition of having a nice house and car wth a wife a nd two children,a great pair of film for all the family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COCOON, 18 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cocoon - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Wonderful film, Beautiful Steelbook, the Blu-ray is very nice, plus there are some good features on the disc, the soundtrack is very good which is in 5.1 dts.

For me this is Ron Howards best film, with a great cast and screenplay, plus the music was good which was composed by james horner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cocoon a Classic 80's movie, 12 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've recently started to build up my 80's collection of movies and this was amongst one of the titles I wished to purchase. I saw this when I was a young boy in the cinema and absolutely loved it. Steve Guttenberg didn't do too many movies but the ones he did feature in were some of the biggest of there time(Police Academy series and Three Men and a Little Baby/Lady fame). This film is an all round family film and will delight any child and adult alike, with funny and heart warming moments alongside a well thought out storyline which is totally absorbing from the begining.I would highly recommend buying or renting this DVD whether youre into 80's or just looking for a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cocoon - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray]
Cocoon - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] by Ron Howard (Blu-ray - 2014)
£12.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews