Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLU-RAY SPECS:
Due to a curious lack of professional reviews and details about this blu-ray, I have decided to provide information I would have found helpful prior to buying this release. Firstly, this surely has to be the same transfer used for the Region A Criterion version. The film runs at 2hrs 23min 20sec, with the 20th Century Fox logo taking up 23sec of that. This version of the...
Published 2 months ago by Cheeky Monkey

versus
64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film But Flawed Blu-Ray
Weird but excellent film, been one of my favourites for years and was looking forward to the blu-ray release.

However, what is the point of blu-rays when compared to DVDs? Ah, yes, superior visuals and sound quality, or at least supposedly.

Visually, the transfer is pretty good for a 25+ year old film (though no great improvement over an upscaled...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by SC From Purley


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vERY GOOD FILM, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All right !

Very good film at its moment. I'm very glad seeing it one more time. Two thumbs! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brazil, 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: Brazil (DVD)
No my sort of film too weird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars what happens when no ones says "stop", 22 Mar 2006
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
summaries are availible so I'll keep this short and sweet. This is a simple satire told Terry Gilliam style. Nothing is held back and no compromises are made. You can expect hyperbole, stylish silliness with dreams and reality intermingled. There isn't a bad scene in the movie.
But the best things about it also become the problems. This is Terry's baby no doubt about it and though his directing is flawless it becomes too much. Its obvious nobody was able to say no to Gilliam on this film. Everything is included though after a certain point it is no longer developing the story, it's just showing more about what you already know. I don't know how they should have edited it (and it's a moot point because it ain't happening) but the three act structure is abandoned and the audience is left waiting for a conclusion that keeps on not coming. I'm ok with a non resolution as a resolution but don't spend a half hour jerking me around.
I recommend seeing it for it's creativity and ingenuity but the long surrealist interludes towards the end will minimize repeat viewings for all but the most hardcore fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Chaos, 8 Jun 2000
This review is from: Brazil (1985) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The film was an very interesting film, it was entertaining but became frustrating at some points. I was disapointed by the small role De Niro had in it, but the film was overall satisfing and it certaintly had its moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
ENTERTAINING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsively hilarious, bureaucracy taken to the limit., 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
Dysfunctional. Best features of Brian Rix's Whitehall farces and Iron Sky.
I have been waiting for years to get a copy.
Definitely buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wich audio on this BR ?, 6 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Brazil [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
(Sorry for my bad english)
Can u tell me if a french audio track is available on this BR ? and there is a french subtitle track ?

Thx by advance ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
no idea it was a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'll keep it short..., 17 Feb 2005
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Brazil *is* terribly lacking in plot and substance, but it also has some fantasticly bizarre imagery (the best of which i believe takes place in the dream sequences). It really is quite dissapointing to watch the first time round because the film doesn't grip or move you in any way. It seems more like a series of obscure scenes than a coherent film. But the actors all put in good performances, and the cynical humour and memorable imagery make this a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars suitably odd, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
This is ideal for my purposes, many thanks for this item, much appreciated indeed, its exactly as described and very handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brazil - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [1985]
Brazil - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [1985] by Terry Gilliam (Blu-ray - 2014)
£12.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews