Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ghost stories
I never read Ghost stories or stories about 'another life' simply because as a believer in another life I find them too disturbing. These stories are no exception they are brilliantly written & totally believable ! I shall most certainly be a bit more careful what I buy from Antique Emporiums in the future Ha Ha !! Highly recommended read.
Published 10 months ago by LynnsWaffles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Spooky
Loved these elegantly written stories, spooky, a bit macabre, stylish. Loved the MR James influence but confident the writer's own style could be just as engaging. More please!
Published 10 months ago by BetsyG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ghost stories, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marrow Scoop & other ghost stories (Kindle Edition)
I never read Ghost stories or stories about 'another life' simply because as a believer in another life I find them too disturbing. These stories are no exception they are brilliantly written & totally believable ! I shall most certainly be a bit more careful what I buy from Antique Emporiums in the future Ha Ha !! Highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky fireside tales, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marrow Scoop & other ghost stories (Kindle Edition)
These spine-chillingly spooky stories are a must read for a dark, wintry evening by the fire. Using unusual and evocative objects, Suzie has woven these supernatural tales with skill and in the finest ghost-story telling tradition of M. R. James himself. Each one draws you in and won't let you go until the horrifying truth is revealed. Although I had already read The Marrow Spoon, it still sent shivers down my spine when I re-read it. Suzie's writing is full of atmosphere and subtle nuances with compelling plots and true-to-life characters - I felt as if I was in that gentleman's club in The Ponyskin Trunk, straining my ears to listen to the gruesome details... I can't wait to read to more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy and atmospheric, 9 Nov 2013
By 
K. Flint (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marrow Scoop & other ghost stories (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed these short stories - they are just right to dip into - to read one and look forward to reading the next. You really get immersed in the atmosphere and the language is very evocative of time and place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spooky Stories, 9 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Marrow Scoop & other ghost stories (Kindle Edition)
Want something quick yet chilling to read before turning out the light? Then these three spooky tales are for you. I really enjoyed all three stories, entitled The Marrow Scoop; The Ponyskin Trunk; and Westbound Train. Each story echoes of M.R. James who was almost certainly the King of writing chilling antiquarian ghost tales, and in this stunning tribute and doff of the cap to James, Suzie Grogan has skillfully written three terrifying encounters that are sure to have you looking under your bed before clicking the off switch on your bedside lamp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Spooky, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marrow Scoop & other ghost stories (Kindle Edition)
Loved these elegantly written stories, spooky, a bit macabre, stylish. Loved the MR James influence but confident the writer's own style could be just as engaging. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spine tingling!, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marrow Scoop & other ghost stories (Kindle Edition)
These ghost stories are very good, especially the Marrow Scoop. Nice and short to keep one interested. I look forward to reading more of Suzie Grogan's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only to be read in the hours of daylight, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marrow Scoop & other ghost stories (Kindle Edition)
Suzie will be thrilled to learn that she gave me the wibbles three times running! A wonderful little book of spooky tales that will have me looking over my shoulder and avoiding antique shops for some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews