Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired
Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings are the ultimate in retro funk and soul recalling the classic sounds of sixties R & B but with a contemporary edge. With a little less funk and a little more soul "Give The People What They Want" is the band's 5th studio album since 2002 and Jones seems to get better with every outing.

From the soaring, soulful and sublime "Making...
Published 13 months ago by Angel Delta

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Playing But Weak Songs
Firstly, I love the retro artwork that pays homage an old Chi-lites album from forty years ago. Sharon and the Dap-Kings don't sound too much like the Chi-Lites though being harder, funkier and contemporary. I'm a fan of this band having bought the previous five albums they have released and this outing is not one of the strongest sets. It's beautifully played, funky and...
Published 11 months ago by honeysuckle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings are the ultimate in retro funk and soul recalling the classic sounds of sixties R & B but with a contemporary edge. With a little less funk and a little more soul "Give The People What They Want" is the band's 5th studio album since 2002 and Jones seems to get better with every outing.

From the soaring, soulful and sublime "Making Up And Breaking Up" and the wistful beauty of "We Get Along" to the horn infused balladry of "Slow Down Love" and the lilting, staccato of "Get Up And Get Out" this is the sound of Jones at the top of her game and nobody plays it better.

The band has backed Mark Ronson and Amy Winehouse (on her first US tour) and it delivers the essential sounds of funk and soul without ever descending to being just a copy cat outfit. This is a confident and dramatic band delivering a fresh, crisp and faultless backing to ten original songs and Jones' peerless voice.

It's a big band in every sense with organ, glockenspiel, piano, baritone sax, trumpet, trombone, tenor sax, drums and congas and the production values ensure a tight sound that complements the soul in Sharon's voice to perfection.

The penultimate track, "People Don't Get What They Deserve" is the essence of this beautiful album: brash, brassy, sophisticated, stylish and exciting. It is a powerful reminder that Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings is an inspired act that combines voice, rhythm, harmony and musical excellence and cuts to the very heart of sweet soul music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VINYL REVIEW, 7 Jan. 2015
By 
M. Jones (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is primarily a quick review of the vinyl version. I'm always appreciative of people leaving reviews about the vinyl pressing quality and sound quality, hence my short review.

The vinyl pressing is very very quiet and even between tracks there's hardly any noise. I was concerned about ordering the vinyl as I'd never heard of Daptone records and thought they may have got the album pressed on the cheap. (I've also bought SoulTime by the same band and that pressing is great too). Another reviewer mentioned the fact that the band recorded on an 8 track and the sound lacked detail. I couldn't disagree more. The recording is very musical. It has dynamics and is not compressed at all, but it lacks any sort of harshness. This could possibly be confused with lack of detail.The treble may be a bit subdued compared to modern recordings but it sounds really nice, without any hardness or glare. The recording sounds very natural. All the detail is there but it is not in your face. You just need to sit back relax and listen. Even if you're doing something else you'll be tapping your feet.
The brass section sounds smooth, and there's not a trace of sibilance in the lead singers voice or in the backing vocals.
I'm not sure how expensive it is for a band to record using an 8 track, in comparison to recording digitally but I think other bands should look into it. What you lose in obvious detail you seem to gain in smoothness and musicality.

The songs are great but they aren't going to change the music world. They're vintage and sound familiar in some ways. Sharon Jones has got a great voice.

If you like old school soul I can't imagine why you wouldn't like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the People What They Want (MP3 Download)
A breath of fresh air! A wonderful, soulful and energetic album. Highly recommended! Sharon Jones has a powerful and charasmatic voice that exudes confidence, personality and experience ... Yet it does not detract attention from the beautifully arranged instruments and unique composition of these tracks. My heart has been yearning for music like this for a long time - at last I have finally found fulfilment!!! 5 stars all the way*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The latest serving from ms Jones and the Boys, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
I heard a review and interview from Sharon jones on BBC radio Scotland for this Her latest LP I hadn't heard of her up to this point but was struck by the quality of music from a bygone time I have managed to get 4 of the 5 albums realised on vinyl so far all for £10 each which is great as iam sure vinyl junkies out there know most now cost between£15 to £35 which to me is a lot to fork out for new works or old releases. I do recommend this album to anyone into 60s soul and r&b a new slant on classic dance music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost there, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
Peter Burns (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was not as good as anticipated but I'm sure it will grow on me. I have been impressed with the Dap Kings live but I had hoped for more polished production values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharon Jones at her best, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
PJS "PJS" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whatever problems beset Sharon Jones during the past year have been shaken off, dusted down and blown away by this fabulous album. You know what you get with Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings but this seems a little sharper, she is more powerful than ever and the orchestra/band simply slick and cool. Recommended listening at a loud volume, be prepared to jig about too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
best lp yet and a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cat`s Whiskers, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely first class ,quality soul from a band who ooze the right stuff topped off
with the amazing vocals of Sharon Jones,whose skills and phrasing are unparalelled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had heard the artist on a music show so ordered the album, really pleased wi5th the variety of music arrangements,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She gives just what I want!, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sharon and DKs do it again only even better if that's possible. Great original numbers, cool guitars, hefty percussion and a funky brass line-up with smooth backing vocals, it's good to have her back. You'll Be Lonely has one of the best bass riffs I've heard in years and the recording quality is superb through my big system, in the car and on (hey - it's free!) MP3. Plenty of variety too - Detroit, Philly Soul, upbeat Mo-Town all spiced with Sharon's Noo Yourk edge. This child of the 60s loved every note and I'm sending a copy to my son-in-law hoping he'll bring some of this excellent funk soul to his retro band. If you've missed James Brown, Otis, Sam & Dave, or Aretha in the last too many years this will bring it all back. Go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Give the People What They Want
Give the People What They Want by Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews