Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find of the year
This is a superb album for anybody who appreciates great progressive music..this band is my find of the year. Highly recommend .
Published 9 months ago by Jeff Richardson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Need to find their own sound
I put off buying it, and then finally saw the CD in HMV and thought 'why not'?

But whilst the playing is superb, Airbag just over too much as a Pink Floyd tribute band that don't actually play PF music, but rather play 'in the style of'.

There are plenty of bands out there influenced by the Floyd; Mostly Autumn, Riverside and Anathema to name just...
Published 23 days ago by Brendan Newport


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Need to find their own sound, 3 Dec 2014
By 
Brendan Newport (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I put off buying it, and then finally saw the CD in HMV and thought 'why not'?

But whilst the playing is superb, Airbag just over too much as a Pink Floyd tribute band that don't actually play PF music, but rather play 'in the style of'.

There are plenty of bands out there influenced by the Floyd; Mostly Autumn, Riverside and Anathema to name just three. But although you can pick-up the influence in the music (helped by Mostly Autumn and Anathema playing 'Comfortably Numb' live) all of these have forged their own sound and there own unique compositional style. Airbag though haven't. Other than a few occasions where they go down other routes, what you have here is an album in the PF style, the PF arrangements, even Gimours trademark tone. Everything except songs that would make it to a PF album. After a while (well ten minutes in) it starts to grate.

I couldn't rate such highly-skilled musicians a 1-or-2 star. After two listens 'Greatest Show was put in the 'rarely-to-be-played-again' pile. If I hear that these guys have pursued a new new unique style for the next album, I wouldn't hesitate to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find of the year, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb album for anybody who appreciates great progressive music..this band is my find of the year. Highly recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth (MP3 Download)
Great little CD, I like Porcupine tree and Steven Wilson in particular... Not that I am comparing Airbag to them, but you will get a feeling for part of the music I like.. And I certainly liked this, as did my wife who also likes the above group..I have been and listen to it regularly as well, always a good sign of excellent music..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just stunning!!, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. S. J. Turner (Bath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth (MP3 Download)
Fantastic album, great band. On par with the other two albums, if not better. Just the small task of getting them over to the UK now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Airbag. Brilliant band., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The album is a great mix between Porcupine Tree and Pink Floyd wrapped up in their own style. My two favourite bands with a twist. What more could I look for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music and guiar playing, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have all their Cd's now, This was the first one I bought and unfortunatley lost the disc!!! Bought the download which is great value. All Airbag's music is melodic rock with some fantastic construction to the tracks, the singing a touch off in parts, no doubt due to them being Norwegian. This doesn't detract that every track is of a great quality and the guitar work is absolute tops. Would love to see them in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stuff ..... and now for the back catalogue, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, of course there shades of other influences here (Floyd, Porcupine Tree, et al), but everyone is shaped by their own listening history and these guys have put their influences together into a new sound that is becoming their own.
I'm a big fan of classic Prog (I was there after all) but this is Great New Prog and I'm delighted to be able to hear and support it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yet From The Brilliant Airbag, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant band.
Love this album.
I think that this is their best yet.
Very musical with hints of Pink Floyd.
Refreshing change from the heavy metal inspired prog bands.
Highly recommend this to all lovers of great progressive music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 4 Nov 2013
If you are going to purchase album of the year, here it is. Exceptional, even if your not aware of the band. Closer to their last album 'All Rights Removed', plus hints of 'Identity', 'Safe like you', but on a grander scale.
I have been listening to this band close to two years now, this album is their DSOTM. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than "All Rights Removed", 4 Nov 2013
By 
Richard Hughes "rhughes2832" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth (MP3 Download)
Fabulous. If you've heard "All Rights Removed", you know what to expect. The style is very similar, but this is feels bigger, louder, and (although it may be hard to believe) even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews