Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should have won the Mercury prize
The extra tracks are great - I might even prefer some of them to some of the tracks on the original album. 'Atomica', which opens the extras album has a 70s feel, as does 'Rocket Man'. All of the additional tracks, and there are 5 new ones in addition to the 3 extras on the deluxe version of the original release, are superb as are the remixes of 'Love is Lost' and 'I'd...
Published 16 months ago by markr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For the fanatic not the casual fan.
If I'm honest I never listen to this and I'm a MASSIVE Bowie fan.

I think there's not quite enough material to make a decent EP... I think I'll take the 2/3 good tracks and replace the less than great tracks on the Next Day and I might have more time for them.

Don't like remixes and all that so they're a waste of space for me. So overall not that...
Published 1 month ago by M. S. Skeldon


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should have won the Mercury prize, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The extra tracks are great - I might even prefer some of them to some of the tracks on the original album. 'Atomica', which opens the extras album has a 70s feel, as does 'Rocket Man'. All of the additional tracks, and there are 5 new ones in addition to the 3 extras on the deluxe version of the original release, are superb as are the remixes of 'Love is Lost' and 'I'd Rather be High'

The DVD collection, which includes the first 4 singles from The Next Day, is a worthwhile addition as is having a lyric sheet included which can be read easily this time.

Just great - for sure, this should have won the Mercury prize!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man Who Took 2013, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
Firstly The Next Day album came out, then a week later the Deluxe version and then a few months later this Collector's edition.
And although this is just to gain more money, I really don't mind paying out for them. Each brings a bit more Bowie Brilliance.
This Collectors Edition is packed with really great stuff, in a nice box all be it plain but still, two CDs, A DVD of all the Videos -love is lost, which is a shame as it is a great video!
The Next Day track is great, Bowie turns to some biblical being who tells it how it is about the Church. It was even Banned from YouTube after the Church hit back! Ten years off and his first album causes trouble!
The bonus track CD is full of Tracks that are just brilliant, and unlike some other artists who bring out bouns tracks that just aren't as good as the album they are cut from, Bowie's would fit right in with the first Next Day album! Where are we now was the first single to come out, where we see a older Bowie, that singles almost in a fragile voice, but this is a trick! The rest of the Album is remonstrant to Reality back in 2003. And there are aspects of all Bowie eras. Each listen you hear a bit more magic from the last listen! BUY IT NOW! you'll be happy with it, and you don't need to be a Bowie collector or even a huge Bowie Fan. This is 2013 Bowie! It's NME's album of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous boxset, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Kevin Lindsay (Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, so you've heard the album, so what does the collector's edition offer over the standard album? First off, the package is in a really nice box, which has tectured interior. There arevtgen 6 inserts: 1 - The Next Day album, 2 - the extra tracks (really good), 3 - DVD of 4 videos, 4 - lyrics booklet, 5 - booklet of photos, 6 - a blank booklet entitled "You". Wonderful presentation of the album. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra EP (MP3 Download)
The bonus traks offered as en EP here really are excellent and i feel 'Atomica' is the pick of the lot and should be a single with a push for the chars, the remixes are good but the ten minute remix of love is lost is much slower than the 5 minute remix offered as a single track. All in all though definately worth it just for the first track!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie Bonus, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
traveller (stirling, scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a gift for my husband who is a long-standing Bowie fan and he was delighted. Although he already has the album the collector's edition provides a bit extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patient Bowie's Spectacular Comeback, 9 Jan. 2015
By 
Alexander Tate (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Is the euphoria worth it? The clamour to raise Bowie further, to a previously unmatched iconic plain after an almost silent decade following nearly two being panned by critics and music fans, is all enveloping. Yet, Bowie’s influence has been rumbling away for many years, just very few named him. Only those with very obvious references who had already made their mark were seen above the parapet.

Any androgynous being making electronic music was lazily pinned with a Bowie badge. Any hint of New Romanticism given a stroke of Bowie blush rather than the eye shadow of Duran. Was he really still influencing these people, had no one else sown seeds within young musicians for 20 years? One may suggest the need for an icon like Bowie to shake us from the constant production of plastic bands and synthetic singers. Bowie’s constant recutting of his cloth, the feeling of the fibre in his fabric distinguishes him from many of his contemporaries.

The surprise announcement on his birthday of a new single and new album generated a buzz, almost a meltdown. It seems his silence had produced a rise in stock. Bowie had created a frenzy without lifting a finger.

Keeping out of the public eye gave more credibility to the opinion that Bowie had retired, maybe this time for good. We were all fooled by a carefully structured act of deceit. Of course there was an album coming out. Hidden in plain sight.

The Next Day Inlay WPWhere Are We Now? is a fragile piece of elegia, not to distant from Hours… or Heathen’s more tender moments. As his first new music in a decade this was again Bowie sidestepping the public, it’s not an honest indicator of what The Next Day holds. Yet, as a stand alone piece of music, it was perfectly measured and intriguing enough for the first whiff of his new record.

The rest of this review can be read at alexandertate.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/the-next-day-patient-bowies-spectacular-comeback/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there's one from the Thin White Duke phase and that one there sounds like something from 'Scary Monsters', 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (MP3 Download)
Bowie is back and haven't we missed him? If you're not of an age where you're very familiar with Bowie's earlier work then simply buy the 'Extra' version of 'The Next Day' and you're sorted. You can almost listen to each track and assign it to the relevant album; there's a Ziggy track, here a 'Hunky Dory', there's one from the Thin White Duke phase and that one there sounds like something from 'Scary Monsters'. Not that 'Next Day' sounds a mess or doesn't stand on it's own - it does perfectly. This must be one of the most spectacular comebacks in the history of pop. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cd of 2013 enjoy, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (MP3 Download)
Every track is a single some remixes on the cd are better than the original tracks you can not say that often
A wonderful enchanted peace of work thanks David
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie,still Best., 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After all these years David Bowie always surprises and this collection is a must,full album,bonus tracks and dvd video brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album., 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The extras are great, just a shame to have to buy the same album twice.

I might start using my subscription services for new albums and wait for the Collectors Edition / Deluxe Edition / Special Edition etc. before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Next Day Extra EP
The Next Day Extra EP by David Bowie
Buy MP3 Album£9.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews