Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sythian conflict takes a new twist...
Another good book in the series. Have really enjoyed all of the books so far and have loved learning more out about the Sythians heritage. Like the writing style of the books and all of the characters are memorable in their own way. Also nice to see a storyline where the obvious folk, Destra and Ethan, play their roles out separately from each other and don't just fall...
Published 9 months ago by GforceUK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still entertained
Another good effort from Jasper. Plot gets more complicated and there are even a few surprises this time. However it is slightly rushed and confused towards the end, which actually feels like a series finale but clearly isn't!

I'd love to write more about my opinions on the ending but it's impossible to do so without spoiling it for the people most likely to...
Published 2 months ago by Mr S BRITTON


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sythian conflict takes a new twist..., 13 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
Another good book in the series. Have really enjoyed all of the books so far and have loved learning more out about the Sythians heritage. Like the writing style of the books and all of the characters are memorable in their own way. Also nice to see a storyline where the obvious folk, Destra and Ethan, play their roles out separately from each other and don't just fall into each others arms. Looking forward to reading book 4 and continuing the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exiciting and tense, 3 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
A fitting end to this exciting and tense trilogy.
The threads from the earlier books are brought together, while new plot twists are thrown in. After the first few chapters I only put it down because I needed to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fantastic installment!!!, 3 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this series so far and look forward to the coming updates it is a fantastic read its got an element of everything the wierd, wonderful, heroes, love, mystery and gunfights I tend to like books that have lots of sequels because when i read a good book I don't like to say goodbye and these are good books if you are into space/sci-fi books its a must read hats off to the author and keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable end to the first Dark Space Trilogy, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Kevin Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
Dark Space 3 Origin is an end to the first Dark Space trilogy, a Space Opera series set against the backdrop of a humanity of the edge of Universal Extermination in which it's protagonist has found himself go from the reluctant pawn in a gangsters game to being at the centre of a battle to keep humanities last enclave a secret and avoid the destruction of the species.

This whole series has been a really enjoyable ride for me and this final part doesn't disappoint. The events of the series are brought to a conclusion, characters backgrounds explained and story arcs concluded and all in a really satisfying way.

At the same time this book has managed to expand the series, hinting at much wider events and a much bigger universe to explore and I'm keen to know more about the Sythians, the enemies so bent on annihilating humanity (who's own origins are introduced here), their slave race the Gores and how the events of this book will impact them.

Overall a good read, well paced and a satisfying chunk of space opera. Recommended to fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
This is the third book in the series. The theme has been carried on from the other books. The character have been further developed and there was a twist towards the end. I enjoyed this book as much as the other two.

Don't start at the end but read the books in order, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read!, 30 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
Book 3 of a series which must be becoming a firm favourite amongst SciFi readers worldwide.

I've read all of Asimov and E.E. Doc Smith, and Jasper is up there with them in the way that the story unfolds, the tension, the graphical description all of which place the reader at the heart of the action.

Without giving anything away, I love how we are reminded in the preview of book four of something that many would have forgotten. Bring it on Jasper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still entertained, 26 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
Another good effort from Jasper. Plot gets more complicated and there are even a few surprises this time. However it is slightly rushed and confused towards the end, which actually feels like a series finale but clearly isn't!

I'd love to write more about my opinions on the ending but it's impossible to do so without spoiling it for the people most likely to benefit from this review. The safest bet would probably be to describe it as one-dimensional and let you draw your own conclusions.

Despite my criticisms though it must be noted that if there were a separate grading system for free books Jasper would receive 5 stars for all his efforts to far. They keep the reader engaged and entertained which is more than I can say for some of the more established authors in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 22 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
In common with many series-books, events from the "story so far" are reviewed at times, but it does not slow the pace too much. This is still as much of a page turner as the first two books in the series. I only noticed one item of grammar which had escaped the proofing. At location 5152, the adjective "vitriolic" is used at the end of a sentence when it should have been the noun "vitriol".

For the sake of the story, the reader has to ignore the fact that vast repairs are made to equipment in very short time and seemingly without recourse to planetary resources.

The book ends with the development of a revelation about life in the universe that definitely makes the reader want to discover more answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good plots, easy reading and exciting style., 30 Aug. 2014
By 
Nat "Nat" (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
I've read the set of these books in the series so far and have enjoyed them. I'm not much of a book reviewer but if I was going to compare styles, I guess it's a bit of "Clive Cussler" with the Sci-Fi element thrown in. The books are easy to read and have good plots, plenty of sub plots but don't tie you in knots with unrealistic twists and turns. I'm eagerly waiting for the next in the series.
I would recommend reading the series from the beginning as the threads and character development will make more sense and will be a more fulfilling experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Conclusion to the Trilogy., 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Dark Space (Book 3): Origin (Kindle Edition)
The story continues to a conclusion in a fast and exciting way. The fortunes of the main characters have many twists and turns that makes it impossible to guess their fate and, for some, decide whether they are hero or villain. The way the writer is able to maintain suspense by introducing new aspects to the underlying story of an intergalactic war and it's origins opens the way for additional books whilst bringing the main storyline of this trilogy to a most satisfactory end.

An easy and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Space (Book 3): Origin
Dark Space (Book 3): Origin by Jasper T. Scott
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews