Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars21
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2014
The story of Jonathan Palmer, a young orphan, setting off on a great adventure in the year 1792 immediately captured
my imagination. An orphan, desperate to learn the truth of his birth, he stows away on board a ship bound for England in search of his mother. Jonathan is just fifteen years old, and, at the time the story is set, the journey would be long and arduous and especially dangerous for a young boy hiding away during the voyage. But the story takes a tragic turn and the ship is lost along with its fleet whilst still in the waters of the Caribbean. More than that, young Jonathan who was not even listed on the ship's company was lost in every sense.
200 years later on the island of Grand Cayman a teenage boy with his own modern-day problems but a special affinity for the sea, is drawn to the place of those long-ago shipwrecks.
Although I was totally invested in the historical story the switch to modern day is smooth and timely. The paranormal elements fit superbly with the fear and superstitions that abound within seafaring communities both past and present.
Lastly this is a story of two young boys, separated by two centuries, who were able, in their own ways, to cross the boundaries of time and help one another.
Lovely!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I was lucky enough to be gifted a copy of Jonathan's Locket by the author and was thrilled to read Lorraine Carey's work as she has that special gift of `magic' that can spin a tale so well. I readily admit that Jonathan's Locket was an amazing read had me swept away. Not many readers are aware of the mysterious Wreck of the Ten Sails off of Grand Cayman in 1794 and the paranormal events that the author has included to make it even more mysterious. I couldn't help but find myself feeling emotional and a tad sad as a young stowaway spends his final moments going down on one of the ships. The story jumps effortlessly to modern day Grand Cayman where a troubled teen will learn some hidden secrets and becomes obsessed with finding what he believes is a lost treasure that was on board one of the ships and this will lead him to the most amazing adventure he never thought possible. What a treasure of a tale for all ages! Thoroughly enjoyable and would highly recommend this work...Kim Wheeler
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
The entire story has a good feel underneath it all. The love of the seas, the description of the waters and the journeys shows that the author is quite a seaperson herself. This is a tale of a young orphan in search of his birth mom. He decides to become a stow away. He enters into the wrong ship. Unfortunately it brings about his demise. Years later another young man who loves the sea connects with Jonathan (our lost young man) through telekinetics. He is then lead to an adventure of ghosts, dreams, magic and supernatural as he finds himself the only person who can freeJonathan's spirit. The book s fun. It is clean entertainment that is sorely needed these days. The book can be read by young people and old. There is nothing offensive or will make you emabarassed that you read it. It has a smooth flow and is told in a way that you understand each and every scene. It is a nice book to clear your mind and enjoy the adventure.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Jonathan Palmer and Brandon Wallace are two teenage boys separated by time and circumstance. One is in search of his mother, the other, in desperate search of direction. How can the two possibly share anything in common or help each other when they live more than two hundred years apart?
I'm not one to give away plots, so...
If you enjoy poignant stories, based on true-life events, that add a sparkle of magic to otherwise humdrum lives, you'll enjoy how this story turns out. It's a relatively short read, but is nevertheless well researched, constructed in a way that draws you along, and entertains to the very end.
A very enjoyable read :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Jonathan's Locket by Lorraine Carey is a YA story that's a pleasure to read, no matter your age, based on the famous 1794 Wreck of the Ten Sails on the Grand Cayman reef. I enjoy nothing more than a teen-to-adult historical, and here's a fine one, complete with a magical sea turtle and a mystery to solve.

Prologue: At fifteen, orphan Jonathan Palmer stows away aboard the doomed ship The Convert and dies in the tragedy,his presence on the ship unrevealed.

Our hero: Ghost ships, screams and eerie lights plague the east end of Grand Cayman two hundred years later, when a troubled teenager, Brandon Wallace, claims mystical sea-borne encounters. He befriends a sea turtle whose secrets lead Brandon on a dangerous journey. Will he uncover the dark secret of Jonathan’s death?

I'll not tell you. Read this charming tale to find out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
What a marvellous and endearing story. One storyline concerns an orphan in 1794 and another one a boy who lives some 200 years later.
Set in Grand Cayman it brings top mind Pirate stories and adventure, but the author tells a heart-warming story that pulls on your heart strings. My heart goes out to the hardship of a little boy who wants to know who his mother is, and stows himself away in one of the ships to find out.
While one story is sad, Brandon, the present day boy brings a bit more fun and the sense of adventure into the novel, together with the ‘mystical sea turtle’. A great ghost story with two wonderful teenage characters from different centuries this is a lovely story for young adults that will enchant older audiences effortlessly.
Truly wonderful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Jonathan’s Locket. I loved this thrilling book! Young Jonathan Palmer, an orphan of fifteen years, starts out on an adventure, which…oops, I don't want to be a spoiler here. Two hundred years later, a boy, Brandon Wallace, finds himself drawn uncontrollably to the sea. Why? The shipwrecked Convert plays a major part. The wonderful story is riddled with historical facts set in the Cayman Islands. With magic abound, pirates, ghosts, and sea creatures, you'll be turning those pages…not wanting to put it down. I was tense during the underwater segments. It's very well written and I highly recommend for all ages. Loved the ending ! I give author Lorraine Carey five major stars for this excellent classic! I'd love to see it made into a movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
What a wonderful adventure it was, a perfect blind of history and paranormal, interwoven with simple human qualms and dilemmas of either teenager boy, the one from the 18th century and the one from our modern times. By the time their fates interlocked I couldn't put my Kindle down anymore. What a tale!
Jonathan is the lost orphan who becomes lost in every sense when the ship he had sneaked undetected into is wrecked on the Grand Cayman Reef. Brandon has his own issues and dilemmas to face, but when the sea pulls him in the strangest impossible-to-resist way, his life takes an amazing turn. Fast-paced and action-packed, this story is a wonderful adventure for teens and their parents alike.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
I have a love of everything paranormal, historic, and time travel, and this book had it all! "Jonathan's Locket" by Lorraine Carey is a wonderful tale that stretches through time, starting with a young orphan stow away named Jonathan who has a passion for adventure and wishes to find the secrets behind the special locket that belonged to his mother.
Two hundred years later, Jonathan's story is yet again picked up when Brandon, a young boy in Grand Cayman, begins to take interest in the rumored swashbuckling tales of old.
This story is full of mystery and intrigue, as well as being smoothly written. Loved it very much!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
A wonderful mix of genres here with a seafaring tale, time-travel or rather links across time, and the paranormal. Jonathan Palmer, eager to voyage to England to discover his past, stows away on The Convert and is lost at sea in the resulting shipwreck. All this took place over 200 years ago... The story then switches to the present and another boy with problems, Brandon Wallace, and the two themes/boys/time-zones are woven together in an exquisite tale combining ghostly sightings, the unravelling of hidden truths, and encounters across time. Dramatic, tense, imaginative, and totally uplifting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.