Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Potential
The best console at the moment is probably the XBox 360 still, mainly because it's developed over a long time and improved considerably from what it started as. The games library is massive, services amazing etc. It was, and is a tough act to follow but I think Microsoft have really thought about things for the successor.

First of all the price is excellent as...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. A. Nelson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Broken dreams!
I had some money ear-marked for a next gen console that was burning a hole in my pocket before christmas, unfortunately the PS4 was sold out everywhere so I plumped for the Xbone.

While the graphics are generally next gen and the controller feels really nice,the console interface itself is a major step back. The insistence on the windows 8-style dashboard is...
Published 7 months ago by Richard H


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Potential, 7 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
The best console at the moment is probably the XBox 360 still, mainly because it's developed over a long time and improved considerably from what it started as. The games library is massive, services amazing etc. It was, and is a tough act to follow but I think Microsoft have really thought about things for the successor.

First of all the price is excellent as you get Kinect.2.0 bundled and the price has just dropped ahead of Titanfall. The console quality is excellent, you can turn the thing on with your voice, it updates when you turn it off and Kinect 2.0 is what Kinect 1 should have been. What has impressed me the most is the fact it's able to properly multi-task so you can play a game and do something else at the same time like watch a guide how to do something or Skype with a friend. Overall it's still in it's infancy, so it will be some time before the service, features and interface are fluid. Overall though I feel it's a quality piece of equipment that may not replace your 360 but compliments it extremely well.

As a new console it all boils down to two things - The Games and the Services. It's up agains the PS4 which is a pretty good piece of kit but in my eyes the PS4 is a one trick pony. Services wise I think Microsoft have got it right as they are adding to it all the time and the Xbox Live is the world leader because it brings everything together. Games wise, Forza is amazing and has some features that are unrivalled, Ryse is excellent fun and Dead Rising even more fun ! The future is bring with Titanfall coming, Halo , Fable, a bunch of exclusives and alot of multiplatform titles.

It will be some time before we see what developers can do with it but for now, it's the ultimate compliment to the current gen and for me it's untouchable for multi-player. I would advise jumping to the Xbox One but keep your 360, you'll then truly have the best of both worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality!, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
I thought long and hard before buying The Xbox One. I considered the PS4 but after many hours of consideration, opted for the Microsoft offering into the next generation console war. Ordered from Amazon and delivered quickly. (Thanks to DPD for excellent service!)

I did think that the extra £80 in the price would be a big influence on which console to buy, but as I've had a 360 since launch day, (I also owned a PS3) I decided to pay the extra cash and get the Kinnect thrown in with the bundle. Before purchase, I didn't think it was necessary to have the Kinnect and was the one big reason I nearly bought a PS4, but, after using it for a couple of days now, I realise where Microsoft is going with the Kinnect. It works well, enhances the overall experience and is a worthy accessory for the Xbox One.

The console itself is very impressive. I compared games running on both consoles prior to purchase and would say there is nothing to choose between them. The games are just so good to look at, Forza and Call of Duty Ghosts really show off what the Xbox One is capable of. I had been playing Ghosts on the 360 up until I took delivery of the new console and didn't expect to see much of a difference in the graphics. How wrong I was! The difference is huge!

As time goes by, I'd expect to see developers really understanding what could be achieved in future games, which augers well, whichever machine you buy.

The set up took about 15 minutes, a quick update of the firmware, merged my old 360 account and it was ready to go. The console is very quiet, a big difference from the 360 and although not yet available in the UK, It is designed to be used with your TV provider.

It's obvious Microsoft sees this machine as being a media hub to be used for all sorts of apps and functions in the future, which makes sense, given how media streaming and downloads have progressed so much over the past couple of years. The quality of playback on the Bul-Ray is as you would expect.

Through in 7.1 sound if you have the means, and it makes for a very impressive overall package.

I'd ignore the foundless, highly critical comments of some people on these reviews who base their comments solely on their potential loyalty to Sony and not personal experience and seriously consider the Xbox One as being your next purchase.

Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible! Xbox one is the future of gaming., 24 Dec. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
Fantastic gaming console, do not be put off by that fact that is does more than just gaming, watching live tv and streaming movies is just an add on. If you are upgrading from the previous generation of gaming consoles, you will certainly notice the differences straight away, first of all, the graphics are superb, far better than the xbox 360 and ps3.
Next, the controller has made an improvement, The 360's controller was very good anyway but microsoft manged to improve even more, the main difference is that the D-pad is much better. Also battery life has improved drastically. The launch games are fairly good too, my favorites being Dead rising and Forza 5. In my opinion, Xbox's game line up looks far better than the play-stations. I am aware that different games types appeal to different people but I feel that Xbox's current game line up will appeal to a larger majority of gamer's. The new Kinect 2.0 is a lot better than is previous model, voice recognition has improved greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic item, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
Great item especially as it has the fifa 14 game with it (downloadable). I opened up to have a look before giving one each to my sons - delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and the Assassin's Creed bundle is one of the better options in my opinion, 11 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
There are now several Xbox One bundles to choose from over the holidays, and the Assassin's Creed bundle is one of the better options in my opinion. But just in case another one will be a better match for you, here is a comparison with holiday price drops:

Xbox One, no Kinect: £329.99

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00CM1KUVE/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00CM1KUVE&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=KIPWREOYJHU6KHA2

- Barebones, nothing extra, not a great deal, don't get this one.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Xbox One with Kinect: £388.47

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00BE4OUBG/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00BE4OUBG&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=5SNQ4SOJ7VE3I5PK

- Same as above, but includes Kinect. No other bonuses, don't get this bundle.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Xbox One Assassin's Creed Bundle, no Kinect: £299.99

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00KJFDOYA/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00KJFDOYA&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=H6VGDP75M7ZTWBR5

- This includes both Assassin's Creed black flag (digital version), which is playable immediately after download, and Assassin's Creed Unity, which you can pre-download, but it is not playable until release date, which is still 1-2 weeks away (UPDATE: Available now!). As you can see, this is the same price as the barebones XBO, but includes 2 free games, making it a pretty sweet deal if you don't care about the Kinect.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Xbox One Assassin's Creed Bundle, with Kinect: £415.99

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00KJFDN32/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00KJFDN32&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=MNYQYV4U4YCBS6V3

- Same as other AC bundle above, but also includes Kinect. It also includes a free Kinect game: Dance Central Spotlight. The Kinect sells separately alone for $149 MSRP, so this is an *extremely* good bundle. The standard MSRP prices would put this value at $399 console + $149 Kinect + $30 AC Black Flag + $60 AC Unity + $20 Dance Central Spotlight = about $650=£428.74 total. Even if you believe the separate prices are kind of inflated, or they go down further over time, still a great deal.

Xbox One Sunset Overdrive Bundle: £359.95

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00I9WV4OW/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00I9WV4OW&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=GXMLAGMJ4OEMMGCO

- This bundle does not include a Kinect, but includes the new Sunset Overdrive game for the same price as the barebones bundle. But what makes this one stand out is that both the console and controller are white, which is pretty cool. Color preferences are subjective, so you'll need to look at it and decide if this bundle is right for you, or if SO is the type of game you'll like. It is currently the only way to get a white XBO. If you really want the Kinect, you'll have to buy it separately for £147.86,

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00NABN4VS/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00NABN4VS&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=V6CPXU5A73X7G2X4

which makes the deal less awesome. But if you don't care about Kinect and like the look of white, this is a great choice.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Xbox One Call of Duty Advanced Warfare Bundle: £329.86

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00KJGJPTC/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00KJGJPTC&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=MCUOQMLFLRHYYIHB

- This bundle is priced the same as the normal Kinect bundle, but this one does not actually include the Kinect. Instead, that $100 premium gets you Call of Duty Advanced Warfare (digital version, not physical), a custom Call of Duty themed console and controller design, and a 1TB hard drive. This is the only way to currently get a 1TB hard drive, which to me is the biggest selling point of all. But again, if you want the Kinect, you'll have to buy it separately for $149 which makes it not as great of a deal. But that 1TB is great, and with how large full games are, will quickly become necessary. I'm hoping 1TB becomes a standard hard drive size very soon for this console, but for now, you'll have to get this bundle to get that extra space (or get a separate external drive).
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Xbox One Destiny Bundle : £389.99

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00I9WV15O/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00I9WV15O&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=E62HPWVAQD5E7TMJ

This bundle does not include Kinect but its with Destiny of course and a download code for DLC's
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Xbox One - Destiny bundle with Kinect: £579.99

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00KJFDN82/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00KJFDN82&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=MKBBK2YSDIZWIDLD

The same like the normal Destiny bundle, but much more expensive, don't buy this...
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The last one! Xbox One Console with Kinect, Titanfall, Destiny and Xbox Live 12 Month Membership: £579.99

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00I9WV4R4/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B00I9WV4R4&linkCode=as2&tag=amazon-201-21&linkId=4XMW3KNVVQ46Y7BH

if you have the money for it, this bundle is very recommendable, because you would pay much more if you would buy everything extra.
After the last few system updates, the Xbox One has become an even better gaming/media device that I am still using and enjoying just about every day. So pick the bundle that works best for you and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Broken dreams!, 27 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
I had some money ear-marked for a next gen console that was burning a hole in my pocket before christmas, unfortunately the PS4 was sold out everywhere so I plumped for the Xbone.

While the graphics are generally next gen and the controller feels really nice,the console interface itself is a major step back. The insistence on the windows 8-style dashboard is often counterintuitive and clunky and the vast majority of things that worked on the 360 don't here (invites are not stored, friends list takes a decade to load and seems to have more data but less information etc).

While a lot has been said about graphics resolution and frame rates, ultimately you'd be hard-pressed to tell the difference. However tearing is noticeable as are the shameless microtransactions in games like forza (less tracks and cars than forza 4? Not if you fork out to get the content, most of which was on the disc).

Ultimately this console is broken, maybe Microsoft will fix it in a year or so (I'm holding onto mine in case) but in the meantime I'm moving on with my PS4 (which doesn't make gaming hard work!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Xbox One Review, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
T. W. Marshall (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
Well.... I've owned the console since launch day and I have a Day One Edition, it's now time to write my review and share my thoughts.

Unfortunately my console was one of many that was a Day One Disk Cruncher and it took me 2 MONTHS (65 days to be exact) to get a replacement. I could still play download games and since getting a replacement I've played quite a few disk games.

The console itself has a glossy black finish with vents grooved into the right side on top. The left side houses the optical drive where the disks slide into the hole, as opposed to the old 360 disk tray system. On the left side of the console is the USB connection for the inevitable external hard drive upgrade that you'll have to perform after you own more than 15 games due to the paltry 500GB non upgradeable hard drive.

The Xbox One hardware is a very hard one to judge, after all how can you critic a system that's only been on sale a few months? But herein the problems lies, spec for spec in terms of raw processing power the PS4 can do 25% more and every cross platform game released so far has graphically been superior on PS4. Only time will tell with this one as once the game developers are fully accustomed to the XB1 APIs it will be capable of some beautiful games.

The system is not backward compatible with Xbox 360 games and the 'HDMI in' suffers from about 1.5 seconds of input/output lag, meaning if you want to continue playing your Xbox 360 games you're going to have to keep it connected up to your TV.

The new controller is probably the best one Microsoft have ever made. The layout is pretty much the same as the 360's but the new triggers are it's best feature, they give you a level of accuracy that I've never experienced outside of specialised gaming pads. While playing Forza 5 you can accurately change the throttle and brake in 5% graduations, they're big enough and very comfortable to use for hours on end. The two thumb sticks have a grooved rim which adds to their grip and the d-pad is also a huge improvement as its now an actual cross shaped d-pad.

The Xbox One dashboard is now very similar to Windows 8, it takes a little to get accustomed to it but after 30mins you'll be able to navigate it with ease, I still prefer the 360's old dashboard though. The console needs a 9GB Day One patch so the internet is a necessity even to play offline games. You'll also need to download a Blu Ray media player and codecs in order to play BR disks, I also still cannot get my Panasonic BTT-590 5.1 surround sound system working with the XB1 as Microsoft STILL haven't released a 24 bit sound patch...

Kinect is probably the worse thing about the whole package, it's just absolutely useless. Every function that it has in games are just pure gimmicks and it doesn't actually add anything to the experience. In Dead Rising 3 you can bark gibberish that will grab the zombies attention and in Forza 5 you can use head tracking, that is literally it... oh yeah, you can say Xbox on...

My conclusions from the Xbox One are mixed at best, there's the obvious evolutionary advances over the 360 but with that comes the misdirected attempt by Microsoft to turn Xbox from a gaming console into a multimedia centre. Here again is another problem for gamers outside of the US as pretty much all the multimedia features will only work on the US Mainland. At this moment in time the XB1 is not worth £425 and there isn't a single game worth buying the console for. My advise for any prospective customers would be to wait for a price drop and a couple of good games.

The 'One' and only box you'll require under your TV, year right, not unless you want to play your old 360 games....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! Buy one and you will have no complaints, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
Absolutely love my Xbox One and am more than happy with my purchase, ignore all the Sony fan boys and Xbox haters who like to give it a bad name, this is an excellent console which is constantly improving, has good games out currently and great games on the way. Personally find the Kinect really useful especially now it is better integrated with Sky, it's much easier to say 'Xbox Pause' to stop the TV than to try and dig out the Remote from whichever corner of the Sofa it has disappeared into!!

If I was still the pure, hardcore gamer with endless free time that I was in my early 20's then maybe I'd consider a PS4, but I am now a 30year old husband/father with a full time job and I enjoy and make full use of all the extra multimedia features that the Xbox One offers, plus I still have access to all the core games available on Playstation, so the Xbox One meets the needs of all my family and covers all bases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
One of my best purchases yet, brilliant games console, just cant wait till they release more games for it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xbox one, 24 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14 (Console)
Ive always been an xbox player and it didn't change with the xbox one and im glad i didn't change, Xbox one is awesome and id recommend it to anyone who is thinking about getting it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Xbox One Console with Kinect and FIFA 14
£458.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews