Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars380
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 28 February 2014
A rare thing here; a 28 year old male fan of Sir Cliff! BUT I don't play to social norms, and am happy to say I'm a fan of Cliff's music. I've got about 6 of his albums, a meer dusting of his 100 strong catalogue, but they include 'Cliff At The Movies' and 'My Kinda Life' which is my favourite.

Well, it WAS my favourite until this little gem was released.

Firstly, most of the 1 star reviews here can be dismissed as people who didn't understand what this album was all about. It's a covers album, and Cliff has been open about this. It's an album of his favourite rock and roll songs from the 50s that helped influence him into making music, and so he has re-visited them and given them his own take to honour and salute the decade he started in. That's it.

Anyone expecting new material will be disappointed, but even this material is new-ish, as Cliff makes the songs his own with a few new arrangements and melodies, but always staying faithful to the source material.

Every song sounds fresh, energetic and full of passion as Cliff obviously is having fun recording these, from the toe-tapping 'Rip It Up', through to the fantastic 'Stood Up', 'Dream Lover' and the iconic 'Johnny B Goode'.

This will please all lovers of the rock 'n roll era as well a Cliff followers. It's real music, real fun and a real bargain price. This album shows Cliff is still firing on all cylinders 50 years later from 'Move It', and long may we have more of this real musical genius.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
on 14 November 2013
Wasn't sure if we would still like Cliff after over 50 years of listening. Particularly concerned after some of his recent rather syrupy and market lead stuff over the last decade or so. After listening to the samples on Amazon we decided to order and OMG what a complete transformation back to his best years. Crisp, clean, skillful, fun and really impossible not to sing along with - BUY IT.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
What a remarkable career this guy's had, even after 55 years he's still
got the appetite to keep entertaining and recording, not too many can
say that in truth.
Back in 58' he broke onto the scene with 'Move It' which topped the chart,
since when he achieved Thirteen more chart toppers, that of course being
only part of the story overall he's released 146 singles which includes
a number one in each decade 50's 60's 70's 80's 90's 00's a feat no other
artist can boast, out of the 146 single releases One Hundred and seventeen
figured in the U.K top 40, sixty five of which made the top 10........
'Cliff' has no equal here in the U.K.
His chart success in the U.S has been a little patchy however, for some
reason his music didn't excite music fans the other side of the 'pond'
only nineteen releases made the Billboard Top 100, out of which just three
made the U.S top 10.
Love him or hate him, his success down the years cannot be argued against.
For me this album has more to do with the landmark 100th album release, in
fact ...memorabilia.
The album has 'Cliff's' versions of some of the classic 'Rock/Pop numbers from
way back when, including 'The Everly' number 'Wake up little Susie' 'Johnny
Burnette's' 'Dream Lover' 'Johnny Tillotson's' 'Poetry in Motion' 'Bryan
Hyland's' 'Sealed With a Kiss' 'Chuck Berry's' 'Johnny B Goode' and 'Elvis's'
'Stuck on You' among the Fifteen tracks on board.
The guy is a music-legend, for me the album celebrates his 100th album release
and his overall contribution to the music-scene over the last 55 years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 31 December 2013
A brilliant album from Cliff Richard that is his 100th album. His choice of songs salute such Rock 'n' Roll icons as Little Richard, The Everly Brothers, Elvis, Bobby Darin, Charlie Gracie, Chuck Berry, Rick Nelson Buddy Holly to name but a few.

Cliff with some great musicians recorded this album in Nashville and it rocks from start to finish.

What more can I say...Pink Cadillac...Rave On Cliff...thanks for bringing memories back with some great versions...each track brings One more Sunny day...So people my recommendation is...add it to your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
on 11 November 2013
I must be one of the 1st to download this on Amazon and can say this is really a very good and fun album. The album is full of songs you shall or not reconise but is all good as it sees Cliff back to his roots again singing rock n roll. To be fair his last 2 previous albums , a swing and motown album did not suit him , So it is great he has decided to record this. I have herd this is the 100th album to be released in the uk too and who better to have this with this and all of his achievements than him. This is a very well produced album and will please many listeners and goes very recommended and is very Rockin!
His best album since Reunited!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 12 November 2013
Cliff doesn't seem to age his voice doesn't strain it's just matured.
I haven't recieved the CD yet but Amazon, once they have sent your purchase send you an MP3 download, so listened to it yesterday, yes I admit quite a few times and sung along with some of them.
There are many favorites on the disc sung with a passion that only Cliff can give the vocals and it feels as though he is back in his youth singing this collection, the musicians playing great guitar playing to ranchy sax make the playlist rock along to,
In all this is a 'songbook' of our 15 rock 'n' roll favourites sung by our own Cliff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on 11 November 2013
This is a great and fun album from Cliff Richard that marks his 100th album, while also giving a passing nod to when he started out 55 years ago in 1958. The suite of songs is chosen as a representative sample of those singers, composers and songs that inspired him to begin his career as a musician. The final track is an original song commissioned for the project (and co-written by the album's producer).

What Cliff brings to the party here is a fresh take on some very well-known and familiar songs. Cliff has an innate ability to understand harmony and rhythm and both of these facets are here. It could have been simply an album of covers that would have passed most people by, but this is a joyous and energetic make-over of the songs that has Cliff's stamp all over them.

There is not one song on the listing that made me think it was out of place and, if you like strong musicianship with a familiar edge, I strongly recommend you buy this album!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 13 November 2013
A must for all Cliff fans - and there are plenty - Cliff has made classic rock songs his own you can tell he loves this music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
This should have been a brilliant idea for an outstanding album. Take Cliff to Nashville, one of the birth places of rock 'n' roll, and record an album of classic tracks with American session musicians that have that American art form called rock 'n' roll running through their veins. And yet...
This is a good album. Cliff's voice is actually very good, for the man can sing rock 'n' roll. He was by far the best British rocker to come out of the 1950s and his 'Move It' remains a classic by any standards. This is one of Cliff's best albums and an improvement on his recent releases. And yet... There is something not quite there.
This reminds be of two other Cliff albums. One is the 'Cliff and the Shadows Reunited - 50th Anniversary Album'. The best tracks on that were the three cover versions of '50s rock classics, so this format is one that has worked for Cliff before. Yet the one this album most resembles is 'Cliff', his first album from 1959. It was recorded live at Abbey Road and all but two of the tracks were covers of American rock hits. I am sure that the Nashville musicians on the latest album are a lot more technically proficient than the classic Hank, Jet, Bruce and Tony line-up of the Shadows that had been playing together for only a few months when the 'Cliff' album was recorded, but that first album had a freshness, rawness and bite about it that the 100th doesn't.
The 'Fabulous' album equals 'Cliff' a couple of times - with the Chuck Berry numbers 'School Days' and 'Johnny B Goode' and all but one of the others will please the fans. There is only one duff track and that is 'One More Sunny Day', which was written for this album. It's not Rock 'n' Roll or early '60s style and I don't know what it's doing on the album.
If you like Cliff Richard you will love this album. If you like 1950s rock, you may like it. But if you are in either group, give that 1959 'Cliff' album a spin and you will like that even more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on 11 November 2013
Elvis inspired Cliff.
And Cliff is still inspiring me to enjoy music.
To Sing and dance to it.
This is a well put together and produced Rock and Roll LP.
Just put it on and enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Private Collection
Private Collection by Cliff Richard

40 Golden Greats
40 Golden Greats by Cliff Richard

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.