Customer Reviews


307 Reviews
5 star:
 (248)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still got it after 50 years
Wasn't sure if we would still like Cliff after over 50 years of listening. Particularly concerned after some of his recent rather syrupy and market lead stuff over the last decade or so. After listening to the samples on Amazon we decided to order and OMG what a complete transformation back to his best years. Crisp, clean, skillful, fun and really impossible not to sing...
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do better
I have already commented on the one star rating but felt that it wasn't that bad. I have every album he has recorded and every single. So I feel I am in a good position to comment the last two albums were ok Bold as Brass still remains unplayed most of the time and the Soulicious only a handful of times.

I just feel that Cliff could do more edgy music but due...
Published 12 months ago by JohnSargent


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still got it after 50 years, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fabulous Rock 'n' Roll Songbook (MP3 Download)
Wasn't sure if we would still like Cliff after over 50 years of listening. Particularly concerned after some of his recent rather syrupy and market lead stuff over the last decade or so. After listening to the samples on Amazon we decided to order and OMG what a complete transformation back to his best years. Crisp, clean, skillful, fun and really impossible not to sing along with - BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 'Old' Rocker, 12 Nov 2013
By 
G. Reader (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cliff doesn't seem to age his voice doesn't strain it's just matured.
I haven't recieved the CD yet but Amazon, once they have sent your purchase send you an MP3 download, so listened to it yesterday, yes I admit quite a few times and sung along with some of them.
There are many favorites on the disc sung with a passion that only Cliff can give the vocals and it feels as though he is back in his youth singing this collection, the musicians playing great guitar playing to ranchy sax make the playlist rock along to,
In all this is a 'songbook' of our 15 rock 'n' roll favourites sung by our own Cliff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliff Is Back!, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fabulous Rock 'n' Roll Songbook (MP3 Download)
I must be one of the 1st to download this on Amazon and can say this is really a very good and fun album. The album is full of songs you shall or not reconise but is all good as it sees Cliff back to his roots again singing rock n roll. To be fair his last 2 previous albums , a swing and motown album did not suit him , So it is great he has decided to record this. I have herd this is the 100th album to be released in the uk too and who better to have this with this and all of his achievements than him. This is a very well produced album and will please many listeners and goes very recommended and is very Rockin!
His best album since Reunited!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliff is back to his roots!, 11 Nov 2013
By 
V "moodswinger" (Tunbridge Wells, Kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great and fun album from Cliff Richard that marks his 100th album, while also giving a passing nod to when he started out 55 years ago in 1958. The suite of songs is chosen as a representative sample of those singers, composers and songs that inspired him to begin his career as a musician. The final track is an original song commissioned for the project (and co-written by the album's producer).

What Cliff brings to the party here is a fresh take on some very well-known and familiar songs. Cliff has an innate ability to understand harmony and rhythm and both of these facets are here. It could have been simply an album of covers that would have passed most people by, but this is a joyous and energetic make-over of the songs that has Cliff's stamp all over them.

There is not one song on the listing that made me think it was out of place and, if you like strong musicianship with a familiar edge, I strongly recommend you buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fabulous Rock N Roll Songbook, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for all Cliff fans - and there are plenty - Cliff has made classic rock songs his own you can tell he loves this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll IS Fabulous Again, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Chris White (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fabulous Rock 'n' Roll Songbook (MP3 Download)
Elvis inspired Cliff.
And Cliff is still inspiring me to enjoy music.
To Sing and dance to it.
This is a well put together and produced Rock and Roll LP.
Just put it on and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only one word for this ... "superb" !!!!!, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Ann (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is brilliant! Having been a fan of Cliff's for many years now I am well aware of the consummate showman he is (having seen him "Live" countless times) and he almost always features songs such as these on the album in his live shows, so I can only feel sorry for the folk who have never seen him 'live' so have missed out on his pure brilliance as a performer. So it's great that he has, at last, released an album not only going back to his roots, but to shut up all of his detractors who think he's only capable of singing 'Living Doll' and 'Congratulations' etc. This CD is so long overdue that it's not true but better late than never. GET IT, it's just so good and let's get him to No. 1 in the charts where he belongs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fabulous Rock 'N' Roll Songbook by Cliff Richard, 13 April 2014
By 
Barbara Alexander "Cliff Fan 50" (Hollywood, Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another must-have CD by Cliff Richard with evergreen songs to bring back happy memories of his latest great tour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking And A Rolling 50 Years On..., 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A rare thing here; a 28 year old male fan of Sir Cliff! BUT I don't play to social norms, and am happy to say I'm a fan of Cliff's music. I've got about 6 of his albums, a meer dusting of his 100 strong catalogue, but they include 'Cliff At The Movies' and 'My Kinda Life' which is my favourite.

Well, it WAS my favourite until this little gem was released.

Firstly, most of the 1 star reviews here can be dismissed as people who didn't understand what this album was all about. It's a covers album, and Cliff has been open about this. It's an album of his favourite rock and roll songs from the 50s that helped influence him into making music, and so he has re-visited them and given them his own take to honour and salute the decade he started in. That's it.

Anyone expecting new material will be disappointed, but even this material is new-ish, as Cliff makes the songs his own with a few new arrangements and melodies, but always staying faithful to the source material.

Every song sounds fresh, energetic and full of passion as Cliff obviously is having fun recording these, from the toe-tapping 'Rip It Up', through to the fantastic 'Stood Up', 'Dream Lover' and the iconic 'Johnny B Goode'.

This will please all lovers of the rock 'n roll era as well a Cliff followers. It's real music, real fun and a real bargain price. This album shows Cliff is still firing on all cylinders 50 years later from 'Move It', and long may we have more of this real musical genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliff, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for a Cliff Richard fan, well worth the money, and like the fact that there is a song download as well, so i have the songs too. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews