Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Hell(sinki)
The main problem with most conspicuously 'retro' bands is that they are so enamoured with the period details that accompany this stance - the right guitar pedal, the correct clothes and that much coveted faux-analogue sound - that all too often they forget to write - or are incapable of writing - any actual songs to accompany all the window-dressing.

Fear not,...
Published 15 months ago by Lloyd Hollingworth

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so it's totally like called beastmilk
wow,let's totally call our band breastmilk,but without the r ,so it's totally like called beastmilk...then let's pretend to be bob calvert era hawkwind and hope that nobody who listens to our record has ever heard quark,strangeness and charm or anything else for that matter and we might just get away with it and a big royalty cheque too..yay!
Published 6 months ago by S. HOSKISSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Hell(sinki), 29 Mar. 2014
By 
Lloyd Hollingworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Climax (Audio CD)
The main problem with most conspicuously 'retro' bands is that they are so enamoured with the period details that accompany this stance - the right guitar pedal, the correct clothes and that much coveted faux-analogue sound - that all too often they forget to write - or are incapable of writing - any actual songs to accompany all the window-dressing.

Fear not, because Beastmilk address this problem and then some. I'm struggling to recall another recent album that I've played so much all the way through - a big deal in this age of snap judgements based on a youtube clip - and for me this illustrates the great depth of song-craft that Beastmilk have at their disposal.

The varied musical background of the members - including time in industrial-tinged Black Metallers Dødheimsgard - means that the stumbling rhythms and naive musicianship heard on much early-80's post-punk are replaced by a driving & powerful framework onto which Beastmilk then craft their retro stylings.

Those not coming from a Goth or a Metal background might be put off by the self-consciously daft 'Cold War' lyrics and the moments of melodrama - I've spent a lifetime listening to Metal so I can handle all kinds of silliness - but dig beneath the surface a little, persevere only slightly - two listens & you'll be hooked - and you WILL be rewarded.

PS. Hope these guys are gonna be playing at The Barrel Organ in Digbeth soon, or if all goes well they could even be headlining at The Powerhouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Immense, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Climax (MP3 Download)
i'd heard the single on Radio 1's rock show and on the strength of that bought the album - its all brilliant - no disappointments whayt so ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars you are now under our control, 9 Feb. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Bangor, North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Climax (MP3 Download)
If you liked Joy Division, the Smiths, Killing Joke, you'll love this. It takes the late seventies, early eighties as a starting point for some killer tracks that, whilst they owe a lot to the past, have a distinctively modern twist. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars album of the year, 3 Dec. 2014
By 
Eva (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Climax [VINYL] (Vinyl)
agh! the album of the ****ing year!

arrived in record time (no pun intended) and packaged perfectly so arrived in one piece

good price too - not that it mattered - had to have it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finnish Goth Rock....what's not to like!?!?, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: Climax (Audio CD)
This is great. No flab album full of hook laden Goth Rock. It's as if Robert Smith had a lovechild with Jaz Coleman and it grew up with severe Daddy issues. Death, war and heartbreak are the order of the day. The apocalypse never sounded so damn good. Buy it, dim the lights and channel your inner troubled teenager!!! Seriously, late contender for my album of the year. Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full steam, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Climax (Audio CD)
What a cracking album....rollercoaster ride of brilliance....full throttle guitar and vocals ...no let up and not one bad song. cant wait for another album to arrive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The poor boys were delayed in getting to the festival and ..., 7 July 2014
By 
Robbie Red (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Climax (Audio CD)
Just got back from Sonisphere where I got my first experience of Beastmilk. The poor boys were delayed in getting to the festival and had their 3pm slot (in one of the smaller stage/tents) moved to 8pm which clashed with the start of Metallica. There was something about their flyer that intrigued me so I figured I'd give them a go. What a choice! Their 30 minutes was superb and although there was only about 50 of us witnessing them, think everyone blown away. I was brought up on the 80s music that clearly runs through their sound. On record, this is even more apparent (Sisters, Smiths, Killing Joke, early Echo & the B, early U2, even Simple Minds), but it's clearly also influenced by their late90s/noughties descendents (Interpol, Editors). 38 minutes of anthemic, post-punk rock has never sounded better! If you can, see them live, their sound is rawer and Kvohst's voice even stronger than here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so it's totally like called beastmilk, 24 Dec. 2014
By 
S. HOSKISSON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Climax (Audio CD)
wow,let's totally call our band breastmilk,but without the r ,so it's totally like called beastmilk...then let's pretend to be bob calvert era hawkwind and hope that nobody who listens to our record has ever heard quark,strangeness and charm or anything else for that matter and we might just get away with it and a big royalty cheque too..yay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Climax
Climax by Beastmilk (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews