Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disarming and Affectionate
Apparently it's been branded the German Brokeback Mountain for its obvious similarities, but I enjoyed this a lot more. I always thought BM was a film about homosexual men made for a heterosexual audience. I don't believe that's the case here.

It tells the rather tried and tested story of a man (Marc) realising he has feelings for another man (Kay) at a time...
Published 8 months ago by Philzee

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A moving,well acted movie.
This is a well acted and very moving story about a love affair between two male police cadets,and the result.Well worth watching.(in German,with English subtitles,which are very easy to follow.)
Published 4 months ago by John at Matlock,England.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disarming and Affectionate, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Philzee - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Apparently it's been branded the German Brokeback Mountain for its obvious similarities, but I enjoyed this a lot more. I always thought BM was a film about homosexual men made for a heterosexual audience. I don't believe that's the case here.

It tells the rather tried and tested story of a man (Marc) realising he has feelings for another man (Kay) at a time in his life that is ironically inopportune.

However, it's disarming and affectionate nature allows that it pulls off the whole "straight-guy-who-belatedly-realises-he's-not" with a fresh feel, assured script, and (always a winner) damn good acting.
It's entirely natural and therefore believable; you'll find no contrivance here, no clumsiness.
Indeed, a factor that sets this apart from similar films I've seen is the confident way it displays affection. Once you get past the initial and (a tad unnecessarily) awkward encounters there is a wonderful intimacy conveyed between the pair that isn't obscured by excessive shadow or so brief it would be missed in a blink. This lingering is wonderful and I hope emulation will follow!

I would have enjoyed a few more conversations between Marc & Kay in order to voice the progress of their relationship, particularly Marc's. There's only really the one in-depth discussion and it is so well done - full of subtleties, frustration and affection - that it made me feel the loss of similar scenes all the more.

This is an accomplished, confident film that is sure to please the most discerning viewer. It explores the ultimate perils of suppression and the fools it will not suffer, as well as the prejudices people harbour and the damage they can do.
The ending is a tad ambiguous but thankfully not as tragic as the film leads you to believe. However, it is likely the most realistic there could have been, and leaves a wealth of possible outcomes to ponder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Drama, 3 May 2014
By 
Mark Audie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
A real touching film of confused feelings that dwell deep inside of our main character. Acting is very good and the mood of the film is deep and dark. Both guys play their parts excellent, and you are left undecided on which path they should choose. He has so much going for him, yet the uncontrollable feelings for the other guy are so much stronger at times, he is left frustrated and so confused. It is a great film that has you engrossed the whole way through. Hanno Kofler is great to watch, from Summer Storm, where his character is so eye catching, to this lead role, he is really growing from strength to strength. Watch it, well word the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars German tale of forbidden love – with coppers!, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Released in Germany as `Freir Fall' this has been compared to `Brokeback Mountain', but apart from it being about a man who is gay in a heterosexual relationship, I can't really see any other similarities. We meet Marc who is a cop and he has a pregnant girlfriend and what appears to be a life plan. Then at the academy he meets Kay who is more free whelin' than him and after getting off on the wrong foot they slowly hit it off.

Now despite the police or polizei being all inclusive these days there is still a vast undercurrent of homophobia and this is shown and there is some violence. Soon Marc realises what he wants and moreover who he wants but societal pressures and the arrival of his new baby son are all contributing to make him want to hurt the one he really loves.

This is a rather good film the two male leads are always guaranteed to put in a solid performance. Marc is played by Hanno Kofler - `Krabat' and the excellent `Summer Storm'. Kay is played by Max Riemelt - `Napola' and `The Fourth State'. The sub titles are good to ok as they are not always a literal translation which I know some prefer but I like it told straight. This is a film that will not tick all the boxes, the ending especially may fail to deliver for some viewers; there is a limited amount of scenes of a sexual nature but nothing to frighten the horses of even a randy pony to be honest. However, this is still a very strong film with some excellent performances indeed - recommended to fans of gay themed cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as have seen both Hanno Koffler and Max Riemelt in other German films and enjoyed their performances.

This film is a stunning piece of cinema, it's heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. I highly recommend it and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth seeing., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best gay films iv seen in a long time.
Very powerful and realistic.
This is one film to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blue is the hottest colour, 29 Jan 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Gay films can be a bit hit or miss but this is the latest in a run of outstanding releases over the last few months, including Monster Pies, Let My People Go!, and Les Invisibles. It's one of those films you look forward to seeing as much the second time as the first, leaving you with a sense of emotion you want to re-enter. The tone is fairly serious, although the relationship between the two police cadets does have an element of ribbing. The plot outline sounds like an identikit drama but it is much more engrossing than this would imply. Hanno Koffler (Marc) is a familiar face from the excellent comedy Summer Storm, where he played a super-confident gay rower; here he is much less sure of himself, as an all but married man, about to be a father, but suddenly taken over by gay desires for a fellow recruit. The latter, called Kay, turns out to be something of a free thinker and rebel, despite his chosen profession, initiating Marc into smoking spliffs. One of these, blown from the mouth of one to the other, leads to the first lip-to-lip contact: a thrilling moment which initially makes Marc jump back when he senses what is really happening. But his instincts soon take over when Kay presses his attentions further in a couple of fairly breathtaking sequences, it has to be said. Some of the scenes do get a real intensity between the actors, which are often fairly short. There is an electric charge that Koffler (in particular) and Max Riemelt are well able to convey, while Katharina Schuttler does well with a less rewarding role as the girlfriend, Bettina. Only Marc really comes across in three dimensions, though (actual 3D could have enhanced it in certain ways - see below!).

Parallels with Brokeback Mountain are there - Bettina even looks a little like Anne Hathaway - but as another reviewer has said this film feels "gayer". Where the visuals tended to the pictorial in Ang Lee's film, here the look is much darker with stark contrast between light and shade, and more up-close; the interiors themselves are a little bland. The camera is not very focused on the setting, you feel, but rather on creating mood and emotion, as it prowls after Marc and looms over his shoulder as if it might lick his ear, and you notice his solidity and the marvellous boyish shape of his head. The intimacy between the men is more explicit and joyous, and there is more nudity. In BM you felt Ang Lee was worried he might put off the straight audience, but you don't get the feeling the director Stephan Lacant is unduly concerned with that. In fact Lee's film, with hindsight, seems a little dull in its plodding through the respective family sagas, in a way that this one largely avoids through its sexual exuberance. Koffler does manage to get a lot of intensity and confusion into the role, and I only regret one of the scenes showing his beautiful rear end as he pulls on his pale blue underwear in the showers at the gym got deleted. (A scene with him pushing a lawnmower almost makes up for this, shot from this height.) Fortunately this Peccadillo release allows you to view it - and a number of other out-takes - as an extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The German Brokeback Mountain, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Beautifully shot, and heartbreaking... Sexy actors, telling a sad story ... I can only suggest it to anyone grown up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie! The Germans certainly know how to make ..., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie! The Germans certainly know how to make great Queer Cinema. Has been called "the German Brokeback Mountain" but it's far superior to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good actors and quality storyline, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Glad I bought this DVD. One of the best gay film I've ever seen at least. The storyline was superb! Excellent actors and actresses. I would fully recommend this. There were moments I was shouting to the main actor "Say it and confess rather than hurt someone". It was an intense and free fall in the end. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story of self discovery, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Fall [DVD] (DVD)
This is more a story of self discovery rather than a love story. Indeed at the end the viewer is left to wonder what happens next. It underlines yet again that despite the advances made in western Europe in terms of gay awareness, men who are attracted to other men can still drift into heterosexual relationships which are not only damaging to themselves but also the women involved. Moreover, there are still many professional activities where the male stereotypical image dominates behaviour and attitudes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Free Fall [DVD]
Free Fall [DVD] by Stephan Lacant (DVD - 2014)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews