Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars27
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2011
A superb and classic comedy made so much better by re-mastering to blu-ray. The picture is excellent- not reference or as good as,say,Zulu but of avery high order. You will see detail never before seen (and I go as far back as the original VHS release) on the DVD. Excellent transfer.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
I can't believe the incredibly low price of this classic on Blu-ray. The film's never looked or sounded better. And it's REGION FREE.

This is the same as the DOUBLE SECRET PROBATION EDITION. The extras are in Standard Definition only, but that's not a problem as they look fine. There's still no commentary unfortunately.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
THAT SENSE OF BEING THERE AND SHARING THE SAME FUN
Still irresistible, smart, funny after so many years, this is definitely one of the best comedies ever made and the best college comedy ever.
What makes it so enjoyable is that it immediately conveys a sense of amused and foolish camaraderie, through a fantastic cast, memorable lines and buddy scenes, and an overall atmosphere of oppression, given by the autumn setting (which apparently clashes with the carefree and liberating spirit of the film and its characters) and a perfect portrait of the midtown college life.
A film to be watched along with 1941, sharing some actors and a similar liberating and deconstructing approach to American way of life.
NOT JUST A FUNNY COMEDY
Comedy here is not just funny, but is even funnier when the gags and the lines make fun of american way-of-life, patriotic rhetoric as well as mainstream hollywood clichè (see the final act, including the notes saying what will happen to the characters).
Definitely Landis masterpiece (maybe even more than Blues Brothers, Trading PLaces and American Werewolf) and one every young generation can identify with, although I believe not everyone will appreciate and catch every single comical detail, and the fact that, all in all, the humor is not so fast-paced: unlike nowadays comedies, it takes sometimes a whole scene or more than one to really build up and let the irony explode, or get even more hilarious (see the surreal portrait of professor Sutherland, see the evil Mayor, the night accident with the horse, the easy going mood inside the house and during the party, or the flirt with the mayor's wife, as well as all the final part, made of little gags that make just one big comical scene).
BLU RAY:
not an irresistible HD transfer, but quite rich of extra, interview, and an original "re-union" documentary where actors still play their characters, just to reveal what happened to each of them
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
The best exploration of Watergate by an american director? Meryl Streep not singing? Uh - no.

Karen Allen pre Indiana Jones in Time warp shenanigans? John Belushi acting? May be.
No Synopsis - just watch the disintegration of America- hilarity still on the double secret probation agenda.
John Landis' best pure comedy.

A++
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
A Classic Film from National Lampoon
This one of there first films and is full of one liners, stupid college gags and nudity.
Characters are brilliant its fun to watch.
Set in a college, its about 2 FRAT houses and the bantering going on between the 2 houses. Same old story but with lots of fun and laughs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
Animal House has to be one of the funniest movies to be released, ever! The comedy in this film is incredible. It is loud, Bold and doesn't hold back. The Blu ray transfer is incredible. The picture is clear and makes for very pleasant viewing. 2 words, BUY IT!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
The iconic frat house movie, this is an epic that will never stop making me laugh. The cast is brilliant and really catches the essential aspects of college life and teacher-student rivalries, pranks, fraternity bonds and lasting friendships. The characters are very well made and you can't help but feeling for each and every one of them, rooting for them to win in their scheme to defeat their rival fraternity house composed of the evil and annoying characters in the film.

I have to admit that every time I watch the film I end up with Shout and Louie, Louie stuck in my mind, and I hum them nonstop. What an amazing soundtrack the film has too!

This Blu-Ray version of it worked very well with my player and the quality of John Landis' film is maintained.

A classic to watch time and time again! I recommend it fully!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Classic comedy that spawned many variations and genre. Probably more suited to the boys than the girls but there are lots of laughs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
seen this film hundreds of times over the years, my girlfriend hadn't so on a whim we streamed it and laughed our asses off !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Very funny film even after all these years. I remember sneaking into the pictures when it first came out in the seventies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)