Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.31
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

As a reader I'm always a fan of the "Spirit of Man" when it comes through in books. With individuals who refuse to be broken, who stand tall for what they believe in and continue trudging forward regardless of the adversity that they face, so I was more than interested in this book by Libby McGugan which promised all this and more.

What she brings to the table brings all the best elements of Urban Fantasy with a cracking Science background to the table and allows the readers to ask questions as the story reveals itself over the pages. Add to this some wonderful turns of phrase and a lead character that not only questions his own sanity (along with the reader) really allows you to get to the heart of thing as Libby's wondorous prose really does take you on a journey. A great way to spend some quality time with a debut that's announcing a cracking talent. Magical.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Yes, buy this book now. Then you will be able to say that you were reading this before every one else found out about it, when it was just appearing in a niche market. There is a good chance it will be a movie. It will then be repackaged and appear on the shelves in Tesco. It will loose the Science Fiction label then as well. It is very different, but what is it? In my view it is a superhero origin story, but that's just my view. Make your own mind up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this thriller from the very first page....... and, in my opinion, it is definitely a THRILLER rather than a Science-fiction novel.
Fast-paced and gripping from the start with characters which you really want to learn more about - what their background is and where they are heading to. Super plot, with the main character operating as a double agent in CERN.
Couldn't put the book down. There has to be more to come and cannot wait for the next installment!
Would love to see it on the big screen too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Now I know people always say "I was hooked from the first page and I literally couldn't put it down!" in most reviews, but I'm not gonna do that. Because I *did* put it down, as I require two hands to eat steak and need sleep like a normal person. However, I did very much enjoy this book. It makes a nice change for a debut (like this one) to be as well written as this. It's almost as if the author is a veteran who's been writing for years, and this just flowed greatly. Awesome characters, great plot, lovely twists, and most of all, excellent time and research put into it! Made me feel like I was actually there. Can't wait for the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
"You're asking me to sabotage one of the greatest experiments in scientific history?" asks The Eidolon's narrator, theoretical physicist Robert Strong, before he makes his key Faustian pact with Victor Amos, the leader of the highly secretive Observation Research Board - self-appointed global `guardians' of cutting-edge scientific research, with a mission to protect humanity from the worst excesses of its own curiosity.

Newly-unemployed, newly single - oh, and also apparently seeing dead people - Strong is asked to help sabotage the latest experiments about to start at CERN using the Large Hadron Collider, which ORB are convinced will destroy the world. It's a belief which, strangely enough, echoes a vision of impending destruction that Strong himself had while trying to 'find himself' in Tibet.

This is an intriguing, opportune `day after tomorrow' thriller, that gets away with its James Bondian secret bases and conspiracies by scrupulously grounding itself not just in its characters' lives and relationships but also in modern particle physics. On occasion, debut novelist Libby McGugan's first-person narrative can be a tad guilty of info-dumping, but on the whole this is an absolutely fascinating, thought-provoking and thoroughly engrossing read which, while in no hurry to shock, holds your attention right to the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
This book starts off promising, but then ends up being all spiritual and throws any basis in fact or science out the window. The synopsis reads like "24" meets Professor Brian Cox, but in reality it's more like "Quincy M.E." meets Russell Grant! If you like stories about sprits, crystals, auras, and stuff like that, then you might be OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I read most of this in one sitting! I loved the melding of real and fantasy science - it was all very credible. The characters are deftly painted, without too much detail. I can't wait to read more from this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Although not a fan of Sci fi I heard about this book and read it whilst on holiday. Could not put it down. Characthers came to life. Its hard to believe that this is the writers first book. Totally Gripped me more of a thriller, cannot wait for a follow up. Will certainly be following Libby's career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Fine writing, believable characterization and rock solid physics. Slightly let down for me by the cliched nature and abilities of the ghosts. That said, still a really enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great holiday read. Carefully mastered plot and fascinating characters. Amazing achievement for a first novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.