Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine read from Leigh Russell.
Yet again, another great mystery and murder book from Leigh Russell. Twists and turns at every page. I didn't guess whodunit in this one so I sort of enjoyed it more. Keep 'em coming!
Published 17 months ago by Miss Marie McGee

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old, same old
I've enjoyed Leigh Russell's books but it's about time the format was changed, this most recent one is a step too far. All the stories are basically the same - so by now surely even the dozy Ms Steel should realise she is going to end up in danger having failed to see the baddie staring her in the face, not to mention disregarding common sense and police procedures and...
Published 18 months ago by Mrs. E. Widdowson


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine read from Leigh Russell., 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Act (A DI Geraldine Steel Mystery Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Yet again, another great mystery and murder book from Leigh Russell. Twists and turns at every page. I didn't guess whodunit in this one so I sort of enjoyed it more. Keep 'em coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Thriller, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
atticusfinch1048 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Fatal Act – Excellent thriller

Fatal Act by Leigh Russell is the sixth outing for Detective Inspector Geraldine Steel but my first time reading of anything by Russell. I can say I really enjoyed reading the story, the plot is strong and the writing just flows with style and panache. One of the advantages of Fatal Act is for a thriller it could be looked at as a short story with just 320 pages so there is no overblown descriptions and the story is kept moving.

DI Geraldine Steel and her Sergeant Sam Haley are called out to a fatal road crash both wondering why traffic are not investigating. A Porsche has been completely totalled when it hit a black transit van on a one way street. The Porsche drive is in the car but there is no sign of the van driver, the driver seems to have disappeared in to thin air.

They find that the person killed is an up and coming actress in a TV series, and that the van that killed her is owned by her boyfriend, director and casting director Piers Trevelyan. Trevelyan becomes the obvious suspect and so that is how the investigation starts and everything points towards his guilt. When another starlet is murdered on a bridge once again associated with Trevelyan he is looking as guilty as hell. With both investigations the CCTV shows a tall woman who just seems to disappear, vanishes in to thin air. It is when Zac, Trevelyan’s son is murdered that the question is asked who actually wants to see Trevelyan punished for something.

As the investigation gets longer the list of suspects does not really expand from one, but not being able to see what is already in front of her will put her sergeant in the way of trouble and could cost them both their lives. The clues are there will you see them before DI Steel? Well you will have to read Fatal Act to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FAST PACED READ, 31 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Fatal Act (A DI Geraldine Steel Mystery Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
A young actress has died in a car crash but there appears to be no sign of the other driver. Then another actress dies and the police realize they have a murderer to find who leaves no traces.
The story is set around Geraldine Steel and her sergeant Sam Haley. Haley is junior and the reader is told this on lots of occasions, but she has a good relationship with Geraldine.
I have enjoyed all of the Geraldine Steel series, this is the sixth case and this did not disappoint. There were lots of twists and turns – it took me to the end to discover who the killer was.
This kept me gripped until the final page. The series just gets better and better.

Even if the reader has not read any of the other books in the series, they can follow the characters.

Leigh Russell writes well and her short paragraphs keep this story going at a quick pace. This would make a great holiday read to devour in one go on your sunbed.

I am looking forward to the next book in the series already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Act (A DI Geraldine Steel Mystery Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
As always another page turner from the very talented Leigh Russell, well done on another great story Leigh, must tell Geraldine as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Above Average Thriller, 6 July 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Colbert (Blackburn, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Fatal Act is the sixth book in the Detective Inspector Geraldine Steel series and the third Leigh Russell book I've read ...... and I think this is the best of them.

When a TV soap star is killed in a car crash it seems like an accident at first but it then becomes clear that she was murdered. Her older lover is the main suspect, especially when another young actress who was known to him is also murdered.

For Geraldine work gave her life meaning and purpose and she has to juggle her personal life with her professional life to uncover how the killer managed to disappear from the crime scenes like the invisible man (or woman).

The storyline was well paced without being too exciting, it had a steady feel to it, a page turner nearing the end, strong characters and a good mystery all add up to an above average thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old, same old, 30 Dec. 2013
By 
Mrs. E. Widdowson (Hertfordshire, England, GBR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Act (A DI Geraldine Steel Mystery Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I've enjoyed Leigh Russell's books but it's about time the format was changed, this most recent one is a step too far. All the stories are basically the same - so by now surely even the dozy Ms Steel should realise she is going to end up in danger having failed to see the baddie staring her in the face, not to mention disregarding common sense and police procedures and going to places alone and without back-up. Yet still she is saved in the nick of time. Yawn. Please change the record - I like the characters but a new plot would be a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Act (A DI Geraldine Steel Mystery Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent holiday read, highly recommended. the latest book in the geraldine Steel series of novels and still going strong, looking forward to the next release..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable could not put it down, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Act (A DI Geraldine Steel Mystery Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book as it was not too heavy or gruesome but got the story across very well one of Leigh Russell's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 3 April 2014
By 
Mrs. G. Worth "welshmaiden" (Mid Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatal Act (A DI Geraldine Steel Mystery Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
First book I've read from Leigh Russell and I enjoyed it! An easy read with Geraldine Steel the main detective investigating a mysterious murder. As the story progresses the characters develop,with more murders along the way. I would read more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Act (A DI Geraldine Steel Mystery Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Brlillant read. Loved it very good did not put it down once I started reading it. Would recommend to read. !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews