Customer Reviews


1,334 Reviews
5 star:
 (961)
4 star:
 (283)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very scary
Brilliant, I was totally wrapped up in this book,to such an extent that whilst reading it, my mobile phone rang and I almost jumped out of my skin. It's a good thing that I was reading in bed because my Kindle went flying up in the air as I screamed. No harm done as the Kindle landed on the bed.This is a very tense story which I really enjoyed, didn't want to put it down...
Published 10 months ago by Mrs. Margaret L. Fletcher

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like it.
I normally have a rule that I don't write a review unless I've read at least 100 pages as I feel it might be unfair to criticise without giving it a good go. I have made an exception with this book and am writing this review after lasting for only 70 pages. I just do not understand the large number of good reviews on here. I really wanted to like this. All authors...
Published 2 months ago by Carmen


‹ Previous | 1 2134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very scary, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, I was totally wrapped up in this book,to such an extent that whilst reading it, my mobile phone rang and I almost jumped out of my skin. It's a good thing that I was reading in bed because my Kindle went flying up in the air as I screamed. No harm done as the Kindle landed on the bed.This is a very tense story which I really enjoyed, didn't want to put it down. Excellent !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Jen (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Thrillers are my favourite genre, and this was one of the best I've read. Fast but not too fast, gripping, just the right amount of characters, just the right amount of tension - a proper ' race against time to catch a psychopath' tale, and I can't wait till the next in the series comes out - for a introduction to a new character , this was just great. Read it in three days, says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I normally read true crime _ this book has converted me back to reading fiction _ what a great film this would make. I defy anyone not to love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this book in two days unable to put down. Gripping,intelligent,fast paced read..is Jefferson Winter the new Jack Reacher perhaps.?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like it., 9 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I normally have a rule that I don't write a review unless I've read at least 100 pages as I feel it might be unfair to criticise without giving it a good go. I have made an exception with this book and am writing this review after lasting for only 70 pages. I just do not understand the large number of good reviews on here. I really wanted to like this. All authors seem to give their cops/profilers/FBI agents an edgy past and this was a great one - son of a serial killer sent to the electric chair. But that was all that was good about it. I'm sorry, but Jefferson Winter walking around the streets leading away from a crime scene and deciding where the perpetrator had parked his car due to 'a feeling' was just too annoying. And by page 70 I knew that Templeton was wearing tight jeans, was blond and was hot.....I knew it.....I got it........shut up about it. Don't know about Broken Dolls....more like Broken Record. Won't bother with this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT...LOVED IT!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book just flows seamlessly and keeps you hooked. I've found another hero in Jefferson Winter...Alex Cross and Jack Reacher would love to be his friend :)... bring on the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Too unbelievable, almost a science fiction plot - and how the "profiler" came to some of his (obvious) conclusions was totallly unreal! on this effort, I wouldnt recommend this author, or indeed read any more by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good character - doesn't do England well, 3 May 2014
By 
Stuart (Haverfordwest, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The character of Jefferson Winter has potential - I like his cynicism but the setting for this one was England and there were a couple of howlers. No suspect would have been interrogated the way he describes without a solicitor present and then there's the whole gun thing, but then the author is a yank so what do you expect. I'll maybe pick another Jefferson Winter story up and see how it goes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this mainly on the strength of the high number of favourable reviews, after I'd read the promising-to-be-a-bit-different beginning. The rest of the book proved to be a huge let down. Great swathes of tedious narrative take the plot nowhere and tempt the reader to give up and do something worthwhile - and the slightly ridiculous characterisation of Jefferson Winter does the protagonist no favours. Whilst the author has plainly done some research into serial killers, he has not done enough. Ditto profilers, FBI or otherwise. Carol would also do well to remember that sometimes the suggestion of what horrors are to come can be far more effective than a blow by blow (and at times very boring) account of gory procedure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Paper thin characters, 'torture porn' passed off as horror, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this to read on holiday - based on all the good reviews on here.

I was horribly disappointed. I can only conclude that it is #1 on this list (when I bought it) due to the low price.

Quick list of what I didn't like:

>Characters are all stereotypes.
>Plot feels like SAW script reject - and doesn't make any sense.
>There is no horror or suspense. (lots of 'torture porn' pretending to be horror)
>Main character is not particularly likeable - and his pseudo Sherlock Holmes like deductive abilities are so illogical in their construction that they're almost comical. He reads like a Robert Langdon meets Sherlock Holmes wannabe.
>Glamourises alcohol and smoking - totally unnecessary - is this book sponsored by Joe Camel and Glen Whiskey?

Summary:
Basically reads like a bad SAW film - if you enjoy SAW type torture porn, you might get a kick out of it.

If you like atmospheric horror or true suspense generated by a solid plot structure and characters then give this a skip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews