Customer Reviews


1,197 Reviews
5 star:
 (874)
4 star:
 (249)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very scary
Brilliant, I was totally wrapped up in this book,to such an extent that whilst reading it, my mobile phone rang and I almost jumped out of my skin. It's a good thing that I was reading in bed because my Kindle went flying up in the air as I screamed. No harm done as the Kindle landed on the bed.This is a very tense story which I really enjoyed, didn't want to put it down...
Published 6 months ago by Mrs. Margaret L. Fletcher

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good character - doesn't do England well
The character of Jefferson Winter has potential - I like his cynicism but the setting for this one was England and there were a couple of howlers. No suspect would have been interrogated the way he describes without a solicitor present and then there's the whole gun thing, but then the author is a yank so what do you expect. I'll maybe pick another Jefferson Winter...
Published 4 months ago by Stuart


‹ Previous | 1 2120 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very scary, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (A Jefferson Winter Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, I was totally wrapped up in this book,to such an extent that whilst reading it, my mobile phone rang and I almost jumped out of my skin. It's a good thing that I was reading in bed because my Kindle went flying up in the air as I screamed. No harm done as the Kindle landed on the bed.This is a very tense story which I really enjoyed, didn't want to put it down. Excellent !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Broken Dolls (A Jefferson Winter Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
I normally read true crime _ this book has converted me back to reading fiction _ what a great film this would make. I defy anyone not to love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Jen (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (A Jefferson Winter Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Thrillers are my favourite genre, and this was one of the best I've read. Fast but not too fast, gripping, just the right amount of characters, just the right amount of tension - a proper ' race against time to catch a psychopath' tale, and I can't wait till the next in the series comes out - for a introduction to a new character , this was just great. Read it in three days, says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this book in two days unable to put down. Gripping,intelligent,fast paced read..is Jefferson Winter the new Jack Reacher perhaps.?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good character - doesn't do England well, 3 May 2014
By 
Stuart (Haverfordwest, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (A Jefferson Winter Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
The character of Jefferson Winter has potential - I like his cynicism but the setting for this one was England and there were a couple of howlers. No suspect would have been interrogated the way he describes without a solicitor present and then there's the whole gun thing, but then the author is a yank so what do you expect. I'll maybe pick another Jefferson Winter story up and see how it goes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT...LOVED IT!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (A Jefferson Winter Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
This book just flows seamlessly and keeps you hooked. I've found another hero in Jefferson Winter...Alex Cross and Jack Reacher would love to be his friend :)... bring on the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irritatingly trashy, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (A Jefferson Winter Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
The main protagonist, profiler Winter, is so two-dimensional that it is simply laughable. Especially his comments about women are so unbelievably mysogynistically cliché that his psychological expertise is very hard to believe. The fact that the whole novel is so extremely misogynistic (mind you, every woman appearing in the plot, including Sophie Templeton, the cop, becomes a helpless victim subjected to cruel torture) makes it just tasteless. I don't think James Carol should attempt at writing another book. Personally, I will definitely not attempt to read anything else committed by him anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (A Jefferson Winter Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Too unbelievable, almost a science fiction plot - and how the "profiler" came to some of his (obvious) conclusions was totallly unreal! on this effort, I wouldnt recommend this author, or indeed read any more by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychological Crime Thriller, 26 Jan 2014
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (A Jefferson Winter Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Jefferson Winter spent eleven years with the FBI, the last three as chief profiler. A rising star with an unorthodox approach to solving cases that upset his superiors, he left to do freelance consultancy work on a global basis, helping law enforcement agencies with serial killer investigations. Ironic, since his father had been a serial killer of 15 young women over a twelve year period. He was apprehended when Winter was 11 years old. At his execution, his father mouthed three words to him before he died, 'We're the same'. He knew then that he could not work within the constraints of the FBI.

Next move is to London where DI Mark Hatcher has four women, all tortured for months and then lobotomised into a vegetable state. Hatcher was getting nowhere. The latest abduction was Rachel Morris. Winter had a crystal ball approach to profiling, whether due to his training and experience or a gift. He would shut his eyes and accurately depict the circumstances of the abductions and the horrors they endured, even to the type of psychopath they were dealing with and the conditions they were kept in. Working with Hatcher and the beautiful DS Sophie Templeton, Winter applies his detective and profiler skills to investigate every clue or lead, even longshots, to trace the perpetrator of these horrific crimes.
The graphic descriptions of the gruesome torture the captors are subjected to are disturbing. Events take a few twists that drive Winter speedily to resolve the horrific events. Ingenious detective work, logic, intuition, aided by computer experts and Rachel's dodgy, wealthy father, lead to the possible location of the crimes.

James Carol has invented an attractive subject in Jefferson Winter. A dynamic detective and profiler with an intellect that can read into the most difficult criminal scenes, yet with an appreciation of luxury, whether a hotel suite, a malt whisky or a beautiful woman. Exceptionally well-written, researched and a page-turner. Winter is almost superhuman in his intuitive profiling but this fits into an intriguing novel that leaves the reader wanting more, as is promised. Excellent and entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Started well..., 24 April 2014
By 
DarkAngel 1892 (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (A Jefferson Winter Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Was excited by the first few pages as showed quite a lot of promise. Predictable and contrived by about 10% into book with an extremely smug protagonist. Gave up not long after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2120 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews