Customer Reviews


1,465 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,048)
4 star:
 (306)
3 star:
 (71)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very scary
Brilliant, I was totally wrapped up in this book,to such an extent that whilst reading it, my mobile phone rang and I almost jumped out of my skin. It's a good thing that I was reading in bed because my Kindle went flying up in the air as I screamed. No harm done as the Kindle landed on the bed.This is a very tense story which I really enjoyed, didn't want to put it down...
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. Margaret L. Fletcher

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great review from Stephen Fry - did wonder why as ...
Not well-written at all, heavy-going and very predictable. Wouldn't read anything by this author again. Great review from Stephen Fry - did wonder why as Fry doesn't often seem to review books - but then found out that he has a production company and they're planning to produce this for TV. So, a rather misleading review as there was obviously a vested interest in...
Published 10 months ago by Miss Avidreader


‹ Previous | 1 2147 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very scary, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, I was totally wrapped up in this book,to such an extent that whilst reading it, my mobile phone rang and I almost jumped out of my skin. It's a good thing that I was reading in bed because my Kindle went flying up in the air as I screamed. No harm done as the Kindle landed on the bed.This is a very tense story which I really enjoyed, didn't want to put it down. Excellent !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
Jen (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Thrillers are my favourite genre, and this was one of the best I've read. Fast but not too fast, gripping, just the right amount of characters, just the right amount of tension - a proper ' race against time to catch a psychopath' tale, and I can't wait till the next in the series comes out - for a introduction to a new character , this was just great. Read it in three days, says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great review from Stephen Fry - did wonder why as ..., 12 July 2014
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Not well-written at all, heavy-going and very predictable. Wouldn't read anything by this author again. Great review from Stephen Fry - did wonder why as Fry doesn't often seem to review books - but then found out that he has a production company and they're planning to produce this for TV. So, a rather misleading review as there was obviously a vested interest in promoting this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another "meh" crime thriller that offers nothing new in any way, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Not much point in writing at length when there have already been 1,359 reviews of this book!

Quick summary : Former FBI profiler Jefferson Winter is temporarily recruited by Scotland Yard to help them find the person/people responsible for a series of abductions of women. Four have been released with permanent brain damage and a fifth has just gone missing.

James Carol, the author, was born in Scotland and lives in England. I mention this because the leading character in the novel is American but almost everything about him seems British. His language and verbal mannerisms very rarely give the reader the impression that this is an American in London; there's the (very) occasional use of such words as 'candy' or 'cellphone' but these may actually be the only two in the tale. Non-American crime writers such as R J Ellory, Lee Child and John Connolly have consistently done a far better job of convincing readers that their lead characters are from the USA.

As for Broken Dolls, I am astonished and actually saddened that 1,266 people have said that they either love it or like it. It's not BAD, but it's so ordinary in every way that I can only wonder why people are so easily satisfied these days. The main man Jefferson Winter is utterly forgettable, and nothing he does lives up to the hype on the back cover that implies his IQ is not far off that of Da Vinci (which was over 200 apparently). His background suggests readers should expect an interesting and conflicted personality (his father having been a serial killer), but there's really nothing to either like or dislike. He's just a completely unremarkable person who I would have thought most readers will find difficult to engage with. And he's the only character worthy of a mention really; his sidekicks DI Mark Hatcher and DS Sophie Templeton are little more than cardboard cut-outs whose every word is built around Winter's supposedly overpowering personality - they make Scotland Yard look like a bunch of amateurs. The bad guy is ill-defined and a mish-mash of at least a dozen psychopaths from film and fiction over the past fifty years, indeed I was thinking of the film Psycho at least 100 pages before the author had the good grace to mention it himself.

Do not be mis-led by the huge number of positive votes. This is not a very good story at all, the characters are plain vanilla and the writing style has no style at all. I have another book by the same author - "Watch Me" - and I have a feeling this will be collecting dust on my 'to-be-read' shelf for a good while yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 16 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I normally read true crime _ this book has converted me back to reading fiction _ what a great film this would make. I defy anyone not to love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brutal thriller, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is detective fiction served with a liberal helping of torture porn. You either like this or you don't. It moves along at a good pace and the characters are interesting, if far-fetched (the Barbie-lookalike female cop is straight out of a video game). Generally, I think this book might appeal more to guys than gals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT...LOVED IT!, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book just flows seamlessly and keeps you hooked. I've found another hero in Jefferson Winter...Alex Cross and Jack Reacher would love to be his friend :)... bring on the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read., 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this book in two days unable to put down. Gripping,intelligent,fast paced read..is Jefferson Winter the new Jack Reacher perhaps.?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
How do these books get published? Slow, dull, ponderous and badly written, this is one to avoid. The lead character is irritating and unlike able. He's supposed to be a genius but in fact is dumb as a stump, with 'insights' that are vapid and obvious. Put it this way: Michael Connolly won't be losing any sleep over this guy. Couldn't force myself even to the halfway mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, 26 May 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book by James Carol, an author previously never encountered, came with no prior conceptions about its author or the quality of his writing. It was also, I had since discovered, on a relative's 'Must Buy' list.

Reading this book came with a major surprise; it is quality writing.

The broad story is that its hero, Jefferson Winter, is the son of a US serial killer but also ex-FBI and now a freelance investigator working worldwide. He is in the unique position of being able to call upon his knowledge of his father's activities to relate to other cases. In this instance, the case is in London and involves a psychopath who has began a series of killings of women.

The book is so well written that it should make some more established authors in this genre re-examine their own efforts. I would hope that other books by James Carol will follow and that the quality is maintained. Should the author succeed, he could join James Patterson, Henning Mankell et al as one of the top-selling authors of today.

The book is throughly enjoyable, easy to read and one that you will not want to put down. If travelling by public transport while reading it, you may well miss a stop or two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2147 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews