Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for mistakes!
I am enjoying the style of this book and its use of explanations plus worked examples but as with all text books on engineering watch out for mistakes. On location 634 at 38% there are numbers which are wrong viz: 24 x 6 =114, instead of 144. This mistake carries on to the next part of the example so is unlikely to be a typo. But overall it is good in my opinion, though...
Published 7 months ago by M. J. Smitten

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as far as it goes
Probably aimed at those who don't come into much contact with maths,which is fair enough. A further book might want to dig a bit deeper to show what maths can do, possibly explaining why , for example, you cannot really eliminate risk from trading, an illusion which helped land the world's economy in the present mess!
Published 7 months ago by Book worm UK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for mistakes!, 3 Jan 2014
By 
M. J. Smitten (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
I am enjoying the style of this book and its use of explanations plus worked examples but as with all text books on engineering watch out for mistakes. On location 634 at 38% there are numbers which are wrong viz: 24 x 6 =114, instead of 144. This mistake carries on to the next part of the example so is unlikely to be a typo. But overall it is good in my opinion, though not 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as far as it goes, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
Probably aimed at those who don't come into much contact with maths,which is fair enough. A further book might want to dig a bit deeper to show what maths can do, possibly explaining why , for example, you cannot really eliminate risk from trading, an illusion which helped land the world's economy in the present mess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
great help for a gray need a little help with one or two but now under stand mr Cox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Formulas Explained, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
I chose the title because of interest in mathematics and physics. The author has provided a well written treatment of an interesting range of subject matter. The explanations are clear as is the mathematics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says it is, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
This is indeed a compilation of great formula's, I myself being an economist find his selection for economics a bit odd but I enjoyed the physics bit of it, It took me back to high school. I'm uncertain who I would recommend this to, I would guess, one of the disciplines in the title, because it helps put into context what your discipline has that differs from the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A keeper!, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
I'm slow at maths, I will keep this book as a reference, it is very helpful. I wanted it because I'm interested in quantum physics and astronomy, and there are formulas in here that explains how things are calculated in the science world. There are also some interesting snippets of facts, to boot. Maths is boring, but I really liked this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great socialisation of these equations, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
It is definitely an interesting read and gives accessible examples that show how maths/physics can be applied to real world problems. It is a bit disappointing that along side the 'written' equations is does not provide the standard mathematical notation as this is a missed opportunity to develop the reader's appreciation of mathematical notation without the fear that they won't understand. It would also not frustrate the more literate reader quite so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, slightly flawed implementation, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
Very good idea to involve people more in maths/physics/engineering by demonstrating the power of even relatively simple equations but I agree with the reviewer who expresses disappointment at the lack of standard notation. I understand it can be intimidating for some but having both a standard notation representation as well as the sort of text based arithmetic notation used would show readers the advantages of more formal presentations without losing clarity.

There are also a few mistakes, one of which in particular is glaring enough to have me question the accuracy of everything else. In the section on gravity where the author mentions how the force due to gravity falls off with the square of the distance from its source (true) he then goes on to say, after a quick demonstration calculation, that this explains why astronauts are "basically weightless". This is at best misleading and at worst quite wrongheaded since for every astronaut since the Apollo program ended a lower effect of gravity is emphatically NOT why they don't feel their weight (the real explanation for apparent weightlessness is that, despite falling towards the Earth almost as quickly as they would if falling from a building, the astronaut is travelling quickly enough across the planet's surface that they effectively keep missing it because the Earth itself curves away underneath them. This is why "weightlessness" is more accurately known as "free-fall" since the astronaut, the space station and everything in it are constantly falling freely towards Earth at the same speed). It applies to the Apollo astronauts because they went all the way to the Moon, around 384,000 km away, but astronauts today on the ISS or during shuttle missions spend their time in space at around 400 km from the surface, where the force due to gravity is only around 10% less than it is for the rest of us.

That said, the great thing about eBooks is they can be updated to fix mistakes so none of the problems outlined are insurmountable and to re-iterate, it's a very good idea in principle.

UPDATE: The author has already noted the mistake and intends to fix it within a few days so 4 stars seems fairer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths you will love!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
I wish I had read this book when I was still at school, because the author does a great job in revealing how powerful maths can be when applied to the "real world" and manages to demonstrate that formulas are not just abstract theory, that alone would have helped me tremendously and even made me love maths from the start. The book is very user friendly, well written and gets the ideas across without oversimplifying. You will need a bit of high school mathematics to follow it though. The only downside is the length of the book, it took me only a few hours to get through it. But at that price, this is acceptable. An excellent book for anyone wishing to understand what math is and what it can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Nobel (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Formulas Explained - Physics, Mathematics, Economics (Kindle Edition)
Lots of interesting facts formulas and trivia that makes interesting light reading of what is usually considered complex subjects and their practical applications:Especially liked section on Quadratic Equations & one on Explosions.

Umm to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews