Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars151
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2013
I must admit - I am very impressed by Ripper Street. It had breathed new life in to BBC drama - and shows that BBC really knows what they're doing. Firstly, I think the programme works because of the backset - it was a genius idea to present a drama coming out of the "Ripper phase", and looking at how Law & Order continued after such a huge embarrassment. The drama cleverly uses historical accuracies to create convincing and realistic storylines, while at the same time it adds in dramatized sections to create effect and tension. A mixture of this works really well and creates believable, but also intriguing episodes.

Firstly, you have Series 1; which is set in 1889 directly following the murders of Jack the Ripper and the police investigation. We see the police facing two battles: their new cases and trying trying to pick themselves us and gain respect after failing to catch the Ripper. There are some excellent storylines presented in this series and the different themes, as well as Ripper, that run through the series create an excellent, and intriguing historically accurate drama. Themes include pornography, the film industry, disease and Victorian transportation. All these different themes allow for some excellent storylines to be be built up and make the series of crimes even more convincing!

I think that Series 2 is even better than Series 1 (and that is hard), as because as well as Ripper and the previous themes it is introducing new key ideas and themes (all of which are historically accurate); including the attitudes towards the Irish, homosexuality and the fight for female equality (the rise of the early suffragette movement). All of this has really allowed the programme to move forward and therefore has ensured that the programme has not become dry. As well as the amazing plot and storyline the show is helped by having an amazing cast list, including Matthew McFayden who convincingly plays D.I Reid - he shows the character as upstanding and respectable while also allowing his darker side to lay mysteriously in the background (for example his portrayal of his adultery and his blaming for the disappearance of his daughter and subsequent mental breakdown of his wife).

Overall, I think that this series is excellent - and the combination of excellent context, scripts and acting has created a real winner. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys crime thrillers or enjoys seeing history come alive. Plus, if you get this boxset, there are some excellent special features including behind the scenes features! I'm hoping there is a lot more of the show, in its current fashion, to come.
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Very engaging series with themes dealt with very well. Great acting with great character development. Very hard to put to one side once started. The only thing that made me gasp a bit were the beginning few episodes which were a bit graphic and ugly in concept but they very much improved as they went on. Definitely an adult movie - not for children. I am, though, disappointed and a little annoyed that it has been dropped as it was very good.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Ripper street is just the best thing around at the moment. You can go to parts of whitechapel and a lot of the original buildings are still there. A masterpiece!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Such an interesting series. Excellent acting. Matthew MacFadyen is amazing. It is very difficult to understand how they are able to twist their minds round to discover who did it! Cannot wait to see more!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
I have only just watched this series as I was bought it as a Christmas present and I loved it. The acting is superb, as are the sets and the stories are excellent too. I was surprised when watching it that it was 2012 and 2013 as I was expecting it to be 2013 and 2014, so I thought to myself - is there a series 3? I couldn't believe when I read that it had been canned - are the BBC totally mad. They come up with a brilliant series like this and then can it, yet rubbish shows come back time after time - unbelievable!! Anyway, I see Amazon had the good sense to take it on and have given us a third series which, unfortunately, has not yet hit the DVD/Blu ray releases. I understand that the BBC are going to show it some time in 2015, even though they couldn't be bothered to carry on making it, and hopefully after that the Blu Ray may arrive. I do hope so. A wonderful series and the BBC should be holding their head in shame!!!!!!!!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 September 2015
.

My thoughts Season one

The narrative is set in the late 19th century and the story begins with the tail-end of Jack the Ripper's terrifying reign of murder in the East End of London, however, the drama went on to examine multifaceted human motivations, to dissect the central characters and their lives beyond the police station. There is examination of what it means to be malevolent and/or human. The drama looked at the lives, and social ills of the people who lived in the area, and this was done through making the look and feel of the era in a really striking framework. For me the direction, writing and performance given, came together to make really interesting and finely tuned drama.

My thoughts season two

Set in 1890 - Season two of this series just gets better as the following episodes improved each time, due to the development of the three main characters and their backstories.While the history shown is reflective of the period, there are exceptions for dramatic effect. The historical backdrops to episodes in series 2 include Chinese immigration, the London matchgirls strike of 1888, electrical War of Currents, the Cleveland Street scandal, Joseph Merrick, known as the Elephant Man and the Baring crisis. Season really builds on the excellent foundations of season one,the texture and flavor of London's East End are brought to vivid life. All in all makes Ripper Street a compelling procedural - with great eye to detail from the evolving streets of London and the advent of technology at the time.

All highly recommended.

.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
This series developed over the two series into something quite special. I'm a big fan of Sherlock but for me, this passes it in terms of overall quality and character development. Matthew Macfadyen and Jerome Flynn are quite outstanding and are backed up by quality acting throughout. Visually brilliant, top notch stuff from BBC. It is unforgivable they haven't already commissioned a third series. Best thing they have produced for years.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
An amazing series. Anyone who watched it through to the last two parter end of Series 2 finale (appropriately called The Betrayal) will appreciate how amazing the acting, setting, script etc.. is.
Its unforgivable that the BBC is currently not commiting to a third series.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Great to have the boxed set of both series to watch again and again - Loved this programme... great storylines, acting and atmosphere. So sorry it was cancelled - shame on you bbc.!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2015
How best to describe this series? Well imagine modern series like CSI and similar but transported back to the era of Jack the Ripper and based around the area of Leman Street police station in the East End of London.
The attention to detail is amazing and the production fantastic. The actors portray the roles perfectly. Matthew Macfadyen plays the remarkable Inspector Edmund Reid who is ably supported by Sergeant Bennett Drake played by Jerome Flynn. The American, Captain Homer Jackson is an ex-Pinkerton agency man (Played by Mark Rothenberg) who is a forensic scientist of some skill and who is more than slightly involved with Long Susan (MyAnna Buring) who is the Madam at the local brothel.
The cases are often full of intrigue, twist and counter twist and, if you like historic stories as well as a good detective series then I cannot recommend this series too highly.
Be warned however that language can be quite strong as can the action. Remember the era that these tales are based in.
All in all, completely absorbing and excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)