Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary drama!
I must admit - I am very impressed by Ripper Street. It had breathed new life in to BBC drama - and shows that BBC really knows what they're doing. Firstly, I think the programme works because of the backset - it was a genius idea to present a drama coming out of the "Ripper phase", and looking at how Law & Order continued after such a huge embarrassment. The drama...
Published 17 months ago by B. Russell

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Series. These series also seem to have become ...
OH Dear what a Shambling, Poor Series . These series also seem to have become prey to Dialogue that can hardly be Heard. Did poorly educated people, especially the Coppers really talk in such convoluted terms.One suspects that ActorS learning these Lines must have bee glad they didnt live in these Times. A Series with little to recommend it. Only Comment is as at the...
Published 8 months ago by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary drama!, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit - I am very impressed by Ripper Street. It had breathed new life in to BBC drama - and shows that BBC really knows what they're doing. Firstly, I think the programme works because of the backset - it was a genius idea to present a drama coming out of the "Ripper phase", and looking at how Law & Order continued after such a huge embarrassment. The drama cleverly uses historical accuracies to create convincing and realistic storylines, while at the same time it adds in dramatized sections to create effect and tension. A mixture of this works really well and creates believable, but also intriguing episodes.

Firstly, you have Series 1; which is set in 1889 directly following the murders of Jack the Ripper and the police investigation. We see the police facing two battles: their new cases and trying trying to pick themselves us and gain respect after failing to catch the Ripper. There are some excellent storylines presented in this series and the different themes, as well as Ripper, that run through the series create an excellent, and intriguing historically accurate drama. Themes include pornography, the film industry, disease and Victorian transportation. All these different themes allow for some excellent storylines to be be built up and make the series of crimes even more convincing!

I think that Series 2 is even better than Series 1 (and that is hard), as because as well as Ripper and the previous themes it is introducing new key ideas and themes (all of which are historically accurate); including the attitudes towards the Irish, homosexuality and the fight for female equality (the rise of the early suffragette movement). All of this has really allowed the programme to move forward and therefore has ensured that the programme has not become dry. As well as the amazing plot and storyline the show is helped by having an amazing cast list, including Matthew McFayden who convincingly plays D.I Reid - he shows the character as upstanding and respectable while also allowing his darker side to lay mysteriously in the background (for example his portrayal of his adultery and his blaming for the disappearance of his daughter and subsequent mental breakdown of his wife).

Overall, I think that this series is excellent - and the combination of excellent context, scripts and acting has created a real winner. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys crime thrillers or enjoys seeing history come alive. Plus, if you get this boxset, there are some excellent special features including behind the scenes features! I'm hoping there is a lot more of the show, in its current fashion, to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Very engaging series with themes dealt with very well. Great acting with great character development. Very hard to put to one side once started. The only thing that made me gasp a bit were the beginning few episodes which were a bit graphic and ugly in concept but they very much improved as they went on. Definitely an adult movie - not for children. I am, though, disappointed and a little annoyed that it has been dropped as it was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripper street, real life!, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ripper street is just the best thing around at the moment. You can go to parts of whitechapel and a lot of the original buildings are still there. A masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue at its' best, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Such an interesting series. Excellent acting. Matthew MacFadyen is amazing. It is very difficult to understand how they are able to twist their minds round to discover who did it! Cannot wait to see more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We want more, 19 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
An amazing series. Anyone who watched it through to the last two parter end of Series 2 finale (appropriately called The Betrayal) will appreciate how amazing the acting, setting, script etc.. is.
Its unforgivable that the BBC is currently not commiting to a third series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring it back..!!!, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
K. Grey (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great to have the boxed set of both series to watch again and again - Loved this programme... great storylines, acting and atmosphere. So sorry it was cancelled - shame on you bbc.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for me a Fantastic series why the bbc should want to drop the ..., 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
for me a Fantastic series why the bbc should want to drop the series puzzles me. thankfully amazon prime has seen the potential and taken the opportunity to take ripper street forward and upwards to greater things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AD, 7 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't bought the DVD but just wanted to say the series was fantastic! Enjoyed every episode - the characters, the separate yet linked storyline, the setting - everything. Have recently heard BBC may be developing another series which is great news. To get a true impression its important to watch the episodes in turn and get to know the characters. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars drama by jove, 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
So you like Victorians,you like the police and you really like Victorian police this dvd is for you. Well acted by brilliant actors with sets that look truly gritty and gripping storylines and character back stories. Would also recommend to people who have read the books of Alex Grecian eg The yard and wish they would dramatise them .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good plots and characters, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Very good plots and characters; historical backdrop adds interest; very well acted by main and secondary characters.
Tough scenes not for everyone, various stories might stil hold ones attention even without the rougher parts of the plot. But then again it is about crime..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD]
Ripper Street - Series 1-2 [DVD] by Christopher Menual (DVD - 2014)
£20.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews