Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Relationship drama that really works.
This is billed as a `rom-com', but I found it more of a grown up relationship drama. It stars Olivia Wilde (`Her' and `Rush') as twenty something Kate. She is an administrator at a craft brewery and if you work in a brewery you have to like a drink and by jingo she does. She is going out with Chris (Ron Livingston) who is quite level headed. Kate works with Luke played...
Published 4 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good watch
I thought this was going to be a silly comedy but its actually intelligent and well made. The cast are great. This is grown up and a good watch.
Published 3 months ago by mt b r thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Relationship drama that really works., 21 April 2014
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drinking Buddies [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is billed as a `rom-com', but I found it more of a grown up relationship drama. It stars Olivia Wilde (`Her' and `Rush') as twenty something Kate. She is an administrator at a craft brewery and if you work in a brewery you have to like a drink and by jingo she does. She is going out with Chris (Ron Livingston) who is quite level headed. Kate works with Luke played by Jake Johnson - and he like to have a laugh and also a drink. His girlfriend though teaches special needs children and yes you guessed it, is also a bit on the sensible side.

Well what looks like a mis-matched pair with an easy fix is what this film is screaming to be. However, director Joe Swanberg (`VHS' and `You're Next') really scores here by making it far from black and white and by so doing has made a very grown up film. Things do not always work out for people and the obvious is often missed and here there is enough of that real life lack of intuition to make it totally believable and it is all the better for it.

This is far from being a comedy and I think it will garner negative press by the expectancy that there will be laughs a plenty and the worn out but also much more palatable - wedding style ending. Please note that is not a plot spoiler, I am merely using it to reflect that this is not your typical `Hollywood' type film. So if you like your films to surprise, avoid clichés and make you think a bit then I would give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern & Refreshing, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Dan Bullock (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drinking Buddies [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I do believe that as you get older, you see some movies in a completely different light every now and then. The likes of THIS IS 40 is relatable once you know people in their situation and DRINKING BUDDIES falls into that late twenties category, when you’re still figuring out what you should ‘really’ be doing…in every sense. Writer and Director Joe Swanberg (V/H/S, YOU’RE NEXT) has created an impressive personal project that explores different relationships with a strong ensemble cast.

DRINKING BUDDIES focuses around the relationship of Luke (Jake Johnson) and Kate (Olivia Wilde) who are co-workers at an awesome micro-brewery. At work they have a flirty relationship with days spent drinking or poking fun at each other and – in some ways – feel like they should be ‘together’ but they’re both with other people. The movie explores that blurry line between friendships and relationships and the ever-relevant question ‘Can members of the opposite sex be platonic best friends?’

Here, Joe Swanberg has created a fine slice of reality with astute observations on different kinds of relationships that will happen throughout your life. Olivia Wilde is exceptional as Kate, the only woman in the brewery who is trying to find herself but Wilde never over sells the character. Up against Olivia is New Girl’s Jake Johnson in a stand-out role, who has a set path and doesn’t let his character down. You could argue that by sitting on the fence he creates more bad things than good, but you always know what he stands for. What particularly sticks here, is the characters don’t betray who they are and admit their mistakes. Co-starring is the ever-exceptional Anna Kendrick who’s understated as Luke’s girlfriend Jill, her role is to start the questioning of the individual characters roles and a sturdy Ron Livingston as Chris, Kate’s partner.

In DRINKING BUDDIES, we get something modern and refreshing in this genre. Joe Swanberg has given us an equally strong and confused female lead which has echoes of Charlize Theron in YOUNG ADULT but with it created an incredibly likeable, relatable and intelligent comedy drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What a creative title..., 13 July 2014
This review is from: Drinking Buddies [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I should have used the title as a clue to its content- as that's about all that happens in this 'watching paint dry' film.

If I want to indulge in reality I'll read Proust, as he managed to make the ordinary,extraordinary and poetic- something this film completetly lacks...
'Can I watch 90 minutes of actors drinking beer, talking,arguing, oh and moving flats?' A colossal train wreck - dreadful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the film wasnt as good as I expected, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drinking Buddies [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
quality and due date were met, the film wasnt as good as I expected. As for where and how purchased all good for the supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good watch, 17 May 2014
This review is from: Drinking Buddies (DVD)
I thought this was going to be a silly comedy but its actually intelligent and well made. The cast are great. This is grown up and a good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I AM NOT A BAD PERSON, 23 Mar 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drinking Buddies [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Luke (Jake Johnson) and Kate (Olivia Wilde) work at a micro-brew and spend their nights drinking at a bar. They are close friends. Luke has a girlfriend Jill (Anna Kendrick) who is a teacher and level headed. Kate has been dating Chris (Ron Livingston) for 8 months. He is also level headed. Our foursome go away for a weekend where Chris has the realization Kate is not right for him. He is more interested in Jill. Chris breaks up with Kate which leads to...pretty much nothing except the realization there is life outside of drinking.

This is a pretty much been there done that film for me and I was bored from the lack of comedy, action, or drama beyond a sarcastic remark. Not much in entertainment value.

F-bomb. Implied sex. Olivia Wilde brief nudity?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Such a good funny cast, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drinking Buddies [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
No plot line, more awkward pauses then made in Chelsea.
Such a good funny cast, it should have been awesome. Couldn't have been more bored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring!!!, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drinking Buddies [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Such a boring film, enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit dull, 10 April 2014
This review is from: Drinking Buddies (DVD)
I hoped to like this film as it seemed to have some good reviews, but it was not all that good.
Characters a bit odd - like watching adults pretending to be teenages, I assume because they were drinking??? But really, do people behave like that after just a couple of small beers or a glass of wine. That didnt work for me at all and got a bit irritating after a while. If i were you I wouldnt bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mumblecore reaches its stride, 19 April 2014
This review is from: Drinking Buddies (DVD)
I really enjoyed this. Good performances a and a nice soundtrack.

Shame we can't just rate fils with the star system any longer now this is on amazon - it's going to result in less reviews if people always have to write something and can't just click on the stars - I rarely want to write anything but am happy to mark something out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drinking Buddies [DVD] [2013]
Drinking Buddies [DVD] [2013] by Joe Swanberg (DVD - 2014)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews