Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Songs From The Road" - The Royal Southern Brotherhood.
When this album was recommended to me, I hadn't ever heard of The Royal Southern Brotherhood.After just one listen and a look at the credentials, I was more than impressed. Coming from stock such as The Allman Brothers, The Neville Brothers and The Tedeschi-Trucks Band, you expect the best and they sure deliver the goods. Arguably the best melting pot of blues, soul and...
Published 11 months ago by Killian McEvoy

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing royal about this
Had high hopes given the pedigree of the artists and earlier reviews however has to be one of the most disappointing CD/DVDs that I have purchased for a while. They don't sound like a band, the music is disjointed and weakly performed, songs are eminently forgettable and the guitar playing amateurish at best. Not in the same league as the likes of the Allman Brothers Band...
Published 9 months ago by anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Songs From The Road" - The Royal Southern Brotherhood., 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
When this album was recommended to me, I hadn't ever heard of The Royal Southern Brotherhood.After just one listen and a look at the credentials, I was more than impressed. Coming from stock such as The Allman Brothers, The Neville Brothers and The Tedeschi-Trucks Band, you expect the best and they sure deliver the goods. Arguably the best melting pot of blues, soul and funk that I've heard in many years, this C.D. / D.V.D. is not only good value, but should be an essential part of your collection.

I won't try to analyse individual tracks. Each one has a character of it's own and each track can stand up on it's own. No "fillers" here. Picture an Allman Brothers Band with twin guitars, but without keyboards and where each of the five musicians sing, and you have a close comparison.

You will want to listen and watch over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a weak track on the album !, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
This is a really great album and the DVD is superb. Three strong vocalists, 2 lead guitars and phenomenal engine room of bass and drums make this outfit a proper rock n roll band. Remind me at times of Marshall Tucker Band. Love the cover of the Stones Gimme Shelter. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Brotherhood !!!, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
I've seen and met these guys three times in 2013,each time they have been Outstanding !!.If you like the studio album you will love this,it shows the energy and effort these guys put into every live performance.The new studio album is recorded and will be out in the Spring,can't wait !!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, CD missing a track, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Grum (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
I'm slightly disappointed with this set, hence the 4 stars rather than 5. The music is really great, and when I saaw them live they delivered one of the best gigs I've attended (and over the years, that's quite a few). My gripe is that the CD is 68 mins long and is missing one track from the DVD which is apparently only slightly over 7 mins long (Sweet Little Angel) i.e. it could have fitted easily onto the CD. I'm sure they must have had a reason for the omission, but I fail to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' Southern Brotherhood, 14 Dec 2013
By 
S. Bowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
The first time I witnessed this band live, a year or more back in the intimate surroundings of the Jazz Café in Camden Town, I had to keep pinching myself - an Allman and a Neville on the same stage? I was familiar with the studio album, and like it very much, but wasn't prepared for the magical atmosphere these five supremely talented musicians create on stage.

We saw them again, this time with the wonderful Samantha Fish along as well, at Under the Bridge last month (November 2013).

The combination of powerful songs, both self-penned and covers ('Fire on the Mountain' is to die for), excellent sound and sheer talent in all departments (I have long been a fan of Messrs. Scott and Zito, and Charlie Wooton on bass was a revelation for me, what a star!) makes for a superb live concert experience. Electric in every sense of the word.

This superb little collection really recreates the excitement of a live RSB gig. The sound production on both the cd and the dvd is sumptuous, it really captures the spirit of this amazing band.

If you know RSB's music, buying this is a no-brainer.

If you don't know their music, start here. This is one of those bands that just has to be experienced live, and this is as good an introduction as anyone could wish for without actually being there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Had to buy this one after attending one of their UK gigs in 2013. Even ignoring the family connections to the Neville Brothers and the Alman Brothers, RSB are one of the hottest live bands currently on the circuit. Every member is a master of his instrument. All of them can sing. In Cyril Neville they have a charismatic frontman. If you are going for the CD make sure you go for this edition with the accompanying DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live RSB!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Great showcase of the debut album from Royal Southern Brotherhood. The DVD is brilliant as well -= great value and great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 1 April 2014
By 
G. Rae (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Glad I bought this, another superior piece of brilliant guitar rock/blues. Sit down, listen to the full disc and enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Very good recording and good mastering. Superb guitar work in true southern style. Reminds me of Derek and the Dominos. Songs that keep going around in your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CURATE`S EGG, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
A well-priced CD/DVD set from Germany's long running Rockpalast series. Much is made of the `royal` Allmans / Nevilles partnership (and I`m a big fan of both bands) but without the presence of the saintly Cyril this could be just another southern rawk band chugging away to a club full of over-refreshed punters. Better than many and worth a go but it ain`t `Nevillisation` or `Live at the Fillmore East` by a long chalk. Like the curate`s egg, it`s good in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs From The Road (CD+DVD)
Songs From The Road (CD+DVD) by Royal Southern Brotherhood (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews