Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Origins story for the Ice Man
I was given an e-book copy from the author in return for an honest review.

This is an origins story for author James Houston Turner's no-nonsense action hero. Having read the contemporary set novels, where the tough and resourceful fifty something former KGB operative uses his wits as much as his fists, it was intriguing to see him as a twenty eight year...
Published 5 months ago by Daniel Cann

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Really?
This book seemed to start fairly well and interestingly. I got increasingly annoyed by the lazy lack of research (I found all I needed on Google in a morning which included a lengthy coffee break).

The book became unrealistic – is ‘Iceman Hero’ really going to fall passionately in love with another, unknown spy and give up all his secrets...
Published 1 month ago by Winnie Chief


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Origins story for the Ice Man, 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: November Echo (Kindle Edition)
I was given an e-book copy from the author in return for an honest review.

This is an origins story for author James Houston Turner's no-nonsense action hero. Having read the contemporary set novels, where the tough and resourceful fifty something former KGB operative uses his wits as much as his fists, it was intriguing to see him as a twenty eight year old.

In November Echo, we meet a very different Talanov to the one we are used to. Brash, super-confident and living in the moment, he is a very different proposition to the cool, analytical chess player of the novels.

Teamed with the striking Sonia and on assignment in Spain, we join Talanov in a world with mullets, Ferrari's, the Cold War and 1980s excess. Turner effortlessly manages to capture the mood and era. He plays well on our fear of biological weapons, also pushing the reader's buttons to elicit moral outrage and moral indignation.

The usual stamps of a Talanov adventure are all here: twists, action and suspense. The young KGB Colonel demonstrates why he is the master of misdirection: Just when you think you understand what is going on, things rapidly change!

This outing has more insights into Talanov and what made him. Noya, the fourteen year old he encounters, clearly has a deep rooted and life changing effect on him. We understand what drives and guides him, and it's not just the outlandish action and rapid dialogue that takes centre stage, this also has a lot of heart and, at times, is quite poignant.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I felt that I understood Talanov more by the end. Once again James Houston Turner has demonstrated his unique talent as a premier thriller writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Really?, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: November Echo (Kindle Edition)
This book seemed to start fairly well and interestingly. I got increasingly annoyed by the lazy lack of research (I found all I needed on Google in a morning which included a lengthy coffee break).

The book became unrealistic – is ‘Iceman Hero’ really going to fall passionately in love with another, unknown spy and give up all his secrets within minutes? I don’t think so! This sort of unlikely writing continued and then the author seemed to run out of ideas. At this stage, normally, the pages would be filled with gratuitous sex but this was different: we had gratuitous and jaw-droppingly unbelievable violence instead. After each main character had been shot, stabbed, poisoned, fallen out of moving cars multiple times and lived ready for the next attempt at murder/assasination, I had to give up which meant I’d wasted a good 2 hours of my getting to that stage.

Highly not recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: November Echo (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well written and with pace to keep the interest, with a plot of a cross between Mission impossible and James Bond. I don't usually like books that flit between the current time plot and previous history of the characters, but in the case it was very well handled and certainly did not detract from the story. Really enjoyable and was free to download! Certainly will be on the lookout for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: November Echo (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book.... Trust me.
Read about 8 books a month of a varied nature. This is an excellent book from an excellent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent spy thriller, 16 Feb 2014
By 
F. Reynolds "Fran" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: November Echo (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book and finding a hero in a Russian KGB agent who my previous readings/knowledge have always been the enemy! The plot was good and fast paced and I didn't see the twist coming until it was upon me. Not quite sure how those that survived the subsequent mayhem did so but it was certainly a thrill ride. It would make a good film if it hasn't already for those that like their films full of special effects, car chases etc. Looking forward to reading more from this author's catalogue and especially with this hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: November Echo (Kindle Edition)
Great pacing and an intriguing hero. A little different to route for a soviet agent in a Cold War spy book but the writing really made you want him to succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars realy great story full of excitment, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: November Echo (Kindle Edition)
great story but to much going back in time
have just read another of his books , great story but same problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: November Echo (Kindle Edition)
finished this book in one day was that good a very good story well written I would like more like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb59c20c0)

This product

November Echo
November Echo by James Houston Turner
1.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews