Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripper Street is axed!!!!????
Unbelievable that the BBC has axed this great programme after two series! In my opinion it is the best thing they have made in years! They have done it before with other popular programmes, it seems as though they really don't care... but if you liked it, please... please sign the petition to bring it back. Just type in Ripper Street and it should take you there. If you...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Grubby Feel, Plot not Quite so Tight this Series
This is crime detection in the grubby hard Eastend of London about the time of the ripper murders (not that the ripper murders are really touched on in *this* series). Detection comes from a forward thinking moral detective, supported by a stead fast bad/tough cop and an America doctor/ scientist/ pathologist. All three have interesting back stories.

Much of...
Published 5 months ago by Hagrid's Umbrella


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant drama!!!, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
Len (United kindom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Really hope there is a series 3. I love the use of Victorian words and expressions. Innovative, quality, thought provoking, exciting drama and it looks amazing too. They would be mad not to do another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best series to come out of the BBC for a long time!, 31 July 2014
One of the best series to come out of the BBC for a long time!
Essentially a crime thriller, the series follows a police department in London to find out whodunnit, whilst we learn more about the character's back stories and their current lives. Great actors and script writers, and characters that make you pause for thought, and are easily likeable. If you like period dramas, go for it!

Was glad to hear that after it was axed, Amazon took it on for Prime viewers, so it wasn't the end of Ripper Street!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 11 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The best show I have never watch!!! Every episode is very well done in construction and acting!
To buy, absolutely!
I am looking forward to see Series 3!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first season, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I did not think they could do it as well as the first time, but they did: Intrigue, good acting, good dialogues, action, history. I hope there is a third series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Has This Been Scrapped?!?!, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love this programme and series 2 was even better than the first! It was a lot darker, a lot more mysterious and had a lot more action in my opinion. And then, just when the BBC make an amazing programme... they scrap it. Why do they have to do this? I want more from this amazing trio; especially Jackson, who's hillarious and interesting to watch. Pull your head out of the sand BBC and give us what we want: a third series!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Grubby Feel, Plot not Quite so Tight this Series, 7 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is crime detection in the grubby hard Eastend of London about the time of the ripper murders (not that the ripper murders are really touched on in *this* series). Detection comes from a forward thinking moral detective, supported by a stead fast bad/tough cop and an America doctor/ scientist/ pathologist. All three have interesting back stories.

Much of whats good in the first series remains but it definitely slacks off a bit. The good bits are the setting, the music, the cast and the general feel of the series. It's also good to see them bring in famous events, people and innovation of the time; such as John Merrick and the underground.

Where I feel it dropped of a little is in the crimes and their resolution. Some were clearly not as well thought out and relied on late revelations from poor initial detection and some had really dumb actions which had me arguing with the TV. A criticism would also be that some of the interesting story arcs from the first series, especially relating to Macfadyen, are dropped completely. Its also a bit disappointed some of the interesting characters have a short shelf life.

I'm pleased they managed to get this odd deal together for a third series as the overall feel of the series is excellent and hopefully the plot can be a bit tighter next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pity About the Title!, 7 Oct. 2014
By 
Mike Brecher (London & New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It's easy to imagine that, in hindsight, the makers of this terrific series are sorry they yielded to the temptation to hook it to Jack the Ripper -- unnecessary, since it's not about the JtR at all (and occasional references to him are the one false note in the show). That may do more than anything to explain viewing figures that proved a disappointment to the Beeb. Many potential viewers probably stayed away, assuming that it would be just another retread of a tired idea, only recently worn to the rims by the vastly inferior 'Whitechapel'. I nearly avoided it for exactly that reason.
In fact, 'Ripper Street' is imaginative, exciting, superbly written, produced and acted -- one of the very best things on TV at the moment. Thank goodness Amazon has saved it from the axe. As others have commented, it's enough to make one resent paying the license fee when the BBC demonstrates that it would rather keep pumping out cheap reality and cooking shows, decades of 'Top Gear' and 'Strictly' than world-beating drama because the latter -- as if drama were no different than a new ready-meal from M&S -- isn't moving off the shelves in sufficient millions a week to satisfy management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant - Not To Be Missed!, 28 Dec. 2014
I stumbled across Ripper Street by accident as I was bored one evening and there was nothing else being broadcast on the TV that could hold my attention. I was hooked from the very first episode in Series 1, and subsequently became addicted to the entire series, including Series 2 and 3. This is not the genre of programme I normally choose to watch, which only reinforces just how good this is.

Absolutely brilliant acting from the entire cast, including those with minor parts. The photography and sets are stunning and believable. They help provide an insight into how difficult life in Victorian London actually was for the lower classes and the poor; and the struggles faced by the recently formed police force, in their endeavours to maintain some form of law and order to keep people safe.

The twists, turns and sub plots keep you gripped throughout. All three series are not to be missed.

Well done Amazon for rescuing the programme and funding Series 3, without which, the underlying and continuous plot could not have reached its final conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cannot hear the dialogue., 19 Oct. 2014
I would enjoy it more if I could make out the actors dialogue! Is that just me though? I just can't hear most of the mumbling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good series, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This review is mostly to counteract the 1 star some ridiculous person gave this just because there isn't a blu-ray version.
I loved series 1 and like what I've seen of series 2. Can't wait for the DVD to come out as I missed the first episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD]
Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] by Christopher Menaul (DVD - 2014)
£7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews