Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't just sit there!
I agree with the positive comments on this programme. If you feel that way, do as I have and write to the BBC to complain. It can make a difference. They had plans to axe Radio 6, but had to back down after public support for the station. We are fee payers to the BBC and as such they should listen to comments by us. I'm heartily tired of "celebrity" programmes, reality...
Published 6 months ago by Philip Cutler

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
the first season was surprising and catchy. The second one is glued into some kind of gory-bad taste-disgusting atmosphere. You can live without
Published 2 months ago by helene gerard


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't just sit there!, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Philip Cutler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with the positive comments on this programme. If you feel that way, do as I have and write to the BBC to complain. It can make a difference. They had plans to axe Radio 6, but had to back down after public support for the station. We are fee payers to the BBC and as such they should listen to comments by us. I'm heartily tired of "celebrity" programmes, reality dross, repeats, repeats and repeats. Ripper Street has been a well acted, researched and presented series. It is the type of programming the BBC used to be proud of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing second series!, 21 Nov 2013
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit - I am very impressed by Ripper Street. It had breathed new life in to BBC drama - and shows that BBC really knows what they're doing. Firstly, I think the programme works because of the backset - it was a genius idea to present a drama coming out of the "Ripper phase", and looking at how Law & Order continued after such a huge embarrassment. The drama cleverly uses historical accuracies to create convincing and realistic storylines, while at the same time it adds in dramatized sections to create effect and tension. A mixture of this works really well and creates believable, but also intriguing episodes.

I think that Series 2 is even better than Series 1, as because as well as Ripper it is introducing new key ideas and themes (all of which are historically accurate); including the attitudes towards the Irish, homosexuality and the fight for female equality (the rise of the early suffragette movement). All of this has really allowed the programme to move forward and therefore has ensured that the programme has not become dry. As well as the amazing plot and storyline the show is helped by having an amazing cast list, including Matthew McFayden who convincingly plays D.I Reid - he shows the character as upstanding and respectable while also allowing his darker side to lay mysteriously in the background (for example his portrayal of his adultery and his blaming for the disappearance of his daughter and subsequent mental breakdown of his wife).

Overall, I think that this series is excellent - and the combination of excellent context, scripts and acting has created a real winner. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys crime thrillers or enjoys seeing history come alive. I'm hoping there is a lot more of the show, in its current fashion, to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripper Street is axed!!!!????, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Unbelievable that the BBC has axed this great programme after two series! In my opinion it is the best thing they have made in years! They have done it before with other popular programmes, it seems as though they really don't care... but if you liked it, please... please sign the petition to bring it back. Just type in Ripper Street and it should take you there. If you prefer 'I'm a celebrity or Big Brother.... don't bother, but if you like something a bit more exciting... make an effort to bring it back! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Losing a gem!, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the few watchable programmes on tv today, yet its to be scrapped because of ratings?

I was under the impression that the BBC was licence funded and as such, not governed by ratings and instead, aimed to deliver high quality programmes for a vast range of audiences?? They scrap this gem because it got beat in a ratings war with.....wait for it.....I'm a Celebrity!

Why not scrap the pool of fools that moved the programme from a Sunday night to a Monday night?

Ripper Street is a unique and exceptional kind of period drama that is by far some of the best work to come out of the BBC in recent years.

Ditching it to no doubt make way for more cooking, quiz, reality, celebrity and talent puke to vomit from our screens, makes paying that licence fee as difficult to swallow as the one brain cell, seal clapping puss they spend our money on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good period piece of drama, cancelled by the BBC, 18 Dec 2013
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The narrative is set in the late 19th century and the story begins with the tail-end of Jack the Ripper's terrifying reign of murder in the East End of London, however, the drama went on to examine multifaceted human motivations, to dissect the central characters and their lives beyond the police station. There is examination of what it means to be malevolent and/or human. The drama looked at the lives, and social ills of the people who lived in the area, and this was done through making the look and feel of the era in a really striking framework. For me the direction, writing and performance given, came together to make really interesting and finely tuned drama. Unfortunately this second series will probably be its last. It is really sad that the powers to be at the BBC could not/would not fight try to keep this very good show going, I am sure it would have sold well in North America and Australia. It seems to be extremely poor judgement to cancel the show. I guess in its place will be another repeat set of programming, which seems to be the unfortunate main stay of the BBC today - all rather sad really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series - glad Amazon have saved it from the TV scrapheap!, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a quality show, with plenty of potential built in for series 3. Matthew MacFadyen and his co-stars are an excellent trio of actors who really give their all in this gritty historical-based crime drama, and with the changes from series 1 it has become slightly story-arc based. This isn't a bad thing, and it's easy for someone dipping in to catch up, compared to some arcs in other shows. If you're of a nervous disposition regarding blood and gore - although it's no horror movie! - you might want to steel yourself, but do give it a try. I would begin with series 1 though, to get the full benefit.

Once again, thank you Amazon for rescuing it from the scrapheap - I hear it will be on Instant Video first, then on BBC1 a few months later, but either way probably early 2015.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is often something like verse drama, 25 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
There is a lot to admire about this series if you can accept the dramatic aesthetic which may be derived from the graphic novel or 'co-mix' and which is becoming almost standard for 'action' films or thrillers these days, whether made for the cinema or for TV. This is certainly how most of this series comes across, and I have to admit that I usually have a problem with this fast moving style which is frequently dependent on sensational video editing, gruesome violence, and narrative short cuts or sleight of hand. But, taking the series as a whole, it is perhaps the best justification for the co-mix style I have yet come across when taken to this kind of extreme where each story has to fit neatly inside an hour.

Some of the storylines weren't so convincing or well thought through but, as in the first series, different episodes did contain some interesting ideas taken from London history of the period. One of the episodes was about eugenics and featured the 'Elephant Man'; another about the London match girls and the exploitation of female labour; and another the early electrification of London and the battle between AC and DC along with, in the same episode, a temporary truce with Irish Fenians when Parnell was the great hope for Irish independence. The finale was a sort of Shakespearian car crash with three of four story lines converging and achieving some kind of closure.

My own special interest is in the attempt to achieve a dramatically useful and fairly convincing form of period dialogue which distinguishes itself from the usual embarrassingly flat contemporary dialogue which is all that we normally get from historical dramas (e.g. the Ken Folett historical 'epics' such as The Pillars Of the Earth and its sequel World Without End, or the over-praised Game of Thrones). For this reason in recent years I have been very interested in, and much impressed by, the period dialogue of 'Deadwood' and 'Garrow's Law'.
As far as I know there has been very little said anywhere about the sort of dialogue one tends to find in 'graphic novels', co-mixes or, if you insist, comics. I have noticed that this dialogue is as singular as everything else about this genre and that one could often describe it as stilted, awkward or even pretentious by ordinary standards. But every genre deserves to be judged to a certain extent in its own terms and in this graphic medium the language does not jar in the same way it might arguably do elsewhere. I have very little interest in this medium myself but that is due more to either the content/subject matter, or to the graphic style (seldom do they get both right) than the medium itself. I see no reason why it couldn't have become a real art form - but in my view it hasn't - although it is obviously what we call a 'popular art form'.

In respect of language the 5th episode, 'Threads Of Silk and Gold', was even more interesting than any of the previous ones which may have had different writers. I can well see that it was the kind of writing likely to make the average critic respond with the predictable cliche about lines that no actor could speak convincingly and to point to the actors looking uncomfortable to prove his point. But what may have escaped most viewers is that when the dialogue works well it amounts to a kind of verse drama. Admittedly there is something of an experiment about it all but I'd say it's well worth doing, and of course when someone chooses his words as well as these characters tend to do they might well look like this when thinking carefully and trying deliberately to distance themselves in a class-conscious Victorian way from the brutal events and squalid milieu of such story lines.

It's not just a matter of period dialogue for its own sake, nor is it a matter of its historical accuracy. It's more a matter of the dramatic effectiveness of a heightened and more dramatic dialogue which earlier, and yes often more educated, forms of speech make possible. Above all it's intelligent and goes a long way towards convincing you that the 'graphic novel style' that we have here is also intelligent in some way - as for example the recent BBC serial 'Hunted', or 'Dr Who' (both also in the 'graphic novel style) DO NOT. That is one reason why this kind of dialogue offers such opportunities to the writer. It allows the writer to make the characters more articulate and therefore more conscious of the issues which are driving the drama.

But this episode which was the story of a homosexual prostitution ring based on the new telegram service of the Post Office , financial fraud at a major Bank and its justification in order 'to prevent a larger collapse of the system', both weighed in the balance against any kind of human love you fancy, had much more than period dialogue to offer.
Although this episode was a powerful self-contained story it undoubtedly gained from our having seen the earlier episodes suggesting a relationship might develop between Reed and Jane Cobden the social reformer, and which turned out to be another example of the interesting organic symmetries in this episode.

For a very thought provoking discussion of the subject of literacy, language change and education over the last 150 years see 'Doing Our Own Thing: The Degradation of Language and Music, and Why We Should, Like, Care' (2003) by John McWhorter. He argues and provides evidence for the level of education (or practical aspiration) in the 19thc, and later, as enabling even the 'lower classes' to express themselves in an impressively articulate and even 'literary' way, especially in personal letters; and equally capable of understanding what they heard or read, on an intellectual level more like the Guardian Review than the Sun.

I have recently tried watching some of the episodes for the second time and mainly because of the dialogue I have found this worthwhile even finding myself appreciating it more. This is one of those rare TV series which is worth watching more than once.
Verse drama, or at least (free-)verse drama seems slowly to be making a comeback. We've already had Garrow's Law and now this. Interestingly Garrow tended towards the iambic and Ripper towards the trochaic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally something good for MEN from the bbc, 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Its a shame the bbc are dropping this I think the series is good because it covers a wide range of interesting subject areas whilst keeping a degree of continuity throughout the series. I love the historic setting and atmosphere throughout, I think this could have run and run i'm not sure why the bbc are stopping this, its the only drama show from them i've ever watched and even rivals some hbo shows from the states.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 11 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The best show I have never watch!!! Every episode is very well done in construction and acting!
To buy, absolutely!
I am looking forward to see Series 3!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BBC have done a great job with this drama lets see more of the same, well done amazon for showing series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD]
Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] by Christopher Menaul (DVD - 2014)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews