Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripper Street is axed!!!!????
Unbelievable that the BBC has axed this great programme after two series! In my opinion it is the best thing they have made in years! They have done it before with other popular programmes, it seems as though they really don't care... but if you liked it, please... please sign the petition to bring it back. Just type in Ripper Street and it should take you there. If you...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Grubby Feel, Plot not Quite so Tight this Series
This is crime detection in the grubby hard Eastend of London about the time of the ripper murders (not that the ripper murders are really touched on in *this* series). Detection comes from a forward thinking moral detective, supported by a stead fast bad/tough cop and an America doctor/ scientist/ pathologist. All three have interesting back stories.

Much of...
Published 7 months ago by Hagrid's Umbrella


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripper Street is axed!!!!????, 10 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Unbelievable that the BBC has axed this great programme after two series! In my opinion it is the best thing they have made in years! They have done it before with other popular programmes, it seems as though they really don't care... but if you liked it, please... please sign the petition to bring it back. Just type in Ripper Street and it should take you there. If you prefer 'I'm a celebrity or Big Brother.... don't bother, but if you like something a bit more exciting... make an effort to bring it back! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Losing a gem!, 9 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the few watchable programmes on tv today, yet its to be scrapped because of ratings?

I was under the impression that the BBC was licence funded and as such, not governed by ratings and instead, aimed to deliver high quality programmes for a vast range of audiences?? They scrap this gem because it got beat in a ratings war with.....wait for it.....I'm a Celebrity!

Why not scrap the pool of fools that moved the programme from a Sunday night to a Monday night?

Ripper Street is a unique and exceptional kind of period drama that is by far some of the best work to come out of the BBC in recent years.

Ditching it to no doubt make way for more cooking, quiz, reality, celebrity and talent puke to vomit from our screens, makes paying that licence fee as difficult to swallow as the one brain cell, seal clapping puss they spend our money on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing second series!, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit - I am very impressed by Ripper Street. It had breathed new life in to BBC drama - and shows that BBC really knows what they're doing. Firstly, I think the programme works because of the backset - it was a genius idea to present a drama coming out of the "Ripper phase", and looking at how Law & Order continued after such a huge embarrassment. The drama cleverly uses historical accuracies to create convincing and realistic storylines, while at the same time it adds in dramatized sections to create effect and tension. A mixture of this works really well and creates believable, but also intriguing episodes.

I think that Series 2 is even better than Series 1, as because as well as Ripper it is introducing new key ideas and themes (all of which are historically accurate); including the attitudes towards the Irish, homosexuality and the fight for female equality (the rise of the early suffragette movement). All of this has really allowed the programme to move forward and therefore has ensured that the programme has not become dry. As well as the amazing plot and storyline the show is helped by having an amazing cast list, including Matthew McFayden who convincingly plays D.I Reid - he shows the character as upstanding and respectable while also allowing his darker side to lay mysteriously in the background (for example his portrayal of his adultery and his blaming for the disappearance of his daughter and subsequent mental breakdown of his wife).

Overall, I think that this series is excellent - and the combination of excellent context, scripts and acting has created a real winner. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys crime thrillers or enjoys seeing history come alive. I'm hoping there is a lot more of the show, in its current fashion, to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series - glad Amazon have saved it from the TV scrapheap!, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a quality show, with plenty of potential built in for series 3. Matthew MacFadyen and his co-stars are an excellent trio of actors who really give their all in this gritty historical-based crime drama, and with the changes from series 1 it has become slightly story-arc based. This isn't a bad thing, and it's easy for someone dipping in to catch up, compared to some arcs in other shows. If you're of a nervous disposition regarding blood and gore - although it's no horror movie! - you might want to steel yourself, but do give it a try. I would begin with series 1 though, to get the full benefit.

Once again, thank you Amazon for rescuing it from the scrapheap - I hear it will be on Instant Video first, then on BBC1 a few months later, but either way probably early 2015.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't just sit there!, 3 Jan. 2014
By 
Philip Cutler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with the positive comments on this programme. If you feel that way, do as I have and write to the BBC to complain. It can make a difference. They had plans to axe Radio 6, but had to back down after public support for the station. We are fee payers to the BBC and as such they should listen to comments by us. I'm heartily tired of "celebrity" programmes, reality dross, repeats, repeats and repeats. Ripper Street has been a well acted, researched and presented series. It is the type of programming the BBC used to be proud of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripper Street is the best British Drama in years, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ripper Street is the best British Drama in years. Forget the hype around Broadchurch and Line of Duty, this knocks then for six. It is beautifully written and acted and the climax is so memorable as to be life changing. The difference between this show and all the other British shows is it's courage to tackle really deep subjects. "What can good men do in the midst of evil" is the question at the heart of the programme, and there are no easy solutions or glib comments in response. Great Drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super programme - brilliant series, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
as a huge fan of the first series I couldn't wait to get this one started. it hit the ground running and since I don't do spoilers if you liked the first one you definitely wont be disappointed by this one. it improved on it's previous run by fleshing out the characters more and giving the women more depth - something I found lacking in the first series. the addition of well known characters of the time added to the feeling of London at the time. I love the fact that they film all this in Dublin - it looks and feels very authentic. I can only highly recommend this and congratulate Amazon on the fact that a third is being made. Thank you for saving a series that is worth saving - why the BBC put their money into other crap and abandon good stories like this is beyond me. I cant wait for the third one - i'm waiting in line already!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I know the ratings were down as compared to season 1, when the series 2 aired in UK, and I think I know why. We suffer with Reid as he struggles to overcome evil and corruption in British criminal life of the time, and fails. When innocent victims die one after another in this series. When no "poetic justice" takes place. It is hard to watch, although it is probably how life really was and is, but it doesn't make it enjoyable. Series 1 was dealing with hard times, too, but at least Reid was victorious, and good prevailed over evil, so to speak. But don't get me wrong, the series are still brilliant. Season 2 episodes are each dealing with some serious historical matter of that time, and how the people are coping with that. The episodes are poignant and beautiful (well, for me it's when I shut my eyes not to see some slashed throats etc.), stories are very interesting and moving. Reid (the beautiful and talanted Matthew Macfadyen) is sexy as hell in this. I cannot wait for series 3, I'm so proud of the victory we the fans achieved, when our petition worked and the series were resurrected. Just please, the producers: a trifle more comedy, and a little less darkness. "I have had enough of the darkness, now I would like you to show me the sun" says Reid to his new love interest, Jane, and I totally agree with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good period piece of drama, cancelled by the BBC, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The narrative is set in the late 19th century and the story begins with the tail-end of Jack the Ripper's terrifying reign of murder in the East End of London, however, the drama went on to examine multifaceted human motivations, to dissect the central characters and their lives beyond the police station. There is examination of what it means to be malevolent and/or human. The drama looked at the lives, and social ills of the people who lived in the area, and this was done through making the look and feel of the era in a really striking framework. For me the direction, writing and performance given, came together to make really interesting and finely tuned drama. Unfortunately this second series will probably be its last. It is really sad that the powers to be at the BBC could not/would not fight try to keep this very good show going, I am sure it would have sold well in North America and Australia. It seems to be extremely poor judgement to cancel the show. I guess in its place will be another repeat set of programming, which seems to be the unfortunate main stay of the BBC today - all rather sad really.

-------------------UPDATE--------------------------------------UPDATE---------------------------

22/11/2014

Amazon have revived show, after it was cancelled by the BBC so prematurely - high praise to the fans for getting the show endorsed again. It will be shown exclusively on Amazon Prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good Ripping yarn, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
S. Cook "stevetygertiger" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The writing in this series just gets better and better, the acting is superb, why we can't have more of this kind of TV and a little less 'reality' is beyond me, perhaps it is because this kind of program, Sherlock, Whitechapel and the like requires a little thought. Thanks to Amazon for saving Ripper street from being axed so that we can look forward to a third series.
PS
Mr Jerome Flynn's acting is so good we could almost forgive that Robson and Jerome album...almost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD]
Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD] by Christopher Menaul (DVD - 2014)
£9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews