Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible spectacle from a modern Pink Floyd.
Having just come back from the cinema seeing this film I can't really comment on the extra features, so I'll focus on the gig itself and hopefully go from there.

Visuals: Firstly I can safely say this film lived up to the hype presentationally. 4k sounds gimmicky, but looks beautiful, the panning camera shots capture the crowd's and Bellamy's movement like...
Published 16 months ago by Tim Senna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Muse live on holiday?
Not the best Muse album by far.I suppose I expect too much from the West Country rockers. As a showcase the video performs better than the music cd. As a fan I am satisfied, just.
Published 13 months ago by Michael J. Hawkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See and hear Muse at their best, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Rome Olympic Stadium (Audio CD)
See the enormous stage set muse took around Europe at their stadium shows. I seen them at Coventry and it was good to be reminded of it by the dvd. All the hits are played. Sound and vision enjoyment for Muse fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muse, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you didn't get to see them live this is the next best thing fantastic sound and vision almost to good to be true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing album, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Rome Olympic Stadium (Audio CD)
amazing! amazing! amazing! everything about this CD/DVD is awesome! If you only own the CD its not enough! every fan needs this live CD/DVD in there collection.
This band just gets better and better there is not one track on this album i don't like
HIGHLY recommended to all fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars muse live, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Rome Olympic Stadium (Audio CD)
very good.have not seen muse live before.i am a fairly new fan.made me want to buy more of their cds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Rome Olympic Stadium (Audio CD)
Got it for my wife and it is exactly what you need if you are a Muse fan. It is got CD and DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muse best Live, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't normally buy live albums but the quality of this is superb. The blue ray disc amazing!! Like I was there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at Rome - Italian Passion, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Rome Olympic Stadium (Audio CD)
What a superb live album - best I have heard since Hawkwind's Space Ritual. For those who like their live music to match the studio its close enough but there is enough improvisation and power to Justify the Muse's accolade of best live act.
Awesome must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the best band out there but something missing this time around, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
M. C. Whiting "cwhiting72" (NORFOLK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at Rome Olympic Stadium (Audio CD)
There is no doubt in my mind that Muse are still the best live band at the moment and offer something completely different and alternative to the dross that makes up the popular music charts.

What so many people, especially musicians like myself, love about Muse is their attention to detail, their audacity and their musicianship. There is no doubt that Matthew Bellamy is one of the most talented individuals British music has ever seen, Dom Howard one of the most underrated rock drummers ever and of course the bass player who is, well a good bass player I guess (kind of like the John Deacon argument). Then there is the mysterious fourth musketeer embellishing the epic sounds who has to be candidate for unsung hero of live music.

Onto the review - Muse as ever give a wonderful performance. It has all the power and bombast, all the weird and wonderful and all the stirring majesty of their previous outings. They are still top notch in their musicianship. The biggest leap here is the visuals - the stage and setting is more impressive than previous concerts (even HAARP) and they make use of live actors in two of the songs. The set is huge and makes full use of a popular new trend to have a catwalk thrusting out from the main stage into the crowd with a small stage at the end. They make full use of this at times careful not to overuse it and make it a gimmick whilst using it well to engage with the audience.

The live actors are a nice touch as is the occasional use of black and white. There is a megalomaniac banker in the great track `Animals' who struts down the catwalk to the small stage thrust into the audience to drown himself to death in hundreds of bank notes. There is then the femme fatale who douses herself in petrol in `Feeling Good'. I can't quite get the message with this one and it appears to be no more than a desperate attempt to make their performance raunchy rather than make a clever point like they did with `Animals'.

Where this suffers, and why it has 4-stars, is based mainly on the setlist. There is no doubt in most Muse fans minds that their last 2 albums are incomparable to their first 4. Don't get me wrong 2nd Law has some great tracks; Supremacy, Madness, Panic Station and Animals are amongst my all time favourites already. Personally The Resistance is probably their worst. The issue here is that much of their more recent material doesn't, in my opinion, translate to the live stage as well due to it being more studio based. Of the 19 songs in this concert 12 are from either 2nd Law or The Resistance. This results in only 7 tracks coming from their first four (best) albums. There is nothing whatsoever from Showbiz and only 2 tracks from arguably their finest hour - Origin of Symmetry.

All in all the occasional way in which Bellamy uses the microphone without playing an instrument makes the musicality of the performance (something that always made Muse a cut above the rest) lose some of its impressiveness. If you couple this with some of the suspect song choices it all makes this outing very musically accomplished but far too commercial for my liking, rather like their more recent albums. There is no New Born, Butterflies & Hurricanes, Citizen Erased, Stockholm Syndrome, Space Dementia, Take a Bow - all those epic tracks that made their previous live shows explode with sound and virtuosity. Ending on Starlight is such a shame and very underwhelming - one of their most overrated and over-commercial tracks in my opinion. Still 100% better than any other live act you will see but just not quite as well crafted as some of their previous efforts and treading dangerously close to the 'all style/no substance' boundary if they aren't too careful next time - mainly let down by their choice of material and their desire to commercialise themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Rock Spectacle, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prior to purchase I had similar reservations with this live release as its predecessor HAARP, namely that the audio-only CD is severely truncated compared to the live footage DVD/BD. In the case of HAARP this was especially damaging as to my mind the DVD suffered from gimmicky editorial choices and great songs like Apocalypse Please and Plug in Baby were not included on the audio version of the concert, making me dissatisfied with the choice of a CD-DVD combo format - I would have preferred a full audio capture of the concert and not been too concerned about missing out on the video footage had it been released separately.

The same issue applies to this release as well but is less of an annoyance; true, MP3-only fans will miss out on songs such as Survival, Plug in Baby, Isolated System. But that said having both listened and watched the concert I think that the full appreciation of Live at Rome Olympic Stadium, unlike HAARP, can only be gleaned from a video viewing, not least because the Blu Ray format supports astounding audio quality that cannot be matched by any CD/MP3 version. Quality of reproduction indeed, but just as equally quality of content.

Muse and the large teams of people behind this 2013 spectacle went all-out on this one; Muse's live act cannot, as ever, be faulted musically and their interaction with the crowd here reaches unprecedented heights; not only that but the accompanying visuals, actors and stage themes and lights make it a mesmerizing and titillating performance which is bound to make the puritans among us suffer from pangs of guilt! Also the editing and camera work is superior to anything I've seen when it comes to Live Music BDs and in this regard I must make a special mention to the oh so sinister video for Animals which shares screen time with the performance itself - a wise editing choice that really adds a visual dimension to the song.

When it comes to Rock music I love as do many monumental seventies acts like Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Queen and I do not think they will ever be surpassed; but it is heartening to find that Muse, while in my opinion not quite in the same league as the aforementioned bands, have a lot of god-given Rock energy to give the people in 2013 and are seemingly effortlessly carrying the mantle of the Rock genre, with that degree of integrity and self-belief which I have come to associate with them. This is inspiring for those of us who, for the most part, have absconded from the current mainstream music scene. And for this they are to be commended.

So, in conclusion, my final score is five because this is the best of reproduced contemporary live Rock music available on the market and, loyal fans notwithstanding, has been perfectly mastered for us sedentary and non-concert-going types...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuine Review of the Blu-Ray not a silly five-star review before it even came out!, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
I. D. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Rome Olympic Stadium (Audio CD)
Twelve "five star" reviews of this before it had even been released - Amazon really need to get a grip on these invalid reviews that aren't based on the product that's shipping!

First off I should explain the "four stars, not five" which is solely down to the God-awful cardboard CD packaging (I have a LOT of live music blu-rays and this is the first I've seen packaged in a rather cheap case rather than a standard Amray Blu-ray case). Also I am not a Muse fanatic like those reviewing this title before it came out. I like some of the material but find at their worst the band can be overly bombastic, pretentious and self-indulgent. There's also a large reliance on pre-recorded material, including vocals, which seemed a bit of a cheat to this viewer.

One previous reviewer said this concert would convert everyone to being a Muse fan. I beg to differ - if you're not already a huge fan the tracks all sound very "same-y" and there's no real light or shade to the material. There is the occasional film/stage acting piece to make the concert more interesting to newbies, and the footage itself is astonishing with every camera gizmo available being used to get pin-sharp footage with swooping crane shots everywhere. If you're a big fan of the band's music you can purchase this happy in the knowledge that it's going to be a five star recording for you.

The video is superb. Apparently recorded at 4K and it shows. I thought close-up audience shots could have been a little better handled (we seem to keep seeing the same two or three people close-up several times, despite the fact there were thousands there), but the use of black and white in certain numbers (which others have complained about) worked for me in adding an artistic flourish to the whole thing and making it more interesting and diverse than if it had all been shot the same. The audio - or at least the DTS 5.1 audio track I heard - is excellent. Too many music Blu-Rays have the audio in the back speakers set to a very low level so as to be almost inaudible. Not so here. It's mainly audience noise - but very loud audience noise that places you bang in the middle of the concert.

Overall, this is one of the better music videos released in the last few years and definitely worth purchasing in the HD format. You get not just 90 minutes (some missing numbers apparently) of the Rome concert, but also four numbers recorded across the US tour of the same year, although this footage looks distinctly "up-scaled SD" next to the 4K footage of the main concert. There's also a cute five minute behind the scenes showing the logistics of touring with a band that's this big. Highly recommended if you like Muse's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live at Rome Olympic Stadium
Live at Rome Olympic Stadium by Muse (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews