Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Compilation - 'End' of Story., 14 Nov 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 (Audio CD)
Another 2 disc compilation from 'One Day Music' this time focusing on George Goldner's 'End' label (his 'Gone' label has also been compiled by One Day Music'). The tracks span 1957 to 1962 and are promdominantly Doo Wop in style with a few tracks of R&B, Jump & Jive and a couple of Gospel tracks from Little Richard recorded after he denounced Rock n' Roll. The quality of the music is quite high without being outstanding, some well known artists such as Little Anthony, The Flamingos, The Dubs and the Chantels lead the way. As for sound quality, it ranges from good to very good (but never fantastic - some tracks have slight distortion). A couple of standout tracks on disc 1 (61.13mins) are 'Now that we broke up' by the Dubs and 'After you' by The Sweeties. Disc 2 (62.13mins) continues in a simular vein as disc 1 with lots Doo Wop with the picks of the bunch being 'My love came back' by The Velours and 'Fatal Charms of love' by The Four Cheers also worth a mention is Birdie Green's R&B belter 'How Come'. As with all these compilations there is no booklet just a one sided intro to the label itself. Overall, a good compilation of mainly forgotten Doo Wop tracks at a bargain price. 7.5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear Track Listing- Goodnight Sweerheart., 8 Nov 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 (Audio CD)
The Night The End Records Story 1957 -1962 has 50 original tracks spread over 2 Cds.
.
Familiar names like Little Richard and the Miracles are familiar others not so.
But then again that is the joy of these collections listening to some long lost track or discovering something new?
These sets really are a steal at this price.

Why are these releases so reasonably priced I hear you ask?

The simple reason that these sets are as cheap as chips is that the tracks are public domain.

That means the rights to the music has gone and any old Dick or Harry can release them.

The bad news for the previous rights holders' means good news for us, the buyers for if the price is too high we will not buy.
So the sets are at a more than reasonable price.
Next year the law changes to fall in line with the Americans and the 50 year rule will be finished but that will apply only to stuff released after 1963.
(Thanks to AJ Taylor for putting me right)

But Amazon have scrunched up all the tracks making it hard for people to read which tracks let alone which artist is on so I've spaced them out making it easier to read.

CD1
1. This Is The Night ~ The Toledos
2. I Found Out Why ~ Lewis Lymon & The Teenchords
3. I Only Have Eyes For You ~ The Flamingos
4. Gee ~ The Harmony Grits
5. Tears On My Pillow ~ Little Anthony & The Imperials
6. Kansas City ~ Rockin Ronald & The Rebels
7. School Day Crush ~ Nicky & The Nobles
8. Repeat After Me ~ The Delvets
9. A Story Of Love ~ The Starlighters
10. Money ~ The Miracles
11. Teach Me Tonight ~ The Bobbettes
12. It Took A Long Time ~ Malcolm Dodds & The Tunedrops
13. Shoma Dom Dom ~ The Shell Brothers
14. Now That We Broke Up ~ The Dubs
15. I Love You So ~ The Chantels
16. If I Should Lose You ~ The Dreamlovers
17. Yours ~ The Flamingos
18. Got A Job ~ The Miracles
19. I ll Pray For You ~ The Del Satins
20. Hey Little Cupid ~ The Uniques
21. I Cried ~ The Starlighters
22. Troubles Of The World ~ Little Richard
23. Lonely Boy ~ Ronnie Jones & The Classmates
24. After You ~ The Sweeties
25. Hubba Hubba Ding Ding ~ Vince Maloy

CD2
1. Shimmy, Shimmy, Ko-Ko-Bop ~ Little Anthony & The Imperials
2. Too Young ~ Lewis Lymon & The Teenchords
3. Maybe ~ The Chantels
4. You re The One To Blame ~ The Starlighters
5. Baby Baby ~ The Five Stars
6. My Love Come Back ~ The Velours
7. Whispering Winds ~ The Shell Brothers
8. Crying ~ The Teenagers
9. How Come ~ Birdie Green
10. Tell The Angels ~ The Uniques
11. My Mama Done Told Me ~ The Miracles
12. What s The Matter Baby ~ Joe Shepard
13. Fools Rush In ~ Malcolm Dodds & The Tunedrops
14. Ko Ko Mo ~ The Flamingos
15. Milky White Way ~ Little Richard
16. Fatal Charms Of Love ~ The Four Cheers
17. Teenage Rock ~ Ronnie Jones & The Classmates
18. Pardon My Heart ~ The Clusters
19. Birdland ~ The Starlighters
20. I ve Lied ~ Willie Wilson & The Tunemasters
21. Schoolhouse Rock ~ Nicky & The Nobles
22. Walkin Together ~ Pete Morris
23. I Cry ~ The Miracles
24. Crazy About You ~ Vince Maloy
25. Goodnight Sweetheart ~ The Flamingos
26. Good Morning ~ Beverley Westwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doo-wop delights, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 (Audio CD)
If you're a doo-wop lover, this is by far the best of the bargain "one-label story" CDs now available. It includes a smattering of the familiar - Flamingos, Chantels, Little Anthony etc - plus plenty of seldom played rareties. It's particularly strong on ballads. If you haven't already got The Dreamlovers' "If I Should Lose You" in your collection, then it's worth shelling out on this CD for that track alone. Scarcely a dud among the 50 songs. A wonderful mixture of some of the very best doo-wop hits, plus others which deserved to be hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 (Audio CD)
Another superb cd from One Day Music, great Doo Wop as well as Gospel. This series is well worth the money, even if there is only one or two tracks that you need for your collection, buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 (Audio CD)
A really comprehensive compilation, found quite by accident on the 'recommends' section of the Amazon site. Who knew they'd guess I'd have such good taste?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 (Audio CD)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
By 
PAUL NEEDHAM (DERBY, DERBYSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 (Audio CD)
Another Christmas present bought. 5 star review. Great cd. Very happy Lots of great old songs. Bought for my dad. Thanks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962
This Is The Night: The End Records Story 1957 - 1962 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews