Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing coffee grinder
I have always gone back to pre-ground coffee because I hate the loud noise coffee grinders make. Fortunately, this one is pretty quiet for a grinder!

The first feature which I love is the LCD screen which really does assist you with choosing for filter, espresso etc. There are a lot of grinders out there which give you a scale from fine to coarse, but it is...
Published 16 months ago by John S

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy at £200
Gave up the ghost after a few months, despite following full cleaning instructions and troubleshooting. Somewhere deep inside, which is not accessible, there is a blockage which has eliminated the grind-style function (dial stuck). Only now works on the most course grind as a result. Mickey mouse product.

Not happy at £200:(
Published 8 months ago by Alan W.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing coffee grinder, 6 Feb. 2014
By 
John S - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sage Appliances 'The Smart Grinder', Conical Burr Grinder with Brushed Metal Finish, 165 Watt (Kitchen & Home)
I have always gone back to pre-ground coffee because I hate the loud noise coffee grinders make. Fortunately, this one is pretty quiet for a grinder!

The first feature which I love is the LCD screen which really does assist you with choosing for filter, espresso etc. There are a lot of grinders out there which give you a scale from fine to coarse, but it is hard to determine which setting you need for certain types of coffee, and the screen on this grinder has really made it simple! I set it to filter for my filter coffee machine and the coffee tastes absolutely fantastic!

The grind is consistent which means the taste will be 'even' and this is extremely important when you are using an espresso machine. It is able to grind very fine which makes this grinder very suitable for espresso machines and it comes with portafilter holders so you can ground directly to the portafilter!

The build quality is excellent! It is heavy and isn't heavy good?! You know it's been made with quality in mind. The design is superb and looks very neat in your kitchen!

So overall, this grinder is perfect for making an amazing cup of coffee! It looks fantastic and does the job very well! There are tons of features which you can learn about such as the hopper can 'close' and come off so you can store your coffee beans in the fridge if you're away for a while so they keep their freshness. The grounds container has a lid so you can ground coffee and bring it to work or anywhere else. There's lots more that you can find out about on their website.

The grinder is based on the Breville Smart Grinder which was annoyingly available in other countries but not the UK, so the fact that it is now here from Sage Appliances is fantastic news!

Now, down to the downsides. So far, I have only found one which is when grinding into the grounds container. You have a small hole where the grounds go through from the grinder, and the container sometimes slides as it doesn't sit firmly in place. So often you get some grounds around the container hole, but this really doesn't matter, it's just me being very picky! That's about it from the downsides.

You pay good money for this grinder, and you can see why!
If you love coffee, this is the perfect grinder for you!

Thank you Sage Appliances for bringing this grinder into the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There are better grinders that give a more even and less clumpy ..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sage Appliances 'The Smart Grinder', Conical Burr Grinder with Brushed Metal Finish, 165 Watt (Kitchen & Home)
Well thought out machine. There are better grinders that give a more even and less clumpy output, but the attention to details and the smart design make this a nice option. Really good for my office, but would probably not be great if you want higher throughput or are super picky about the grind (issues like retention, which is on the poor side, and clumping, which is a problem).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little Grinder, 18 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Sage Appliances 'The Smart Grinder', Conical Burr Grinder with Brushed Metal Finish, 165 Watt (Kitchen & Home)
Disclaimer: This review is about my Gastroback Advanced Pro Grinder. However the Sage Smart Grinder is the exact same device. In fact, both are rebranded Breville Australia Bcg800xl. I have now used my grinder for 1.5 years on a daily basis, mainly to make espresso at work.

Design and build quality:
Really good. Although it is made from plastic with metal sheets on the outside it feels quite solid. At almost 3kg, the weight is reassuring. Attachments like the holder for the portafilter and the grounds container snap in place with magnets, everything fits snugly and feels well made. I quite like the design too.
The only nitpicking would be that the burrs are mounted in plastic holders. I would've preferred metal but so far it works well nevertheless

Use:
Use-wise it's probably the best grinder I've tested so far. Noise level is good for a grinder and it is reasonably fast (~6s for an espresso). The doser is very reliable and you can quickly change the fineness of the grind which is nice if you drink both, french press and espresso. Most importantly, this grinder is amongst the very few that manage to grind clean into the portafilter without spilling poweder all over the worktop! The (almost) airtight grounds container is a nice touch as well.

Cleaning:
The grinder is easy to disassemble for cleaning. You only have to make sure it is completely clean before reassembling because the burrs won't fit if there is still coffee debris inside.

Grind quality:
In German espresso forums there have been reports of people who were unhappy because their grinder didn't grind fine enough. Apparantly some grinders weren't set fine enough in the factory. The German distributor has special shims it will send to affected customers to rectify the issue, but I don't know if/how that applies to UK models.
I however can't complain. With my regular coffee (Drury Espresso Reale), I could grind fine enough to completely clog my espresso maker if I wanted (Gaggia Classic). With my normal settings I consistantly get perfect espresso shots (24-28 seconds for a cup).

Final verdict:
All in all an amazing little grinder. Nice to look at, easy to use and with consistantly good results. Fully recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of kit, works well and it looks great, 4 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sage Appliances 'The Smart Grinder', Conical Burr Grinder with Brushed Metal Finish, 165 Watt (Kitchen & Home)
I also use a hand grinder but then realised that my friends also like the coffee that I make so to make the job easier I researched loads of grinders and this came closest to what I wanted and it delivered.
The problem with the cheaper make of grinders is that they do not make consistent grain size. And depending on whether your making a filter coffee, a french press or another method, you will need different size grains and this machine does deliver.
Although you can't rely on the LCD readout setting, you will get to realise where you need to put the grinding level for each type of coffee you make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good looking grinder with lots of control, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sage Appliances 'The Smart Grinder', Conical Burr Grinder with Brushed Metal Finish, 165 Watt (Kitchen & Home)
This is a superb grinder if you want lots of control of your grind size and doseing. Have been using it on fine for espresso, haven't tried the coarse grind in a French press yet. Seems to have pretty good grind consistency. Also looks really goo!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy at £200, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sage Appliances 'The Smart Grinder', Conical Burr Grinder with Brushed Metal Finish, 165 Watt (Kitchen & Home)
Gave up the ghost after a few months, despite following full cleaning instructions and troubleshooting. Somewhere deep inside, which is not accessible, there is a blockage which has eliminated the grind-style function (dial stuck). Only now works on the most course grind as a result. Mickey mouse product.

Not happy at £200:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made, works perfectly., 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sage Appliances 'The Smart Grinder', Conical Burr Grinder with Brushed Metal Finish, 165 Watt (Kitchen & Home)
This is solid, well made, sensibly designed and very easy to keep clean. It's really easy to use and I was able to get it up and running within minutes of it arriving. It grinds coffee beans quickly, uniformly and with a huge amount of adjustment, though it is not the quietest grinder I've heard. The electronic display/controls are logical, easy to understand and very adjustable.

I use a stove-top coffee maker and I like a fine grind - the Sage machine is perfect for this and the coffee tastes richer, creamier and has more body than I was getting from my old blade-type grinder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews