Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel like I have been in the Storm!!
Could not put this book down and read it all in 1 day. Loved the mix of hot romance and suspense. Was feeling the romantic build up between Lexi and Noah but also loved all the side characters added in especially the 'Golden Girls'. An excellent first novel and I cannot wait for the 'Eye of the Storm' to hear more of Lexi, Noah and co. February 14 is so far away.
Published 16 months ago by Sue D

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm undecided.... 2 stars or 3 stars?
OK where to start? I think this book had a bit of an identity crisis, on the one hand it has potentially a riveting vein with Anthony the serial killer on the loose and completely and utterly possessed with Lexi and then on the other hand we have sweet but feisty Lexi recovering from her trauma at the hands of Anthony falling for her rockstar neighbour and spending a...
Published 14 months ago by An avid reader.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm undecided.... 2 stars or 3 stars?, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
An avid reader. - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
OK where to start? I think this book had a bit of an identity crisis, on the one hand it has potentially a riveting vein with Anthony the serial killer on the loose and completely and utterly possessed with Lexi and then on the other hand we have sweet but feisty Lexi recovering from her trauma at the hands of Anthony falling for her rockstar neighbour and spending a fair bit of time having random dialogue with him - yawn.

Now the parts of the book where Anthony makes an appearance are totally absorbing, riveting and you dare not drag your eyes from the text for fear of missing some of his salaciousness, ew shudder he is so messed up it's riveting reading. Trouble isn't there wasn't anywhere near enough of this element of the book, it was as though Anthony's part was secondary which is such a shame. Considering this should have been a romance thriller, a page turner it sadly isn't.

Lexi although likeable came across far too independant and Noah as hunky as he was, sometimes seemed too wishy washy, he should have 'cavemanned' her sometimes and shot down her independance. Their romance did build but sadly lacked lustre is the best way I can put it.

Then we have Lexi's relationship with the three old ladies. This is where I feel the book didn't mesh with the thrillerish side. The Ladies from the Senior Centre although funny they were also annoying, I felt there was a lot unnecessary banter and stupid sexist actions that any man would have been sent to prison for, but just because they are senior and old they are only gently scolded without any repercussions and pretty much left to carry on harrassing any man within their clutches. These ladies smacked off filler text to buff out the book and were a tad OTT. I would have found them funny if we had only tinsiest snippets of them whereas they take up a lot of air time and I can't honestly understand why. If they were there to lighten the load of the 'bad' bits then it didn't work.

Yes the banter had an appeal (sometimes) but this is where I feel the identity crisis kicks in; did the author want a soft, twee romance with a rockstar who comes across as the imbodiment of a Mills and Boon hero (not one of their modern day ones) or was this meant to be a thrillerish ride with a physco and a devilishly handsome, muscle rippling rockstar rushing to the rescue? Sadly the latter isn't how it I digested it. It was almost as though the author was too scared to take on the sadisticness of Anthony and bring it to the forefront, which is stupid because crikey in places there was some harrowing text about what he was doing which were shockers and fab reading. So why is this such a Jekyl and Hyde story? Readers that like the heart pounding moments, the 'oh my god moments' and the 'holy cow did he really just do that' are going to be left feeling flat like me that there wasn't any where near enough of them.

So I feel that this is the best way to rate this book:

Hero/Heroine - 3 stars. Likeable but also a tad one dimensional and annoying.
Evil Anthony - 5 stars. Jeepers this guy gives you the creeps!
The 3 old Ladies - 2.5 stars. Frustratingly OTT and too much air time.
Dialogue - 2 stars. Stilted and didn't flow. Hard to visualise.
Storyline - 2 stars. A bit blah......
Potential for thrilling storyline - 5 stars! for it's deliverance - 1 star.

If like me you like a 'meatier' read then honestly this won't be a book that floats your boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will definitely not be reading anymore of the series absolute waste of reading time, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Absolute rubbish. Started off with a Mills and Boon scenario with person meeting up with a wealthy attractive rock star who lives next door then went into a situation with a demented stalker. Missed out lots of abusive diatribe to get to the end of the book. Will definitely not be reading anymore of the series absolute waste of reading time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel like I have been in the Storm!!, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Could not put this book down and read it all in 1 day. Loved the mix of hot romance and suspense. Was feeling the romantic build up between Lexi and Noah but also loved all the side characters added in especially the 'Golden Girls'. An excellent first novel and I cannot wait for the 'Eye of the Storm' to hear more of Lexi, Noah and co. February 14 is so far away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars had potential, 25 July 2014
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
after reading the book description i was looking forward to reading this book but i was so disappointed. i loved lexi and noah but why did he have to keep calling her love? i didn't get why the old ladies were in the book. i started to skip through the parts of the book they were in.the thriller side of the book was good and the twist made it more enjoyable but there wasnt enough. it all happened at the end and i felt the ending was rushed. i think less of the old ladies more Anthony would have made this book better. i downloaded this free,but i wont be reading the rest of the storm series because i dont think they are worth paying for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good beach read, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good story line, lovely romance, crazy stalker and fabulous grannies!!!
This story is a quick read perfect for a holiday beach/pool read when you have all day doing nothing!
My only gripe is I wish the author had gone into more detail, you'd just get into a good part and it was over to quick. Saying that I have down loaded the next book and I'm off to the beach!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable book., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I so wish i could get into this book. It is unfortunately so unbelievable that its impossible to feel anything for the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All good in the end, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting story. Dramatic event in the life of the main character in the book, overcome by strong personality and willpower. All good in the end, met partner for life and happy end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 5 July 2014
By 
loumar (Perth scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting book liked the story and characters would read more from this author x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, captured the story well, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good read , captured the story well , will be getting more books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Storm (The Storm Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good love story in the midst of the horror. I liked the characters they were well written. The story develops at a good pace and I intend to get the sequel. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews