Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Interesting Contribution
Warpaint is undoubtedly one of my all time favourite bands, and therefore I had to listen to this album a few times before finally coming to any sort of conclusion. Especially given that Warpaint don't have the most accessible sound.

This album certainly isn't The Fool v2. There aren't nearly as many jangly guitar lines weaving together nor as many vocal...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Mudita

versus
16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric but Forgettable
Warpaint's The Fool and Exquisite Corpse are two of my favourite releases so I was looking forward to a new Warpaint release. My version on lovely 2x red vinyl arrived a couple of days early and comes with a download code. Note: the vinyl only fills 3 sides with most of the 12 tracks around 4 minutes in length.

What I've always loved about Warpaint are their...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. A. J. Miles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Interesting Contribution, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Warpaint is undoubtedly one of my all time favourite bands, and therefore I had to listen to this album a few times before finally coming to any sort of conclusion. Especially given that Warpaint don't have the most accessible sound.

This album certainly isn't The Fool v2. There aren't nearly as many jangly guitar lines weaving together nor as many vocal harmonies, for instance. Rather, they've very much taken an electronic direction. I wouldn't go so far as to say electronic sounds have replaced the guitar lines. Rather, I think the biggest shortcoming of this album is that, in a lot of the songs, nothing seems to have replaced the guitars. The stronger tracks have managed to replace the guitars with new electronic sounds. Biggy, for instance, has a that nice chunky synth riff.

The first five tracks are no doubt the strongest. Unfortunately, tracks 6-10 seem to disrupt the overall flow of the album. Disco//very is very grinding, Go In is very forgettable, and the same could be said of Feeling Alright and CC. However, they do all have that eerie, sweet, mysterious, ethereal, dark and brooding Warpaint flavour that I've have become so fond of. They just lack substance. The last two tracks sound more like the Warpaint I know and love. They seem to be less boneless than the 5 preceding tracks. They are more structured and have more of Warpaint's gorgeous vocal harmonies. Drive is, in fact, for me one of the high points of the album. Son, as well, manages to combine a guitar sound reminiscent of Radiohead's the bends and Lana Del Rey type vocals, and created something that is so utterly Warpaint.

Although I am slightly disappointed, I think this album will only improve with further listening. Just as The Fool did a few years back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That difficult 2nd album ticked, 25 Jan 2014
By 
N. Mcalister - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Warpaint's debut LP "The Fool" was one of 2010's hidden gems, it deserved so much more praise that I felt it had at the time.

Or maybe it DID get noticed? The past few months have seen a build up to what is arguably the biggest LP release of 2014 so far, as radio play has stepped up a bit, advertising for it is all over the internet, so its been impossible to miss that "its coming"!

Along with a checklist of cool, Flood producing, Radiohead's producer mixing a couple of tracks, and the mighty Chris Cunnigham (doing not only the photos and artwork, but also their videos and filming them docu-style in the making of the album), all the pieces are there, so now its just down to the power of the music.

And this is where Warpaint will catch you out, they are not the band you want them to be, or think they will be. I call them a very "stick-to-their-guns" girl group who don't much care for the now, or be bended by conventions you might hold on progressing from their debut album.

From the opening minute of their debut album, Warpaint where sticks in the mud. As an opening song "Set your arms down" on "The Fool" came across the speakers, it spoke volumes as a "here we are, we don't care, we are doing things our way" kind-of attitude to it. It was a slow, deliberate, atmospheric opening gambit that still rings true on this sequel.

Hence then the review scores around maybe don't really reflect what is going on here. Personal prefferences aside (I prefer the other album as it had better songs) it is very much a screw-you part 2 of slow, atmospheric songs, with no sign of a number 1 sell-out single on it (although "Love is to die" has done well on alternative radio)

So then, no sell-out for Warpaint this time around. Will it come? Only they hold the power to choose!

Vinyl edition is very nice, good sound and a quality pressing.

If you have ever liked The Cure, Nick Cave or anything remotely regarded as brooding and atmospheric, Warpaint could be your new favourite band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
This popped up as an Amazon recommendation - one of their best ever. This just grips you and whisks you away. Atmospheric, visceral and standing up to intense listening as well as brilliant mood music, this is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars birthday present, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Came very quickly and undamaged, and my brother loves the music, which is great since it was a surprise present for him before he went to see the band live in concert for his birthday. Only downside is it is one of those annoying cardboard cd cases rather than the far more substantial plastic cases. Luckily it wasn't bent on delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great rhythm section and vocal harmonies, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The good tracks, there are six in my view, are excellent. The other songs are fillers and so a bit inconsistent overall. And not enough material to fill 4 sides of vinyl so you get the band's logo etched on the 4th side! Unlike many reviewers, I prefer this to the Fool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid sophomore album from the highly touted female quartet......, 15 Feb 2014
By 
TCH (Cambs, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
This album has had (very) mixed reviews and it's taken some time for it to sink in with me since I think even it's admirer's would admit it is hardly packed with hooks! However I've found it to be a definite grower that can be summed up as; "bass heavy post-punk with wispy shoe-gazer vocals". The post-punk bit I like being a real fan of the genre and especially those late70's/early 80's bands that inspired by reggae pushed the bass to the fore of their sound (think 'PiL', 'Delta 5', 'Au Pairs', 'Slits', 'Young Marble Giants', 'Joy Division', 'A Certain Ratio', 23 Skidoo', 'The Fall' and so on). The bass driven grooves are embellished with flecks of guitar and synth with memorable synth-riffing on the single, "Biggy". The vocals are more problematic being ethereal and intangible in the main, just like the early 90's shoe-gazer bands, thereby not really doing the music justice. Nevertheless the best track (by far) hints at a solution to the vocal problem, "Disco//Very" which contains excellent chanted, slightly discordant vocal harmonies and a taut, moody groove --- more of this sort of thing in the future would be welcome.

Therefore a solid sophomore album; a slight improvement over their 1st in my opinion despite the manifest lack of true originality (hard to achieve these days!) and it is somewhat brave (or foolish in this Spotify-age) to put out an album that is so inaccessible without considerable effort on the part of the listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it some time..., 7 Mar 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
...because it definitely doesn't have the immediacy of Exquisite Corpse or The Fool. What it does do is slowly creep up on you without your knowledge, such that you end up walking round the supermarket humming 'Hi'....

A slow burner then, but none the worse for it - the melodies and hooks take a while to filter through, but the rhythmic drumming is excellent and very noticeable. And particularly good live, with an almost 'baggy' feel at times, rare to be a at a guitar band gig and see people dancing on the spot!

But enough of that, go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Further proof that this girl group is in a league of their own, 4 Feb 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Even though there's no testosterone in the band members of Warpaint, there's certainly no shortage of attitude, tension, edge and darkness in the Alternative/Indie girl group's music - a quality that largely sets them apart from most other contemporary female musicians whose vocals and songwriting are often too twee and cutesy. The album cover's gorgeous artwork - hazy, layered, mirage-like images - is a good indication of the atmosphere-heavy, often languid and hypnotic music that is influenced by related music genres such as `80s Ethereal Wave, early `90s Shoegaze, and contemporary Dream-Pop, all of which emphasize sonic textures as much as melody.

volt-and-volume.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric but Forgettable, 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: Warpaint [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Warpaint's The Fool and Exquisite Corpse are two of my favourite releases so I was looking forward to a new Warpaint release. My version on lovely 2x red vinyl arrived a couple of days early and comes with a download code. Note: the vinyl only fills 3 sides with most of the 12 tracks around 4 minutes in length.

What I've always loved about Warpaint are their rather obscure tracks combined with Emily Kokal's close to cracking up vocals. I started to have concerns with this new album when guitarist/vocalist Theresa Wayman stated that previous albums were "totally crammed" with "too much instrumentation" and "We leant towards things we thought were sexier". Whatever this means? There were rave reactions on YouTube to `love is to die' with its key change chorus but it left me rather unimpressed. The album has some nice vocal harmonies but most of the songs have stripped out guitars leaving the vocals, bass, and drums to carry the songs. Guitars lazily jiggle in then out but on many tracks they have largely been replaced with synthesizer. I'm sure this new direction will spilt fan opinion? Even on the track `Hi' - which other reviews are stating as the highpoint - drum kit is mostly replaced with drum machine and synth for guitar. Personally, I like 'Feeling Alright' where this new focus works extremely well with its subdued dubstep bass line leading into the tracks 'CC' and 'Drive'.

Unlike previous releases there is a lack of urgency and rawness. It's like the band have thought way too long over each track musing over every detail. The album is therefore a muted affair and with very few edgy vocals. The guitar work is so restrained that none of this atmospheric drifting transports you to a different place. Most of the time the music lacks anything that will remotely stir your senses. I'm very sorry to say less instrumentation has equalled rather boring songs. Nothing on this release comes close to matching the brilliance of 'Majesty', 'Beetles', 'Elephants' or 'Undertow' which is a major shame.

The album 'Warpaint' may have advanced the band technically in recording and production techniques but in the end we have an album that's rather too easy listening and completely forgettable. You could play this to your Granma, at a vicar's teas party, or even in a shopping centre and it would not offend anyone and would just drift into their subconscious as background music. I believe my score generally reflects what music critics have given and for once they maybe right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious, esoteric, tuneful and poetic!, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Some great musical moments with strong vocals, gliding ambient guitar sounds, pulsing rhythms and enigmatic bass sounds. Love is to die is to die for.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4384630)

This product

Warpaint [VINYL]
Warpaint [VINYL] by Warpaint (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews