Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2014
Age of Context: Mobile, Sensors, Data and the Future of Privacy gives a clear underatdsning of what MAY be coming and some ideas on whats already here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
An excellent book for those coming into the digital age and wondering where do I make my self relevant. Read it cover to cover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
I was slightly dubious when I bought the book as I was worried it could be a tech fan boy romp that bore no relation to life outside of Silicon Valley. I was delighted to find that is was actually a pragmatic highly informative view of key trends and where they are going. If you are familiar with the themes it discusses you'll find all the key thinking here organized in a very readable way that makes you think deeper about what is happening with technology. If you aren't familiar with the latest tech trends then this book will absolutely blow your mind!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
Review: Age of Context: Mobile Sensors, Data, and the Future of Privacy
by Robert Scoble and Shel Israel

Amazon U.S
http://www.amazon.com/Age-Context-Mobile-Sensors-Privacy/dp/1492348430/

Amazon UK
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Age-Context-Mobile-Sensors-Privacy/dp/1492348430/

More videos http://youtube.com/mickeleh

Follow me on Twitter at
http://www.twitter.com/mickeleh

Please subscribe
http://youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=mickeleh

Robert Scoble
Blog: http://scobleizer.com/
Facebook: https://facebook.com/RobertScoble
Twitter: http://twiter.com/cobleizer

Shel Israel

https://twitter.com/shelisrael

The Age of Context. is about how Everything we deal with is getting smarter about who we are, who we know, where are, and what we want.
Our things are getting to know us.

Five key tech trends
MOBILE--
the fact that we have connected tech with us always.
SOCIAL MEDIA--
the fact that we willingly identify our friends and family and never shut up about what interests us.
DATA--
the fact that we now have the ability to store and sift enormous piles of clues.
SENSORS--
the fact that even if we're not talking, our things are listening.
and watching.
and feeling.
LOCATION-
the fact that our interests and requirements shift as we move through our environment. Driving to the airport? shopping? going to work? Waiting for the doctor?

Robert seems transfixed by what the new tech is bringing to us
Shel a bit more wary about it's taking from us.
The ultimate question the book raises: When companies know us better,
will they serve us better... or exploit us more ruthlessly?
Scoble leans into these changes. Israel holds back, more sensitive to how creepy it's all becoming.
The tension between their points of view gives the book a useful balance. And you can probably locate your own attitudes on the spectrum that runs between
Robert and Shel.

Photos
Robert Scoble and Shel Israel by Thomas Hawk
Scoble wearing Glass by Zennie62
used under CC license.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Scoble and Israel have spent the last year or so taking a deep dive into the world of contextual companies and start-ups, at how devices and tools and services are growing around the idea of where, what and how something is being used impacts the use and how this will change how we live our lives. They provide a series of brilliant examples of what is available now and what is being tested, such as ways to improve customer service, driver safety or your health. Thought the product stories, they also raise the issues that such technological changes could bring, primarily around personal privacy - who does own the data and what can they do with it.

This is a great book if you want an overview of all the different places context is playing a role in tech change, with lots of different ideas and examples provided along with a look at the implications. It gives anyone a start to allow further examination of the issues. They style may not be for everyone, being very subjective in discussing the different perspectives of the 2 writers, but it is well worth a read. Fully recommended.

(This review has been done following the receipt of a review copy from the authors)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
This is one of those books that helps define an era. With it's feet firmly planted in the here and now, it charts the seismic changes that we're undergoing as a global society, newly connected by - and hopefully unified through - digital technology. It's a joy to read and it'd be great to see an expansion of some of the themes covered in another volume. My only gripe? It's too short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
I have one major problem with the services and technology described by Scoble. I want them today, not in two or three years time, provided they come out of beta or get funded by Kickstarter. Google Glass? Great, would love a pair, but will they ever come to market at a price the average consumer can afford? Likewise with most of the technologies described.. . Time will tell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
The Age of Context is one of those books that is not only enlightening but factual. This is a peak into what's coming in the future of online business and personal stuff, stuff that we use everyday and probably take for granted.

If you have an online business then you really need to read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
I'm doing my dissertation on wearable technology so this was a great book to read to get their point of view on it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)