Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UK blu-ray review
Nice package from Arrow with strong picture and audio. The image is a little soft at times and the flashback scenes are grainy but both of these are intentional. LPCM 2.0 audio is good and English HoH subtitles are clear.

The extras are nice. The best of these is a feature length BBC doc on director Donald Cammell which is full of interviews with James Fox,...
Published 4 months ago by Blood Freak

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great arrow release but shame about the film
i was expecting a really good slasher but i just found this one pretty boring, maybe if i view it again it might be better but i was expecting alot better with more kills, the film itself i would give 2/5 but i gave it 3/5 because arrow has done a great job on the new artwork and extras
Published 3 months ago by D.P


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UK blu-ray review, 24 Mar 2014
This review is from: White of the Eye [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Nice package from Arrow with strong picture and audio. The image is a little soft at times and the flashback scenes are grainy but both of these are intentional. LPCM 2.0 audio is good and English HoH subtitles are clear.

The extras are nice. The best of these is a feature length BBC doc on director Donald Cammell which is full of interviews with James Fox, Mick Jagger, Cammell, Barbara Steele etc.There is also alternate opening titles, bleach bypass scenes (11 mins of flashbacks without grain), interview with cinematographer (11 mins, very honest), short film "The Argument" (11 mins), collector booklet.

Region B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little known about masterpiece, 12 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White of the Eye [DVD] (DVD)
Underviewed and underappreciated White Of The Eye is a masterpiece make no mistake. For a film about a serial killer this is really high end stuff.

Magnificent direction from Donald Cammell, with superb performances from Cathy Moriarty and David Keith. This is very disturbing in parts but also tender, thought-provoking and utterly gripping from start to finish.

Making wonderful use of the Tuscon locations and featuring a wealth of quirky minor characters, White Of The Eye must be seen! Any serious film fan will love this!
Deserves a proper release on DVD as this particular transfer is pretty awful.

I await with bated breath a restored Bluray release for this incredible film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb movie, 14 April 2008
This review is from: White of the Eye [DVD] (DVD)
This film is brilliant. It seems like an 80s slasher movie, but something really weird happens and the film is much bigger, it touches on all sorts of issues. The director also did Performance (with Nic Roeg), and Demon Seed. It's totally different to either of those. I can't recommend it highly enough, just make sure to go in without any expectations and you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique thriller, 29 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White of the Eye [DVD] (DVD)
Paul White(David Keith) is a devoted husband and father, and is well loved in the community he lives in. He works as an installer of highly advanced satelite television equipment in the homes of wealthy citizens.
Meanwhile, a group of detectives are investigating a series of horrific ritualistic murders, and suspicion falls upon Paul. Could this loving family man really be the perpetrator of these crimes, or is there someone else behind it?
This is an excellent variation on a well worn theme, as Donald Cammell creates a film that is both beautiful to look at, and offers a unique perspective on the slasher genre. Keith gives a remarkable performance as the perfect husband/father with skeletons in the cupboard, and Cathy Moriarty is equally good as his concerned wife.
The only small gripe I have is the ending. It seems so out of place from the rest of the film that it does dissapoint slightly, but there have been so many wonderful moments up to that point, it can be easily forgiven.
A fascinating, unique film, that has the ability to dazzle the senses, and leave a lasting impression on this viewer at least. Unfortunately, Cammell commited suicide in 1996, but at least we have films such as this to remember him by. Watch and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated classic, 22 Nov 2012
By 
T. Prankerd "Counter-X.net" (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White of the Eye [DVD] (DVD)
As with "Demon Seed" (his previous film despite the ten-year gap) Donald Cammell's "White of the Eye" is basically a straightforward genre film hugely enhanced by the director's idiosyncratic touches. His fingerprints are much more evident on this driven serial killer story - lush photography, razor-sharp editing, innovative camera angles and a couple of meaty twists along the way. The normally sturdy David Keith raises his game to give a superb performance and Cathy Moriarty finally gets a good film a long time after "Raging Bull" seemed to set her up for a great career. Easily the best of Cammell's solo films, a real minor gem that deserves a much bigger audience.

The precise DVD listed is Dutch, which means Dutch text on the synopsis on the rear cover but little else - the Dutch subtitles for the film can be turned off easily and the cover and spine are all-English. Picture quality is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eye's Have It, 21 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. W. Searle (Kingston Upon Thames) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White of the Eye [DVD] (DVD)
White of the Eye is an extremely interesting film, were a happliy married women discovers her doting husband is a serial killer. Whilst the husband clearly holds strong family values and strives to be a good husband, he's also deeply un-hinged with a strange spiritual cosmic view with regards to existence. This is surreal stuff full of interesting dialoque and unusual imagery. Shamefully overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great arrow release but shame about the film, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White of the Eye [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i was expecting a really good slasher but i just found this one pretty boring, maybe if i view it again it might be better but i was expecting alot better with more kills, the film itself i would give 2/5 but i gave it 3/5 because arrow has done a great job on the new artwork and extras
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Real Shocker, 1 April 2014
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White of the Eye [DVD] (DVD)
This film appeared on South African Television and due to the exstatic write ups from Amazon and six reviewers, my wife and i decided to watch it with disastrous results from our point of view. I cannot belief that it was rated 15years and older , it should have been 18 years and older. In fact the film should never have been made.

I had never heard of Donald Cammell, the Director, and only know from one of the reviewers that he committed suicide in 1996 and if this film is anything to go by, it does not suprise me. The story is about a so called devoted father and husband and a popular figure in Tuscon, who is suspected of being a serial killer by detectives investigating rather nasty murders of wealthy women in Tuscon who have upmarket sound systems installed by the so called devoted father and loving husband, with skeletons in his closet.

The language in the whole of the film was disgusting as was the dialogue for a lot of the time, the acting of a poor standard and if one could call it a saving grace the scenery was beautifully photographed and some classical music played during parts of it beautiful to listen too. The ending of the film was atrocious and in fact it summoned up the whole distrous mess of a film.

My wife and i are in our 70's and i don't know the age of the Amazon reviewers or their predilictions but it does not suprise me that the world is in such a mess when the cinema industry can produce such unadulterated nonsense. I know that there are in life terrible crimes committed by people but to eulogise them in this sort of way beggars belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White of the Eye [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray]
White of the Eye [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] by Donald Cammell (Blu-ray - 2014)
15.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews