Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird but fun 80's horror movie
I first watched this on video rental and I remember thinking it was a little crazy back then. The main star of the film is Ron Palillio from Welcome Back Cotter. It starts in the 1950's with a gang of bikers chasing a girl (Abigail Wolocott) into Hellgate, without revealing too much about the story, which is part campfire tale, we cut to present day (1990) and Abigail...
Published 9 months ago by Mr.Markzilla

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun!
Great fun and quality arrow purchase!
Couldn't resist buying it as it was limited edition and took me right back to my youth.
Published 8 months ago by John McHugh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird but fun 80's horror movie, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellgate [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I first watched this on video rental and I remember thinking it was a little crazy back then. The main star of the film is Ron Palillio from Welcome Back Cotter. It starts in the 1950's with a gang of bikers chasing a girl (Abigail Wolocott) into Hellgate, without revealing too much about the story, which is part campfire tale, we cut to present day (1990) and Abigail Wolocott spends most of the movie flashing quite a lot of flesh. A miner finds a crystal which can bring the dead back to life (there's a brilliant scene with a stiff winged prop bat on fishing line) and it's all set in a ghost town. It's one of those films that if you grew up with video rentals you have possibly got some vague memory of a film set in a ghost town with circus performers and can can dancers.
South Africa doubles up pretty well for America and the cast were picked for their ability to do an American accent, don't buy it for the acting, buy it for the memories of growing up with campy horror movies on video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrow's Hellgate Blu/DVD combo, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Paul WJM (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hellgate [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Tagging onto the tail end of the 80s video revolution Hellgate is a periodically silly horror comedy with a mishmash of ideas that somehow seems recently to have unfairly been labelled as the worst film of all time by newcomers to the genre, who I can only guess don't seem to understand eighties horror sensibilities. Of course, it's no fantastic piece of work, but as something that entertains on at least an occasional basis, it certainly not a pile of steaming turd either. It actually, I would argue, has a few things going for it. Aside from the pretty cruddy crystal laser, the special effects (which include a nifty reanimated turtle and an exploding goldfish) are pretty impressive whilst not necessarily winning any Tom-Savini awards. It also contains a touch of nudity and gore, and even a few laughs, not too far away from the territory of many other American eighties horror comedies really. If I would level any criticism at it, it is that the acting can leave a little to be desired, plus the main characters are not as charismatic as, say, the posse of punks in Return of the Living Dead. And then there is that rather screwy stage host that appears for a couple of minutes before a surreal dance show. But really, people, it aint that bad. And I'd rather stick this on than much of the PC dross that drips forth from Hollywood anyway, to be honest.

Arrow's Blu-ray/DVD combo is limited to 1000, probably realistically given the small target audience for something like this. But grab it quick if you want it. Transfer-wise it is excellent, looking a million times better than you would ever expect something like this to (based on the Blu-ray - have not checked the DVD as I have no reason to!). Audio quality is delivered via uncompressed stereo but limited by its 1989 origins - still, it sounds okay. You also get towards an hour's worth of featurettes (slicing out a good portion of that for unnecessary integrated film clips), something of a surprise for a low-key title such as this. There is also some nice new art on the cover, and original video art on the reverse if you're not keen on that, and even a booklet containing an essay. As is often the case these days, Arrow have delivered a fantastic package for a title that you would never have guessed would ever get it. Definitely one for fans of American eighties horror.

Review by Paul from The Grim Cellar (BlogSpot). To potential buyers, you might want to check Arrow's store and buy direct (they still have stock at the time of writing) rather than pay some profiteer forty quid or whatever now that Amazon et al have ran out of stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not half as bad as everyone says., 27 Feb 2014
By 
O. Twaddle "The Phantom" (Hell) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellgate [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I think this movie is great! Personally, I think people do not realize this film is supposed to be stupid and funny.
Everyone goes into this movie expecting 100% seriousness and Horror and gets disappointed. It is a Horror Comedy! I have my mind correctly set when it comes to these types of films. I like these types of films much, much more than anything that comes out these days.
For fans of this film, It looks great on Blu-ray, some scratches and specks here and there, But that is to be expected with a very low-budget film such as this. The audio is great as well, It contains the original mix as a Uncompressed LPCM 2.0 track.
This Blu-Ray is limited to 1000 copies, Which is not many considering.
Looks like this is now sold out here at amazon, I believe that Arrow's website still has it available though.
These are probably nearly sold out everywhere by now, Get one if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellgate [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great fun and quality arrow purchase!
Couldn't resist buying it as it was limited edition and took me right back to my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It’ll test your tolerance of bad movies, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellgate [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I’d been meaning to see this movie for a while now but was always put off by the extremely negative reviews, it’s even currently rated as low as 2.8 on Imdb! But then I noticed Arrow were due to give it the Special Edition blu-ray treatment and I thought the film must have some redeeming qualities for them to bother. So I decided to pre-order and give this one a go hoping to be pleasantly surprised with a decent film... but I wasn’t. In fact I feel this was a real missed opportunity as the set-up of the story of a beautiful ghostly hitchiker seducing and luring drivers to their deaths was a strong enough premise to work with, but the whole thing descends into a hilariously bad wreck of a film! Acting, dialogue and attempts at humour were just embarrassing. The humour was funny for not being funny and therein lies the entertainment appeal. I watched on just to see how consistently awful things remained. Had the movie stuck with a more serious tone, eased up on the cheesiness and develop a better script a semi-decent film may have been born. That’s not to say the movie was totally without its merits. The actual ghost town of ’Hellgate’ was creepy and atmospherically created I felt, and there’s a bit of moderate gore and all the female cast bare some flesh on various occasions. So it has that sleaze appeal and the so-bad-it’s-good vibe going for it.

As for the picture quality of the blu-ray I found it pretty nice to look at, not exactly pristine, but very good. This dual format release is limited to only 1000 copies and as it’s the only blu-ray release of the film currently they may not be around for long. Though you may find very few reviews telling you to rush out and purchase this film, it’s a nice little collectors item that’s reasonably priced at the moment. But blind buyers beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unlike amazon's star rating says I don't hate Hellgate, but wow this not a good film., 18 Feb 2014
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hellgate [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I absolute abhor the attitude of the lazier amazon review, the amazon reviewer who labels stuff that they didn't understand or stuff that wasn't quite as good as they excepted as the 'worst film they have ever seen'. Takes a special kind to throw that line out for every bad film they ever see. But for Hellgate, I have to concede, I am certainly heading that way. It's very rare that music, acting, editing, script, costume, cinematography, effects, pacing and realization all combine to make something as outright terrible as Hellgate. It does show some glimmers of promise with a great location on which to shoot and a fun use of the diamond (that brings the dead back to life), early on. But any hope quickly falls away. It thinks it is hilarious, it's not it is tragic and quite smug. I know this is a cult film loved by people who subscribe to the "so bad its good" theory. Not me, this sort of stuff really tests me. Yeah. It's nowhere near as bad as Troll 2, The Room or Plan 9 from outer space, still... come on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hellgate [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray]
Hellgate [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray] by William A. Levey (Blu-ray - 2014)
Used & New from: £40.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews