Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars12
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2015
Bought this because I heard the brilliant version of I Want You by Burma Orchestra Saing Waing but apart from that track (5 stars) and Pura Das Baul's Mr Tamourine Man (4 stars) and Musicians of The Nile's version of Tangled Up In Blue (4 stars) I found nothing of interest in the remaining ten tracks. Most of the songs were unidentifiable, didn't even recognize the tunes in some cases. Looking at it as straight forward world music CD, it has it's moments and I'm loathe to criticise the bands included here who were given a difficult task. I know Buda Records and they have some terrific stuff in their catalogue and they're dedicated people but for once they just had a good idea that failed for me. Check it out before you buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
If you like Bob Dylan's style, and the world music genre, then you'll probably like most of the tracks on this CD. Some tracks work better than others and a few take some getting used to. There are a few genuinely loverly pieces. So, it's worth a go.

I wonder what Bob makes of it?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Par excellence, a testimony to how the lyrics of Bob Dylan travel so effortlessly into foreign lands, his lyrics will live on and on..so much older then, younger than that now'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
I found this a very good and interesting Album . It shows a lot of Dylan compositions
in a different light . Not being sung in English and in some cases not the same
backing tune . It certainly opened by eyes to different interpretations of some of the
songs as we know them . I recommend this Album and the take on his songs .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
A very strange collection, I like it. You can sing these tunes all over the world. The most beautiful thing is that there isn't something close to the original but they bring the text into own musical culture
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
This is a most interesting release - especially since few of the tracks are recognisable from their original version! All Dylan freaks, check it out!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Some versions a bit too deferntial, perhaps - but nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
wacky way to gain insight into the dylan-monde
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
quite good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
The key word here is "Tribute" as the majority of these versions bear little resemblance to the songs that they claim to be based upon.
It is well nigh impossible for a North American or Western European ear to judge the quality of these performances.
A few tracks are easily recognisable but they are at best quirky versions of the originals.
I greatly prefer the sound track from "Masked and Anonymous " to which I have seen this compared. to sum up it isn't bad but just very different and regrettably will not be getting many plays on my CD player
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)