Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Wish 1974 US Blu-Ray
First off i pre-ordered this from dvd world usa and have received my copy early.

This US disc is region free so uk fans buy with confidence.

The film is presented in 1.78.1 according to imdb the films original aspect ratio is 1.85.1 so don't know why that wasn't used for this blu ray.

PQ is very good vibrant colours and a clear picture...
Published 10 months ago by M. Stewart

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge time
Death Wish is gritty and has a politically interesting ending but Michael Winner's direction and over all script have dated badly. Charles Bronsan gives a great performance and the rest of the cast support him well. The film is worth watching because it tries its best to capture the mood of the time it was made, early 1970's New York.
Published 19 months ago by m j cuddy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Wish 1974 US Blu-Ray, 18 Jan 2014
By 
M. Stewart "kimble" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Wish: 40th Anniversary [Blu-ray] [1974] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
First off i pre-ordered this from dvd world usa and have received my copy early.

This US disc is region free so uk fans buy with confidence.

The film is presented in 1.78.1 according to imdb the films original aspect ratio is 1.85.1 so don't know why that wasn't used for this blu ray.

PQ is very good vibrant colours and a clear picture that looks like it has been re-mastered.
I have death wish on dvd and the blu-ray was worth the upgrade.

SQ is DTS-HD MASTER AUDIO 2.0.

Special features are poor just a theatrical trailer.

If you are a fan of this movie and own the sequels on blu-ray then this disc is worth importing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping but underated, 20 Oct 2007
By 
D Skilton (east sussex uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death Wish [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Due to this films rubbish sequels(each one worse than the last)critics seem to tarnish it with the same brush. If your new to this film ignore the critics and go buy. Its the gripping and sometimes disturbing story of Paul Kersey who turns vigilante after his wife is killed and his daughter raped by low life scum who break into his house. This is one of the first films(if not the first)of its kind and also one of the most underated movies of the seventies. Even though it does seem a little dated now. Charles Bronson is on top form as Kersey. Also to my knowledge this is the first time the film is available in its uncut version on either dvd or video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gritty urban tale, 15 Oct 2008
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death Wish [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Death Wish is considered to be a classic movie and even though it was first released in 1974, it still stands the test of time.

A respectable New York civil engineer's life changes when his wife is murdered and his daughter is raped in their own apartment while he's at work. After a business trip to Tucson, Arizona (where he is given a pistol as a leaving present) he then returns to New York and reinvents himself as a vigilante.

I wonder how the New York tourist authorities took to this when it first came out... Death Wish is a dark tale - as expected, there's little cheer in this movie. It's also a rather slow starter - for example, Paul Kersey (the protagonist) doesn't bump off his first mugger until the 44th minute (it's a 93 minute movie). Once he gets into the swing of things though, he helps clean up the streets by shooting down 10 street thugs in total - and even 'honeytraps' a few by flashing a bulging wallet in a cafe.

Deliberately seeking out violent thugs is not without its costs and Kersey suffers for his 'art' (being stabbed in the shoulder by one and shot in the leg in another incident).

This film is the vigilante anthem. Most people don't have complete faith in the criminal justice system and so everyone can relate to Paul Kersey to some extent (Charles Bronson).

Overall, this is a classic movie, mainly because of its central theme rather than its acting ability or its score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still relevant. Still entertaining. A good film to own., 14 Dec 2003
By 
mr_ska (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Death Wish. What a film. This film rode the tide of admiration for vigilante action against the ones that seem to avoid justice or just plain slip through the cracks. When Paul Kersey's (Bronson) wife and daughter are attacked in their own home, beaten and sexual assaulted by a gang of low life scum, the police and the courts offer no justice. Later after learning to shoot and ditching his liberal values Kersey takes to the streets to dispense some real justice!
Now this sure does raise some interesting moral questions, but lets face it, we all back Bronson/Kersey, and maybe even secretly admire his actions, at least to some extent. We know that what he does is wrong, but the 'thrill' of revenge and harsh punishment dealt out to criminals sure carries a hell of a punch. You may be surprised just how relevant and fresh the issues are to modern Britain now. Time to remind yourself just how important a film this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic From Charles Bronson, 18 Dec 2003
'Death Wish'. The title really sums up the whole film, and how violent its going to be. Thats not a problem though as this is a great film and by now is definately, in my eyes if no one elses, an all time classic.
It stars Charles Bronson as Paul Kersey who turns from a normal everyday man to an urban vigilante who deals out some real justice after his wife is murdered and his daughter-in-law is raped by some thugs.
The acting in this film is great, especially from Charles Bronson, who really shows the emotions of Kersey well, and as i'm sure you already know, the audience, (well me anyway) have no trouble believing that Paul Kersey could really do such a thing because how can they not when Bronson is playing the role.
In total there are four sequels following on from this one which i will be honest about and say that i have never seen them despite my liking of the original. Its not that i don't want to see them, its just that they are quite hard to find.
So, if you are a fan of Charles Bronson then you simply must buy this film, if you are not a fan of Charles Bronson, then still by this film and by the end of it you probably will find that you have become a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the upgrade, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Wish: 40th Anniversary [Blu-ray] [1974] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Famous film with Charles Bronson, first one from the Death Wish series and one of the best. Picture is fantastic on blu-ray and worth the upgrade. I got the US import as uncut, if you have not seen the film then you need to as it is one of the best vigilante films ever made, pretty violent and is still relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars death wish, 5 Sep 2006
By 
Chris Jones "MEDEASOLUSINS" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Wish [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
wow for the first time in the uk the un-cut version , so now you can see why bronson gose mad and more violent great widescreen print and at a running time of 93 mins just wish the others were out in the uk, not including the badly cut death wish two on columbia dvd, this is a must for all bronson fans and film buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge time, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Wish [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Death Wish is gritty and has a politically interesting ending but Michael Winner's direction and over all script have dated badly. Charles Bronsan gives a great performance and the rest of the cast support him well. The film is worth watching because it tries its best to capture the mood of the time it was made, early 1970's New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 40 years on - this troubling, ambiguous thriller continues to provoke, 10 May 2014
By 
NoirAddict (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Wish: 40th Anniversary [Blu-ray] [1974] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Firsty a confession. When this movie first came out in theaters I was to too young to see it but I do remember the storm of negative reviews from critics as well as its popular appeal to moviegoers.
In the 40 years since its release, several things have become clear.
Firstly, Charles Bronson COULD act. In this movie his slow progression from grieving widower to reluctant vigilante is well portrayed. As well as his initial revulsion following his first shooting/murder. So is Charles Bronson's acting wooden? Sometimes in other movies yep. But I think he definitely is committed to showing the range of his characters emotions & reactions to the world around him.
Secondly, Michael Winner is not a great director, even with strong dramatic material to work with. Probably not a major revelation. :) While the movie does work on its own terms, and you can follow events through to their ambiguous conclusion the movie contains a LOT of missed opportunities, not helped by a largely immobile camera & workmanlike editing.
Apparently during development of this movie Sidney Lumet was attached as a director but unfortunately left to work on Serpcio instead. It would have been fascinating to see how he would have used the same material to make a movie.
Regardless of what might have been, the movie works on its terms. Just don't expect to see a lot of subtle character interaction or layered development of the moral conundrums posed by Bronson's vigilante antics.
Thirdly, the movie should definitely be seen alongside other movies dealing with police corruption and crime made during the same period like Serpico and Dirty Harry. Interesting period when big questions were being raised in public life about trust in figures of authority and institutions following high profile failings such as Watergate and Vietnam.
So am I saying you should watch this movie? Yep, but probably after having seen Dirty Harry and also Serpico. Death Wish is a good film and worth watching as it still has a powerful message but it's not IMHO in the same class as the other two better movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Wish 1 - DVD, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: Death Wish [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Death Wish is a very upfront movie about violence/crime in the USA and how a man who had his wife killed and his daughter raped decides to get revenge.
Charles Bronson is such a chilled out actor that fits in brilliantly in the role of a vigilante. He really does a fine job in this film and gives one of his best ever performances on film.
This is a violent movie but compared to modern violent films it's quite tame, but the brilliant acting does make this quite convincing.
There was several sequels, and the 2nd version of Death Wish is also a great film, but as with many movies with multiple sequels they tend to drop in quality.
Definitely a great movie full of suspense, action and Charles Bronson shooting bad guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Wish: 40th Anniversary [Blu-ray] [1974] [US Import]
£14.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews