Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and Intriguing
Arcade Fire have been a band I have been following since the seminal Funeral album was released way back in, was it 2005?

Each album subsequent to that, Neon Bible and latterly, The Suburbs, have seen them confound expectations. But, whilst they have done a Radiohead and aimed for ever more obscure sounds inspired by seemingly endless rounds of navel gazing and...
Published 5 months ago by Brian Hamilton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Ambitious Fourth
Reflektor is the fourth studio album by Canadian indie rock band Arcade Fire.

It was tricky enough following up the seminal debut Funeral; this remains their best work to date. However Neon Bible and The Suburbs were still sublime.

The new album is another turn in a different direction. Notably co-produced by James Murphy (LCD Soundsystem), Reflektor...
Published 5 months ago by Adam Finn


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and Intriguing, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reflektor (Audio CD)
Arcade Fire have been a band I have been following since the seminal Funeral album was released way back in, was it 2005?

Each album subsequent to that, Neon Bible and latterly, The Suburbs, have seen them confound expectations. But, whilst they have done a Radiohead and aimed for ever more obscure sounds inspired by seemingly endless rounds of navel gazing and struggling with the awkwardness they clearly show at their world domination, their sound has never suffered or become boring.

So it is, with the fourth album, we are treated to yet another string to their bow. Proceedings are pretty much in the vein of lead single Reflektor, if you have heard this the you know the type of sound, low key drums, whispered vocals that are oft snarled into the mic, all told a fairly disconcerting mix which is very intoxicating and draws you in on repeated listening. Some of the rougher and more ill-defined noises reminds me of 'On Avery Island' era Neutral Milk Hotel, a very analog-ish, lo-fi and rough sound that is very intriguing.

Although this is a double album it could have comfortably fit on one disc rather than two, but hey, it doesn't matter. The album packaging is well thought out, each disc has a fold out booklet that contains lyrics and grainy, colour photos that are abstract, voodoo-esque and unsettling. A very good accompaniment to the sounds.

I have been drawn in and seduced by this album, although not an immediate hit with killer hooks it pulls you into its world upon repeated listening and is genuinely brilliant.

For the Arcade Fire fan this is essential.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here come The Reflektors..., 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: Reflektor (Audio CD)
Arcade Fire? Just a band...and a hugely over hyped one at that which might go some way to explaining why this 'abstract' and 'difficult' 4th album has divided hard core fans and rock dullard music journalists.

My own personal hero worship of Arcade was a brief two year fling between 2005 and 2007 that ended once I had overplayed the rather brilliant 'Neon Bible' with its gorgeous deluxe CD boxset. By the time that 'The Suburbs' came along, I had totally lost interest, skipped that particularly album despite all the praise and nonsense written about it until a week or so again when 'Reflecktor' blasted out of the radio and lifted a sterile playlist full of Top 40 twerking junk.
Was this really Arcade Fire with a pulsating Giorgio Moroder bassline, deliciously offbeat vocal interplay within a indie disco stomper that was subversively altering the airwaves of Planet Pop? The title track was worthy of further investigation and after one play of both volumes, I was hooked once again by this curious Canadian band and giving the entire album another listen, followed by another listen.

The first thing that struck me about this album as a whole was its wonderful diversity - each track is so different and so brilliantly bonkers how they all build then wrong foot the listener with a nifty chord change or a curve ball in the form of a frantic finish within a clash of ideas. It is this unique brilliance across both volumes that inspires wonder with each play. LCD's James Murphy certainly adds something new and exciting to Arcade's already rich pallet of sounds but his input has been massively overstated by those who have rubbished the album.

'Reflektor' isn't the full-on electronic album that critics claim, nor is it a traditional Arcade Fire album but it is something that will reward patient listeners with a love for vinyl and soundscapes and 'Reflektor' has plenty of that. There's enough 'classic' Arcade to please long term fans on Volume 1 with tracks that flirt with everything including reggae and 'rock' as well as influences that evoke fond memories of Bowie's finest album 'Low' merged with early Talking Heads & Eno. Then there's Arcade's trademark life affirming choruses all sung and performed as though the band are close to breakdown - edgy yet violently happy.

For me, the best is all left for volume 2 that contains my current choice track 'Porno' with its minimalist new wave synths, stripped bare and free of bombastic production that enables the track to take on a hypnotic, twisted journey. Someone really needs to lock Arcade in a studio awash with classic Moogs and other collectable analogue keyboards because 'Porno' could well be a future blueprint for a band keen to embrace new sonic adventures.

Perhaps the biggest compliment I can give to 'Reflektor' is that with each listen, my fave track changes. One night its 'Porno', the next its 'Afterlife' (a track that will be *everywhere* soon trust me) and at the time of writing these words, 'It's Never Over (Oh Orpheus)' has crept into the scheme of things.

Some people think 'Reflektor' is 'too long'? Nonsense I say. It's not long enough.

I want volumes 5 & 6 and I want them now.

The 180g double vinyl is quite steep with a retail price of over 20 pounds but the sturdy cover and inner sleeves are printed on lush light reflective card. This provides a brilliant effect on the inlay of volume 2 which is covered with stylishly spooky phototgraphy from Depeche Mode's visual director Anton Corbijn. Grab this vinyl deluxe edition whilst you can before future pressings revert back to cheaper packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 31 Oct 2013
By 
A. JONES "LoOnY RaVeR" (South Wales Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reflektor (Audio CD)
At first I really hated this album. If you're more of a fan of the classic funeral, you may disappointed. Yet if you love Arcade Fire and love progression this album does it. There's a lot of 80s retro feel to this, I personally love sprawl II on the suburbs, so the 80s feel worked well for me. The first cd is an eclectic mix with the title track reflektor being funky. It then goes on to have a touch of reggae, rock, dance. The second part then delves in to darker territory, into heavy bass, electro rock. All in all after a few listens it has totally blown me away, some will love, some will hate. I think their progression is epic. Standout tracks for me are normal person, its not over(hey orpheus) and afterlife. Would recommend to anyone, superb album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album by a brilliant band!, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflektor (Audio CD)
Another great album by AF! Takes a couple of listens to really get into it but when you do you won't stop!!

Brilliant songs by a band that really understand music, harmony and lyrics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get your fancy on..., 26 Nov 2013
By 
J. Hughes (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reflektor (Audio CD)
An avid Arcade Fire fan, I was a bit apprehensive on hearing Reflektor (the single); in fact my words were wtf, I hope that's not what the whole album'll be like (a new phrase album'll!). Bear with me, I'm no Lester Bangs but what I will say is that a day after the preorder hit my hall floor, I was a happy, smiley Arcade Fire fan. A Reflektor convert, in every sense, the album is magic. Had the pleasure of seeing the 'Reflektors' live at the Barrowlands in Glasgow, all of us in our fancy at Win's request. Pretentious?! Maybe just fun or perhaps bordering on genius. Who's splitting hairs? If albums could sparkle ... join the Reflektors, we exist and get your fancy on!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album!, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflektor (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan and I'm not disappointed by their latest album. I love the fact that Arcade Fire have a sound of their own and yet their songs don't all sound the same, as with some bands. This album is probably more accessible to the masses because it is more upbeat than their previous ones. It is both witty and thoughtful. Reflektor is such a good title track, I can't imagine anyone not enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive listening, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflektor (MP3 Download)
I was worried that this was not going to be up to scratch but I've not had it off the stereo since I bought it! Bears repeating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and clever album, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Reflektor (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Arcade Fire since I first heard Power Out and have loved everything since but this is something else. This release really shows what a fantastic and creative band Arcade Fire are. There are some beautiful tracks on here and some great musical highlights. I am struggling to see the point some are making about the album being too long or dragged out. Just listen to it and appreciate all it has to offer, and it has a lot to offer. Plenty of different styles mixed together to form an enchanting and interesting blend of tracks and an album that I will be listening to and enjoying for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 April 2014
By 
A. J. Long (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflektor (Audio CD)
If you don't like this album, go and buy a one direction album because you obviously have no taste in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Weird and very wonderful, 18 Dec 2013
By 
John Pownall (Bridport, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflektor (Audio CD)
I have to admit to detesting this album for about three listens. Then, its somewhat ungainly charm started to work its magic. Okay, whilst maintaing the 5 stars, I have to confess to appreciating that the album runs out of steam during the last 5 minutes or so, but, for a double album, that is a minor point.
Otherwise, this has to be the greatest thing they have done in an almost flawless career to date. Yes, even better than "Funeral" perhaps.
The title track is just the most intense sonic experience, and whilst the lyrics on this track (and a few others) can seem repetitive, this doesn't seem to matter. Other high points: Orpheus, Here comes the night time (both versions), Porno (dark!)Joan of Arc (move over OMD) and We exist. At times, the scope is almost classical, with each song seeming to contain a number of "movements"; this is a band at the peak of its creative power, stretching the limits of rock music in the way that artists such as Joy Division, (early) Roxy Music, (late) Beatles, and (Berlin period) Bowie managed to do. Still my favourite band since Talking Heads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

Reflektor
Reflektor by Arcade Fire
Buy MP3 Album8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews