Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not suitable for younger readers.
I really enjoyed this book and in fact the series in general. I find the setting refreshing compared to some of the other books in this genre. A well envisioned back story gives credability to gritty storylines. Some of the military characters are a bit plastic at times but this doesn't detract too much from what are some very enjoyable books. A word of warning though,...
Published 8 months ago by Richard G

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do so much better
Christopher Nutall's Empire series started so well but the last couple have been at best OK. Not only does the author seek to give the reader lectures on his political ideas but he also has developed a fixation with rape. I find this latter particularly unpleasant as he uses the word on roughly 1 page in 2.

The style of his latest book Reality Check is perhaps...
Published 7 months ago by J. N. Bullock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do so much better, 14 Dec 2013
By 
J. N. Bullock "JNB" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Christopher Nutall's Empire series started so well but the last couple have been at best OK. Not only does the author seek to give the reader lectures on his political ideas but he also has developed a fixation with rape. I find this latter particularly unpleasant as he uses the word on roughly 1 page in 2.

The style of his latest book Reality Check is perhaps the worst so far, with some sections being repetitive or boring or both. It is sad to have to make these comments about Nuttall's books because the basic plot is very good. However unless the author develops a more mature style I can see many readers starting to pass him by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not suitable for younger readers., 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and in fact the series in general. I find the setting refreshing compared to some of the other books in this genre. A well envisioned back story gives credability to gritty storylines. Some of the military characters are a bit plastic at times but this doesn't detract too much from what are some very enjoyable books. A word of warning though, some of the scenes deal with sensitive issues in a graphic manner which isn't appropriate for younger readers. In all well writen and worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great story, well written, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I have now read most of the Christ Nuttall books and this one is really well written. It is an aside to the main storyline but by no means is it a diversion. Christ brings to life the human story of an earth falling apart and then when given a chance the indomitable nature of the human spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
W. G. Hall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting series., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the variety of different themes which was portrayed in the series and how they were interwoven.
To be recommended to anyone looking for an interesting series of stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its a great series, 14 April 2014
By 
M. L. Ajinkya - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
you really get to the point of wanting to read more & more, & get involved in the character's adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Check (The Empires Corp), 1 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Another great example from Christopher Nuttall in his expanding series. A good stand alone mini novel which builds the readers knowledge of the fall of earth and the type of people in the empire.
Charting the experiences of several students from earth transported to the colonies to experience life outside of earth with horrific consequenses for some of them and a possible comparison with our own society and the freedoms we think have for ourselves.
I would love to see more novels building on work done behind the scenes of teh empire with people struggling to bring order out of chaos, perhaps based on more of the colonies or the core worlds. I can't wait for the next installment, bring it on soon C.N.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent as usual, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Love Mr. Nutalls books and have read all of the Empire Corps series -- this is another viewpoint of the same universe and would recommend to any fans of Webber Heinlein Campbell or any of the other really good space opera writers. Chris's insights (back of the books) into our planetary politics are usually brutally revealing and quite amusing also not a little scary as anyone reading them will see the parallels in the books and in our reality. All in all a great read as usual. Awaiting the next one with anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just superb, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Mr Nuttall is developing a universe that is diverse and believable. Very well written and obviously thought through how the extremes of human behavior and social development might create a social fabric that is foreign but recognizable. Starting with the survivors or inheritors in the first books was a master stroke. I'm hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker...., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
As always an immensely enjoyable read:
good characters, great story line, plot and twists and turns.....
Love the series and the spin-offs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reality Check (The Empire's Corps Book 7)
2.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews