Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The forecast is for lots of sunshine
With the success of 2012's Good Feeling and a whole new audience seeking out his music thanks to the recent BBC documentary,
'The Man With The Golden Voice', Paul Carrack has wasted no time releasing this new album.
Fortunately, quality has not suffered and this is another great addition to the Carrack catalogue.

I've had a promo of Rain Or Shine for...
Published 7 months ago by Attercliffe 461

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
Paul carrick has a great voice but this album sort of lacks the great must play again track, pleasant but not a must have
Published 28 days ago by sarah mckeown


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The forecast is for lots of sunshine, 25 Nov 2013
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
With the success of 2012's Good Feeling and a whole new audience seeking out his music thanks to the recent BBC documentary,
'The Man With The Golden Voice', Paul Carrack has wasted no time releasing this new album.
Fortunately, quality has not suffered and this is another great addition to the Carrack catalogue.

I've had a promo of Rain Or Shine for several weeks now which is why I'm able to review it so soon after the official release date...

The album is effectively one of two parts with 5 new compositions and 5 covers.
The 5 new compositions are all written by Paul and are classic Carrack tracks.

Stepping Stone is a fine Northern-Soul stomper, Hammond organ high in the mix and a great way to kick things off.

That's All That Matters to Me slows things down a little and is Paul's touching reaction to the news that his daughter plans to travel the world for a year;
'If you're alright, that's all that matters to me...'

One In A Million is a mid-tempo ballad and includes real strings via the Stringzilla Orchestra.

Time Waits For No One finds Paul in nostalgic mood although the track is upbeat. Life's Too Short is similar in theme
and you'll probably have heard both if you've caught one of his recent live shows.

For the covers, there's 2 Ray Charles tracks. You Don't Know Me is a faithful interpretation of the classic
and Hard Times finds Paul really letting loose with a great vocal - it's my pick of the 2.

I'm Losing You is a ballad I'm not too familiar with but Paul sings it beautifully, the track again features strings.
In contrast, everyone knows Come Rain or Come Shine and Paul's version (again with strings) is equal to any.

For me however, the standout cover is '(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want To Be Right'. Everyone has their favourite version,
I love Rod Stewart's epic version and Paul's interpretation is right up there with lush orchestration recorded in LA by Richard Niles
(who worked with Ray Charles). My only criticism is I'd have liked another 4 or 5 minutes of it!

Whilst it doesn't quite hit the heights of A Different Hat, it's a very good follow-up to Good Feeling.
With 2 new album in 2 years, Paul Carrack shows no signs of slowing down and with his voice improving album after album, that has to be good news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 Star Rating for underrated Star, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
Paul Carrack is musical genius, no doubt about it, and this from someone who has seen him five times over the last few years.
His latest offering is a mix of new songs and covers, and whilst some are average tunes his voice has never sounded better (Elton John & Paul McCartney take note).
My pick of the 10 has to be the Ray Charles cover of 'Hard Times' which I also remember Clapton covering for his Journeyman album - Paul's vocals on this offering are sublime.
The album length is on the short side - maybe the addition of a demo or live track would give more value.
Overall though it's another great addition to the Carrack catalogue.
Keep doing what you do, Paul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I have bought for a long time, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
Paul Carrack is one of the best artists I have heard in a long time - this album is ideal for a great chill out time. There are tracks that will get you right at your heart and then others will really lift you. My favourite album at the moment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compliments his recent tour, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
First Paul Carrack abum Iv'e ever bought after seeing him live at NIA back in January. Nice mix of songs on this album. Steeltowns finest seems to be coming to his peak in his twilight years and can't stop writing cracking songs. Brilliant remake of 70's soul classic (If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want To Be Right. Total of 5 New songs and 5 Remakes including some blues standards. Just can't make my mind up which previous album to buy next I'd better hurry, he'll probably have a another new abum out this year the way he is churning them out at the moment !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Carrack - Rain or Shine, 24 Feb 2014
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
Love love love it. Favourite track "That's All That Matters To Me" - must be one great dad and I miss mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reminder of excellent concert, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
I bought this after seeing Paul include some of the songs live in a recent concert. The CD didn't disappoint.and his version of "If loving you is wrong I don't wanna be right" is the best I have ever heard. A nice mix of covers & new songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain or Shine CD Paul Carrack, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
Best album so far from this talented singer/song writer.Vastley underated singer/song writer,great version of a Bruce Springsteen composition.See the man in concert he is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from this artist, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
Another excellent album from this well established artist. Highly recommended for anyone who likes easy to listen good quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
Recently saw Paul Carrack in concert. He is brilliant musician along with the other band members. Love the lyrics to his songs. This is a great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain or Shine by Paul Carrack, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain or Shine (Audio CD)
Another brilliant recording by a superbly talented musician who deserves a much higher profile than the one he has at present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rain or Shine
Rain or Shine by Paul Carrack (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews