Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Time Travel Tale, 1 Mar. 2014
By 
Kindle Cat (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door into Summer (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Kindle Edition)
I first read this book about 40 years ago (in the 1970s) and the image of the cat constantly looking for the door into summer stayed with me. I remembered it being about cryogenics but little else. I was thrilled to find it again in the Kindle store. What made it an even better read now in 2014, was looking at Heinlein's view of what the year 2000 looked like from the 1970s. The idea of "Draughting Dan" being a machine for architects and engineers to design using a keyboard may have seemed so futuristic when the book was written but we take this technology for granted now. This is such an enjoyable book, with humour, mystery and a cute cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Past His Prime, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dan invents some very clever and marketable mechanical devices that ease the burden of housework. A stereotypical engineer, he has no business sense and leaves all of the financial arranging to his partner. Who, of course, betrays him. Depressed and destitute, Dan decides to delay decisions and drop out.* He goes into suspended animation for thirty years and emerges to face a changed world. Changed in some ways he had not anticipated. Dan learns that time travel is now possible and vows to return to the past and make things right. We wonder how he can succeed and whether he will finally get the girl.

It's a good Robert Heinlein story with interesting characters and a signature reverence for science and technical details. The characters are uncomplicated--you can always tell the good guys from the bad guys even when poor Dan cannot. Heinlein introduces the vocabulary and paradoxes of time travel with minimal pain. This may not be the very best first experience with Heinlein or time travel, but it will do.

The book is recommended to anyone who enjoys a good story and doesn't mind invented technology that now seems dated. Readers hungry for more of Heinlein's views on time travel should pick up a copy of his "All You Zombies-". It will make your head spin. Those preferring a more comprehensive exposure will enjoy Harry Turtledove's The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century.
_____
*Sorry about the alliterative excess. Just couldn't help myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic SF from 1960, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door into Summer (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully told. Still a great read 50 years on, the original 'Back to the
Future' - a complex plot with time paradox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 19 Feb. 2014
By 
FestiveLady "FestiveLady" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door into Summer (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Kindle Edition)
REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS. Excessively detailed copyright legalities and share transfer intricacies; upon re-reading the story, you'd probably skim over some paragraphs. Despite this, a likeable 'regular' guy, time travel, pleasant characters, much cat-worship, interesting villains, and heinous (or Heinlein-ous) conspiracies are all crafted together well, with a satisfying ending. This is an entertaining Heinlein story, but he's a high-calibre author and I'd recommend certain other stories by him before this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable novel, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
Eleanor (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Door into Summer (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Robert Heinlein I've read and I loved it. Engineer Dan Davis has reached rock bottom: betrayed by both his fiancée and business partner he decides to leave 1970 behind and enter 'cold sleep' for 30 years. What follows is a highly entertaining story, with great heroes and villains and a tight seamless plot. I especially enjoyed Heinlein's imagining of 1970 (the novel was first serialized in 1956) and 2000, as well as the author's ailurophilia, as evidenced by the character of tomcat Pete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspended animation into what is now the past does not spoil a good read. My ignorance of American history in our ..., 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door into Summer (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Kindle Edition)
Thought provoking as you would expect. Suspended animation into what is now the past does not spoil a good read. My ignorance of American history in our timeline is both a help and a hindrance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than 25 years after first reading this it's still brilliant, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door into Summer (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Kindle Edition)
A relatively simple story about love, time travel and a cat. For me this book sets the tone for a lot of Heinlein books. I particularly like the cat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robert A Heinlein. A master in science fiction, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great story by one of the best, I would recommend it anyone who likes, science fiction, drama, human greed and revenge in the mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real favourite, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
G. Webster (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door into Summer (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Kindle Edition)
One of my top all time favourite books, and now that I can have it beside me on my Kindle to read at any time is a real bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works by Heinlein, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door into Summer (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Kindle Edition)
It's a very good book. Read it years ago Heinlein is the master s/f writer. Would recommend all his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Door into Summer (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews