Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britney's back!
This album is not chock-full of hits, but it has some moderately good and fun songs.

I really like "Chillin' With You" which I just discovered features .... Jamie Lynn Spears!

Obviously "Work" and "Body Ache" are the top songs in the album.

"Don't Cry" gave me flashbacks to the Oops I Did It Again, N*Sync...
Published 5 months ago by FreeGirl420

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Her Career is going downhill this second
This certainly doesn't seem to be a '' personal '' record at all, and it certainly isn't Britney's greatest work either... the poor sales haven't helped either and her latest lip synced show '' Britney: Piece of me '' isn't as wow as you'd expect from the pop diva Britney. Dont get me wrong, I used to be a die hard fan of Britney Spears, loved her hits and the energetic...
Published 2 months ago by J. wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Britney fans, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Speedy delivery which I always like.

Good value for money and I like this album from Britney; but I doubt it would appeal much to non Britney fans. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album but definitely not her best, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Firstly, i want to say that i do like this album, the good songs on here outweigh the not so good ones for me, but i can understand where a lot of critics are coming from. The album is too messy and too weak for such a well established artist to release. As it is Brit's 8th album, the album does fail to reach her already very high standard which is a shame. but i can't help but feel her move from Jive to RCA played a role in the albums fate. i just hope she does at least make another great album and end on a high, rather than retire now as she has already stated that she might do.

The opening track is "Alien" and this song is very much 'alright', definitely not a standout on the album, but i do understand where the producers where trying to go with this song (trying to make it eerie, fresh or mysterious), but i just feel that Britney's vocals just don't suit the song. - 5/10
Next is "Work Bitch" which i feel is a fantastic song. will.i.am, Otto Knows and Sebastian Ingrosso all played a role in making this song and the end result is truly brilliant. So fresh, so now and the producers really took into account Britney's vocals on this song as she sounds great on it. - 10/10
We swiftly move onto "Perfume" (which is quite oddly placed i feel as it is stuck between 2 massive dance tracks, but oh well), its the 2nd single to be lifted from the album, and its really nice to see Brit release a ballad as she hasn't in a while, Sia helped create the song and Brit does do the song justice, i just feel that this song could have been sung by Rihanna or Katy Perry; theres nothing 'special' about this song that makes it truly Britney. (I do still like the song though!) - 7/10
Okay, so next is probably the most talked about song on the album, "It Should Be Easy". Many people hate the song as the main girls vocals are way, waaaaay to over autotuned, but i really like the song. i can understand that the song is quite generic in terms of todays dance music, but theres just something about the song that i really like, and is actually one of my favourites on the album. - 9/10.
We then have "Tik Tik Boom", which i don't have much to say other than its a good song (nothing special) and it amuses the teenage boy inside of me as it does sound like she's saying 'dick' over and over again. anyway i give this song 7/10.
Then we have "Body Ache" and "Til Its Gone". both are massive club songs and a really great to dance to. i can imagine the latter being a single at some point. both songs get 8/10 from me.
Track 8 is probably my favourite song off the album at the moment, "Passenger" (which is co-written by Katy Perry) is a great track with great lyrics and i can imagine hearing this song on the radio in the summertime being a big hit. really feel good and refreshing, however sadly probably the last great song on the album - solid 10/10.
So...this is where the album starts to fail for me. "Chillin With You" is a very, very basic song with some of the simplest lyrics i've heard in a while. This song would just about pass as B-Side material. but the annoying thing about this song is that it gets stuck in my head, and not in a good way. not a fan of this one - 2/10.
We then have "Don't cry", "Brightest Morning Star" and "Hold On Tight" - all of which are not bad songs by any means, they are just very mediocre for Britney. they're forgettable and not that catchy, and its a shame. they all get a very even 4/5/10 for me. The last new song on the album is "Now That I've Found You" which is again nothing special at all. an 'alright' song - 5/10.

As i said, i do like the album in general, i just feel that it's a bit of a let down considering other albums like "Femme Fetale", "Circus" or the epic "Blackout".

Let's just hope she does do another album at some point, and that she goes back to the good old Britney we loved.

Overall a 7/10 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Britney Jean b**tch!, 2 Dec 2013
By 
I. Zaras (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Since "Blackout" came out, every album Britney released seemed like something was missing. Her input on her albums was minimum and somehow felt irrelevant. But not this time. Britney Jean is an album filled half with club bangers half with heart-felt songs.

Britney has writing credits on every single song and making it her most personal album to date. She mainly collaborated with will.i.am, but also has new people she worked with like William Orbit, Sia, David Guetta, Nicky Romero and a producer from the past Dr. Luke. Even Katy Perry has writing credits on "Passenger"!

The dance songs are mainly influenced (if not entirely made of) EDM, in style of the lead single "Work b**ch". The slower songs are mainly on the last half of the album (4 of which are deluxe edition bonus tracks).

The best songs are (In order of preference):

- Til it's gone (A gem can be found in every album of hers)
- It should be easy (There's so much argument between fans for this because her voice is heavily auto-tuned (Robotney) but I simply adore it)
- Work b**ch
- Body ache
- Now that I found you (Ballad-ish at the beginning, but the after chorus breakdown can make you the happiest man on Earth)
- Tik tik boom
- Perfume

The dance songs are more powerful for me, since they are the only reminders of blackout, but there's enough for everyone! The only flaw? It's too short! There are only 10 songs on the standard edition, so you'll need to get the deluxe edition to get a full dose of Brit Brit!

Britney Jean is the best album Mrs. Britney Spears has released since "Blackout" and it's a proof that when she gets involved into her music, magic can happen! With all means, BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Britney "Past It" Jean, 17 May 2014
By 
cue (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
After two mediocre albums in a row with Circus and Femme Fatale, Britney Jean is not going to revitalize your interests in Britney Spears. Rather conversely, this album will make you wish that Britney had remained a Louisiana farm girl. Arguably a desperate cash-in to allow Britney to give fans some a gift of music before she begins her Vegas residency, it is an unwanted gift. She shouldn't have. Really, she shouldn't have.

The few good songs are luckily the album's opening tracks Alien, Work Bitch and Perfume. The rest are pure trash that not even Rihanna would try and put on her albums. The album suffers from being what seems like a compilation album. The tracks have no coherence at all, as each song takes a different musical direction to every other one on the album. Furthermore, there are horrific pacing issues with the album. Perfume, a slow ballad, is placed in the middle of two upbeat dance songs. Who thought this was a good idea? I would blame Britney herself but this album makes it clear that she has little to no imput in her albums other than laying down her vocals (which seem to have been recorded with an early mobile phone for this album), though I'd rather it be like this than have Britney stealing credits like Beyonce does.

I would recommend this to people who are buying gifts for friends that they secretly hate/for people they are trying to repel. This will convey a message of dislike that no words possibly can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow shes lost her way, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Got this for my partner as she was a big Britney Spears fan in her youth, she made me and my 2yr son old listen to it in the car, song after song until i turned to her by about track 9 and said Darling this is crap to which she replied it is isnt it, shes not the same anymore i am really gutted this album is poor!
ITS REALLY BAD NOT AN EXAGGERATION look at the album charts for another clue dont take my word for it..........sorry Britney fans but this was made for one purpose$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ Dollar bills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this album to be slightly disappointing compared to her last but still enjoy it for the most part. I had read interviews given by britney that it was quite a personal album but having listened to it I fail to see it. I am a britney fan though and still happily listen to it while on the treadmill. Most songs do grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average pop album from a Pop Superstar, 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Firstly, I am a big Britney fan and have been since Baby one more time... and then the awesome Oops era, followed by Britney, then the decent into womanhood and adulthood on In The Zone. Throughout all these era's Brintey has been the undisputed queen of pop. Driven, creative, cutting edge and whatever you thought/ think of Britney, she put out the best 'pop' music in the industry. Following her more darker era 'Blackout' Britney once again delivered a pop powerhouse record that included classic hits such as Radar, Break the ice, Piece of me and Gimme more. This album was way ahead of its time and for me cemented Britney as a truly legendary pop star. Circus paved the way for a comeback, classic performances and classic pop hits including Circus, Womanizer, Out from Under, Unusual you and If You Seek Amy. Again, despite what people thought or said of Britney, they would most likely be downloading her hits, buying the amazing remixes and watching her videos.

Then came 'Femme Fatale' that was packed with huge pop hits including Hold it against me (and a fantastic video), I wanna Go, Till the world ends and Criminal (I personally wish Inside out had beaten the poll on that front). The era was a little void of emotion and Britney did seem to be going through the motions. Her dancing was average at best but hey, how cares, the pop hits her huge, nothing out there could beat her, she was holding onto her thrown as a pop superstar, she was still a bright star and public and critical interest was as strong as ever. Her album sales have dropped significantly but when you have a huge 500,000+ opening single such as Hold it against me followed by TTWE, followed by I wanna go... well who cares, the album sold okay, it shot straight in at number one. I personally felt that the 'theme' behind 'Femme Fatale' let the album sales down as it did not have a great concept, well it was not delivered strongly. Unlike Circus, the theme behind 'Femme Fatale' was not really pushed forward. But hey, this is my personal opinion, and who cares, it sold well and the hits were huge. Way to go Britney (as always).

Now for Britney Jean. For the first time in Britney's career she has put out music that is on a par with all the other pop star's out there (but they are actually doing it better...). Britney Jean does not hang together particularly well, usually that would not bother me, because if the hits are there, and there are some moments of spark (How I roll, kill the lights, heaven on earth...) then all is well. But Britney Jean has no monster hits, damn, at best it has a couple of decent hits. Will.i.am has not delivered here (well what did we expect?!). Sure Scream and Shout was a HUGE hit for Britney, but that was Will.iam at his best, he had no other tricks up his sleeve for Spears, not least an album, and it is such a shame. This was Britney's farewell album for many years to come, and instead of topping off an amazing career with a legendary unique album, we have mostly generic, dated and unexciting material that feels like mostly b-sides for a b-lister pop star. If it wasn't Britney Spears then it might be okay, but this woman is a huge star, with huge talent, who can get anybody in the studio, who has consistently pushed the envelope, who has consistently created incredible cutting edge pop music. I would have loved to see her get Danja, Dr. Luke, Bloodshy Jonback Magnus back to craft a few tracks, to take the best bits of Britney, the people who have helped her in the creative process and injected exciting and fresh edge material into the mix, instead we get average material that is already sounding dated. Alien is interesting and creative, and Passenger is also exciting, but apart from those moments of spark, something different, it sinks back into plodding electro dance which does nothing to showcase Spears vocals, instead she gets sunk by the generic beats. Work (Work) was fun (sure it sounds like an extended gym advert) but is by far the weakest of Spears first singles. HIAM was so much better, in terms of sales but also musically, as was Womanizer, Gimme More... Perfume is cute for sure, but if that can be a single, what the hell happened to Unusual You or Inside Out which still seem fresher to me. Britney had it all to play for before this album, instead of fighting, instead of reminding people why she deserves a place in the charts, instead of offering something new, creative or exciting, she has made it harder to return to her rightful place at the top of the charts.

This is Britney, so of course she can recover, everyone is allowed a blip in there career, but it amazes me how someone like Spears, who has never had a bad album has been able to put this out. This is not Britney's fault at all, she is only as good/ can only be as good as those around her, and this time around the creative influences have been below average. Britney cannot simply sell by name anymore, in the past she always had the monster hits to do the talking, but for the first time, she does not have that.

For anyone who has been living under a rock and wants to buy Britney material, my choice would be:

1. Blackout
2. Circus
3. In The Zone
4. Femme Fatale
5. Britney
6. Baby one more time
7. Oops I did it again
8. Britney Jean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop Perfection!, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Need I say more, Britney proves once more she is a pop diva! This album is so ear friendly, Well worth a purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars britney does pop better than anyone, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
i love britney music,i think william songs are ok ,till its gone is awsome.i most love song like passanger,dont cry,perfume .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's still something there..., 19 May 2014
By 
Adam Hall (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Upon reports of this album being Blackout v2 I was very hopeful, then reports on it being her most personal album I got very confused - so I really had to listen with an open mind.
I like this album. Whilst it doesn't have that imposable "Britney" charm that can be found pre-"Circus", there is still a quality album here. The album has a good production value and some decent vocals and the pleasant surprise that Britney has contributed to the writing of the whole work. From EDM bangers to some quieter, more subtle tracks - there is bound to be some song on here that you'll come to love.
Britney is still trying her best to keep up with times and doesn't make a poor effort with this record.

(another pleasing aspect is the lack of pretence and hype, instead it's just a body of work which these days is refreshing)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britney Jean
Britney Jean by Britney Spears (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews